Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Corvian Community School

Charter | K-4 | 87 students

 
 

Living in Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $126,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

We have been so happy at Corvian from day one. Now that the school year is nearly over, we can see all of the knowledge she has gained throughout the year. Teachers are so attentive and administration is very approachable! My daughter has engaged in so many academic activities that make learning fun and interesting. Language is offered weekly as well as music, PE, art and after school enrichment activities. So happy to be a part of such a tremendous school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

Corvian and is top notch! This is our first year at Corvian and my daughter is really enjoying it. The staff is fantastic from the teachers to the directors. The teachers care about their learning and creating a well-rounded student. They have great academics and have fun while learning. The parental involvement is astounding! We are more than pleased that our upcoming kindergartner will also be at Corvian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

I work at this school. If you want to know what a school is really like, ask the teachers there. Nothing is a better indicator of quality. My coworkers are so committed to what they do, and my administration are AMAZING. I genuinely love my job. I haven't been able to say that at my previous schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 18, 2014

This is our first year at Corvian Community School and we are so impressed. The parent involvement is amazing. The teachers are so dedicated and make learning fun. It truly is a wonderful community and it is a great environment for children to grow up in. This school is everything I have ever wanted for my children! We are so incredibly lucky to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

This is our first year at Corvian and I'm simply amazed. My daughter was almost in tears when I picked her up early from school - she loves it there that much! The teachers focus on the individual child - no labels here - and helps each one grow at their pace. They incorporate fun into learning, it's not a teacher telling you what to remember but teaching through games, songs, rhymes and hands on activities. They embrace creativity and encourage problem solving skills in and out of the classroom. Not only is the staff excellent but also the parents and children. It's worth the daily 1.5 hours of driving knowing my daughter is getting the best education from the best school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

Corvian is an amazing place! The administration is truly committed to the values of The Basic School model. The teachers truly care about your children and respect them as unique individuals. Prior to the school year, teachers have conferences with each family where you tell them about your child...you discuss his/her personality, your goals for the year for them, etc. then they actually use this information to craft their interactions with your child over the school year - when your child walks into the classroom on his first day...his teacher already knows about him/her! My son is excited everyday to go to school. He loves learning. We are so happy to be able to send him to such a wonderful place where he can thrive and learn. Parent involvement is excellent as well. As a charter school - it's expected and the parent's don't disappoint. I can't say enough about this amazing place - it's what I've always wanted school to be like for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

Love our school! The teachers are excellent and caring. They teach using a hands on and a critical thinking approach. The school is a nurturing environment that molds our children to become well rounded and responsible citizens. Every staff member is top notch!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students38%
Female25%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White37%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students40%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female67%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students73%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 52%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Black 5% 26%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9501 David Taylor Drive
Charlotte, NC 28262
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 717-7550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT