Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Clayton Elementary 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
This is a great community school. Been around forever. We have had a positive experience over 10 years of our kids cycling through here. One child has a learning disability and does well, and another was a book worm and also did well. Teachers here stick around and turnover is low. Our PTA is great and is always open to finding new volunteers. Lots of volunteers in the classrooms. This is a solid school.

West Clayton Elementary 1

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
This is the most unfriendly school I have ever been in.The women in the office look like you are bothering them. I couldn't pick out the principle in a line up. I have no clue who she is. I am so unhappy with the teachers. 4th graders shouldn't be allowed to behave the way they do and all the teacher does is scream at them. The parent group is a click who only let their friends help then send out letters of how honored they are to be volunteer of the year. Time to look into charter schools. I wish I could move our dream house to another school zone. Avoid this school. Positive reviews are lies!


West Clayton Elementary 3

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
This is our eight year having a child in this school. We loved Bruce Bunn as Principal! With the take over of the new principal, things have really gone down hill quickly!! The last two years have been HORRIBLE! Teachers aren't happy and many take it out on kids. Bullying is tolerated in that nothing is done about it. The principal, front office staff and many teachers will placate you by saying something will be done when in reity they will do nothing! Thank God for the teachers who DO still love the kids and what they do!! Three stars is generous. Used to be FIVE!

West Clayton Elementary 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a parent
I had a child go K-5 and have a current third grader and a soon to be Kindergartner...the school is amazing... Leadership on every level is progressive and invested in seeing every child succeed. There are so many opportunities to get involved, and despite teacher salaries and benefits suffering all we see as parents are talented, deeply commited educators. The PTA is all-inclusive and not cliquish like at other schools and the list just goes on and on... An A+ school for sure!

West Clayton Elementary 2

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
Being from Wake County we were excited to be assigned to West Clayton. What a disappointment. The focus of the school is testing, testing, testing. Students are cramming so much information it is all memorization. Classrooms lack organization and structure. Teachers lack training. The school has a huge teacher turnover rate. Administrators are never visible. School is outdated from the buildings to technology. Classrooms are outfitted with ancient computers. On rainy days the halls are full of buckets catching rain from leaking ceilings. West Clayton has been a huge disappointment for our family.


West Clayton Elementary 5

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
West Clayton made my sons transition from moving and starting school much better and he is quickly learning and loves school. The teachers are incredible working with the kids and involving the parents as well as keeping us updated with their school work. Excited for our youngest to start next year.

West Clayton Elementary 4

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
Both my children (boys) have attended from Kindergarten. Great quality teachers and challenging instructional environment. Great community involvement and strong PTA. Many volunteer opportunities and parental interaction. Principal was helpful in considering special needs for placement. Technology needs an overhaul Media Center needs funding for upgrades Would like to see a foreign language offering

West Clayton Elementary 5

Posted September 09, 2010
- a parent
We have lived in Clayton for 3 years and my son has loved this school and the involvement is great as well among teachers and staff


West Clayton Elementary 5

Posted August 05, 2010
- a parent
This is one of the best elementary schools in Johnston County. The teachers and staff truly care about their students and go above and beyond to help each student succeed.

West Clayton Elementary 4

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Clayton Elementary
1012 South Lombard Street, Clayton, NC  27520
(919) 553-7113
Last modified West Clayton Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Clayton Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews.