Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Colfax Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 704 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

Good school and for the most part good teachers. I give two thumbs up on the principle Mrs. Thigpen, she seems very involved with the students and was very involved when we had an issue with bullying. Education is top knotch, but agree with other reviews. If your student is struggling he or she will be left behind. The teachers tend to worry more about test scores than the students and their learning needs. Somethings gotta give. This is the only reason I gave it 3 stars. Overall a decent school and good diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

My son struggled at the school he was assigned to in Kindergarten. The school did not provide any support to help resolve the issues. I transferred him to Colfax in first grade and have been extremely impressed with the school's help in getting my son up to grade level. They have provided so much support for his educational and behavioral growth that he has become an A-B honor roll student!! I can't say enough good things about this school and their staff. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

I agree with other parents that 1) my kid is not learning at this school 2) the teacher is not helping and 3) there are bullying in the school. We tried many times to make the principal aware of the situation but nothing has been done. One of the parent thinks other schools are "boosting up" their scores. The nearby schools Summerfield, EP Pearch, Northwest are all great schools and emphasis on learning. They score high because they are good schools. This school is a little better than some of the inner city schools but I can't see why it can be a great preparation for NW middle and high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

Great school! Many other schools in the area put so much pressure on the kids to perform well on tests to inflate scores like these posted here, but this school offers so much more. It is a great preparation for NW middle and high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

This year is my childs second year, last year was awful, my child fell behind and the teacher was of no help. I think she just ignored. This year the teacher is somewhat better but my child is not learning and they are not helping.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

So far this year at colfax has not been that great my child was a average student and now he regressing and not making any progress. I do not think we have been treated well and no help has been given to improve my childs education. My child has to been bullied and nothing was done about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

This school is not the school for you if child struggles. We have two studnets here. One has trouble the other does not. The one that does not have trouble gets along famously and is treated as a smart student. The other is not treated well at all even though he is os average intellegence he istreated as if he is the probelm and there is no behavior issue.student. The staff has done little to help him and his teachers do not seem to care at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

Colfax Elementary is a great school. My child has grown tremendously since attending Colfax. It is nice to know that the administrators are approachable and help to be sure a good fit is made for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

My daughter had a tough time at this school. She was bullied by other kids. We transfered her to another class and it was worse. The principle doesn't help at all. My kid's homework wasn't graded. We requested teacher conference but never got a reply.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

We were previously at Southwest Elementary and although my son had a fine year there. We definitely prefer and enjoy Colfax Elementary more. It is a smaller school and seems very well run. The teachers really put their hearts into teaching our children... I love all the parent involvement at Colfax as well. I would recommend Colfax Elementary to anyone moving to the area. It is a phenomenal school that really cares about the children....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

So far i have not had a great experience and nietherhave my children . Some of the teachers and staff are rude to me ,i hope it does nt have any thing to do with my race .This is the second year we,ve felt this way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

My daughter has been attending Colfax for 2 years. I have found the staff and teachers to be a wonderful group who are willing to work together to create an enriching and rewarding atmosphere for learning. There are several programs geared toward every aspect of a child's growth and development. Where there's a need, it seems to be met and I feel the staff would be willing to work out new programs if a new need arises. I loved Colfax and the time my daughter has spent there. This year she started at the lowest reading level in her grade and now is at the highest; it is a testimony of not only my daughter's efforts but of her teacher's as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

I have had 2 students attend Colfax Elementary. Both had excellent experiences at the school. I found all of the staff to be supportive of concerns that I expressed regarding the progress my child was making. The teachers that I approached made modifications in their instruction to meet the learning styles of both of my children. Assignments were enriched or remediated based on the strengths and weaknesses of the instruction. Both of my children love school and Colfax. The parent involvement at Colfax is huge! There are many opportunities for parents to become involved in the school. Teachers continuously invite parents to attend or assist in special class activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

My children have been very happy at Colfax and the faculty are very in-tune with what is needed for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

We had a very bad experience with Colfax. If your child has any special learning needs, you have to work during the day and can't be at the school every day, this is not the school for you. My son attended Colfax for Pre-K and Kindergarten before we pulled him out and put him in private school. Thankfully we have had two great years in private school and are going to try public again next year with the opening of Pearce Elementary. I'm keeping my fingers crossed it works this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female59%
Male68%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities31%
Non-disabled students67%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students51%
Female47%
Male57%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students57%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female53%
Male64%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities44%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students51%
Female52%
Male50%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities26%
Non-disabled students57%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female58%
Male59%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities35%
Non-disabled students64%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students46%
Female48%
Male44%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students54%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Academically gifted81%

Science

All Students38%
Female33%
Male42%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students44%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Academically gifted71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 52%
Black 19% 26%
Hispanic 10% 14%
Asian 7% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Michelle Thigpen
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (336) 993-0172

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Korean
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9112 West Market Street
Colfax, NC 27235
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 275-4332

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


First Christian Academy
Kernersville, NC


First Christian Academy
Kernersville, NC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT