Advertisement

Cannon School

Private | PK-12 | 711 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Concord

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $183,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2008

Our daughter transferred into Cannon's Upper School as a Junior this year. We do not have a perspective on what has gone on at Cannon prior to this year, however we are exceedingly pleased thus far with the curriculum, teachers, and administration. One of the points about Cannon that has struck us is how interested and committed faculty and staff are to ensuring our family's ongoing engagement with the school, and the academic success of our daughter. While there are, of course, bumps that have occurred with both students and faculty, these appear to be the exception rather than the rule. So far, we are very pleased with Cannon and our daughter loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

This school did not differentiate in lower school. Gifted or bright children do not have a chance to excel and be challenge. Lots of homework does not equal lots of learning - just lots of busy work. The teacher to student ratio was too high in lower school classrooms. The majority of students are 6 months to a year older than they are supposed to be in each grade. Most importantly, the school uses the Everyday Mathematics program which does not teach children the basics and has been taken out of several school distrists including the entire state of Texas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Cannon is lagging behind all area private schools and most of the better CMS public schools. It seems most parents give it a try a year or two and then move on. Most in agreement that what is offered simply is not worth the money.


Posted September 6, 2008

Average academics, poor athletics programs and lacking facilities. Not much for the $$$.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

The Cannon publicity is very powerful and extremely effective. You really want your child to attend Cannon. However, once you are admitted, the atmosphere is very cold and hostile. The rift between between administration and teachers is immense - to the point that it affects the children. There is an overall pervasive feeling that the children must be 'perfect'. It adds undue pressure that children should not feel at early/mid-elementary level. I have seen my child go from being bright-eyed and excited about going to school to dreading to go to school. I definitely do not believe our child received a quality education nor that he was valued as an individual. After two years, we are choosing to send our child to a different private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

We did not have the Great experience that we were expecting at Cannon. Uninspiring teachers, cold atmosphere and it certainly wasn't academically elite (as was touted to me). My child wanted to leave this school and is so much happier where she is now. I feel she will become a more well rounded student/ individual away from Cannon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

I love cannon school. I have learned so much in my past two years that I would never learn until high school if I was in public. the new headmaster is great and really communicates with the students. Im not smart basically at all but I still get attention, have good grades, and would never want to move schools. I love having a small grade with great teachers and caring students. Cannon school is my family and always will be, even after I graduate in 2013. Cannon has helped me score great on a duke pre- sat. one student even scored a 1520!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2008

As a parent of three children in Cannon School, I am extremely pleased with the environment in which my children learn every day. My children receive individual attention from teachers that are passionate about teaching. The curriculum is well balanced with arts, physical education, clubs and extra curriculars. Lower and middle school students are exposed to an enriched program that offers many choices. My ninth grader already has a four-year plan in preparation for college. Cannon is a great community and we're happy to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

Cannon School is a fanastic school in every way. My husband and I are alums of the school and we are current parents of 2 children in the lower school. The atmosphere in the lower school is warm and caring, and the curriculum is top notch. My childen love to go to school every day, and in fact are sometimes disappointed when the weekend comes. The new administration is terrific! They are responsive, friendly and competent and haave taken charge of ensuring that the school will continue to thrive in the future. Each child is treated as an individual, his/her unique qualities being encouraged and celebrated. There is a strict discipline policy, but I expect and desire nothing less from a school where our children are the number 1 priority. Kindness and respect are acknowledged and rewarded, and even in LS, children are getting a sense of the larger world community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

The high school is good the lower and middle schools are pressure cookers. If your child is not a math wiz in middle school he or she will not survive at Cannon. There are no curriculum options for this age group, though in high school there are choices and a non-math and science kid can be successful. I have serious questions about the school's new Head. Maybe the school isn't the best of the best, but just the best of a lot of bad choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

My child has been at Cannon since Jr. K. My child is now in 11th grade and up until 2 years ago we were pleased with Cannon. Since we have had a new Headmaster and a new Upper school Head, we have seen a severe drop in student and staff morale. Many of the staff that left to go elsewhere had been at Cannon for many years. If I had not paid for this year, my child would be enrolled somewhere else now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

We have always maintained that the parents are not taken seriously at Cannon. The administration and teachers want our support but, not our involvement. We had been looking for a better than average education for our child and to be honest I think we got that. However, my child's self-esteem, and self-confidence suffered in that competitive environment. I am happy to say that our child is no longer enrolled there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2007

One Word: Overrated. I am an alumnus who can speak from personal experience and the overall educational aspect was low. The faculty is responsive if it is convenient. The college counseling aspect is now a joke since the main counselor left in 2006. Overall the only thing that this school has to offer is boys athletics and an incredible theatre department. They care very little about the female atheletic teams and cheerleading is a joke. For 14,000 a year, this school and its teachers and especially the administration is just not up to par.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 1, 2007

I have to disagree with some of the earlier negative reviews of Cannon School. Both of our children have been enrolled in Cannon School since JrK, the oldest now a rising 8th grader. We have never had an issue with communication, and have found all of the faculty and administrators available and responsive. The discipline is strict, but not oppressive. I know of several instances when children have been helped to overcome discipline issues, without being expelled as a part of some zero-tolerance policy. There is zero-tolerance for serious offenses, which is absolutely appropriate. The collegiality between students is excellent, especially across grade levels, which creates a family-like atmosphere. Parent involvement is strong at all levels, which adds to this strong sense of community at the school. The extracurricular activities are excellent, with a strong focus on the arts and a growing emphasis on athletics. Cannon is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

New Headmaster this year so too early to judge the long-term. Academic expectations/rigor are superior. Drama and the Arts excellent. Quality of athletic coaches vary dramatically and slow to make any changes. Athletic physical resources and common areas below standard. Efforts being made to improve communication with new website and phone system plans, but to date unreliable. Teachers very approachable and their student relationships and passion excellent. Percentage family/alumni time/economic/donation support, below average. A very strick disciplinary environment, i.e. essentially 'zero tolerance' policy which leaves many kids disenchanted and intimidated. Strength of peer and faculty respect and friendships is why they stay, thou upper level turnover is above average. Overall I give the school a B-, still with long-term potential to some day become an 'A'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

We were not happy with Cannon School, and withdrew our child before the end of his first year there. The academic and athletic components of the school appear to be superior; however, we found the climate hostile and unsupportive, and communication poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

Excellent school. Our children love the school, the teachers, and the curriculum. School offers many AP courses, amazing drama program, as well as highly competitive athletic teams. Cannon demands a high degree of ethics and morals from both the staff and the students. Parental involvement is encouraged at all levels. We are glad we made the switch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

Excellent school. We attended for 2nd through 6th grades and were transfered. We would not have left otherwise. Tough curriculum but great teachers. Administration knows everyone. Small administrative staff to teacher ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 53%
Black 4% 32%
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (704) 788-7779

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5801 Poplar Tent Rd
Concord, NC 28027
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 721-7188

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cannon School
Concord, NC







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT