Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cox Mill Elementary

Public | K-5 | 1285 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

220 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2009

Cox Mill is the best school!!! The staff, administrators, students and parents all work well together. The school provides an excellent education as well as fun clubs for the students to join.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

I love Cox Mill Elementary School-my Grandchildren receives all the benefits from this fine school. The administration, teachers, and the school itself are all a 'Class Act'!


Posted October 26, 2009

Absolutely awesome teachers. Supportive parents who get involved for their child's benefit and success. Strong and innovative PTO. Kudos to the 'Invest in your child program'. I am so grateful for not having to sell cookies, candy and giftwrap, or having to purchase those myself whenever the sales are poor. My child is very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

Awesome teachers very caring and patient and informativie
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

We have been incredibly impressed with Cox Mill's teachers and support staff. The school itself is beautiful and the test scores are great! We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Cox Mill has so many options for kids of all levels and the teachers are just A-awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

The staff really cares about the students and the opportunities to be involved in your child's education at this school are endless. I love participating in school activities and having the privilege to volunteer. I feel like I have an active part of my child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

I like Cox Mill because it is a best school. The teachers and staff are great. The teaching and the communication is also great. I am worried that my daughter will be here one more year and going to middle school. It is a good school and teaching standards are higher comparative to other comparable schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

I am an employee of Cox Mill. I also had children who attended this school. The staff at this school are awesome! It is like one big family, all working together for one common interest... our children. I am thankful that my children were fortunate enough to attend this school, and I am proud to be a member of the staff!!


Posted October 25, 2009

Our school has a great sense of community. Cox Mill truly is a family and our children are very well cared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

I think Cox Mill Elem School is a great school because the teachers are dedicated to the children who attend and my kids enjoy going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Very organize and displays a diverse range of professionalism. Great communication and compassion among teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

The teachers are wonderful! We love Ms. Willet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

The team who works in Cox mill elementary school could not be better selected! They are highly professionals which know how to connect the love and a high level education for ours children. I'm very happy for they having my daughter there, and help me to build her future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Cox Mill Elementary is a wonderful school, so glad we got to experience it as our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

The teachers couldn't be better! I have thought many times of moving but can't find another school I enjoy having my children attend than Cox Mill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

We love cox mill. The principals, teachers, support staff, kitchen & custodial staff are all awesome & fantastic!!! my children are bright & well behaved & cox mill is providing an education & environment which they are excellerating & surpassing my expectations of a private school. Our three years at cox mill have been outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Great all around school and great involvement!


Posted October 21, 2009

Cox Mill Elementary has a great PTO that organizes fundraising events that are fun for the whole family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Cox Mill is working hard to help by nephew feel successful!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students71%
Female68%
Male74%
Black53%
Asian82%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial55%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students76%
Limited English proficiency70%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students66%
Female67%
Male66%
Black47%
Asian68%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial82%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities26%
Non-disabled students71%
Limited English proficiency40%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students84%
Female84%
Male83%
Black72%
Asian-95%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities58%
Non-disabled students87%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students74%
Female76%
Male72%
Black66%
Asian79%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities42%
Non-disabled students78%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female76%
Male72%
Black44%
Asian-95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial77%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities43%
Non-disabled students78%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students66%
Female70%
Male61%
Black41%
Asian72%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial77%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities38%
Non-disabled students69%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students58%
Female55%
Male63%
Black34%
Asian80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial39%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities29%
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 52%
Black 16% 26%
Asian 15% 3%
Hispanic 5% 14%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1450 Cox Mill Road
Concord, NC 28027
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 795-6519

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hope Academy
Concord, NC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT