Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Concord, NC
Students enrolled: 1,105
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harris Road Middle 2

Posted August 09, 2015
- a parent
The principal at this school has not taken the preventative measures to prevent bullying in this school. There is no research based program in place, and the admin team seems to think blaming the victim is okay, "He needs to tell someone." Really? That is not a proper response. The culture of the school needs to be cultivated and research based methods put into place. Just because many of the kids come from wealthy households does not mean that bullying doesn't occur. Just because the principal thinks that this is a "good" school doesn't mean there doesn't need to be something done. Someone should sue. It is too late in this day and age to not have a plan. Teachers need a leader and he needs to step up.

Harris Road Middle
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 01, 2015
- a student
I feel like some teachers would explain things easier and give us easy ways to remember things, while others would just read out of a textbook and that would be it, and we would have to figure it out by ourselves, most of the time having to Google what we learn to figure it out.


Harris Road Middle
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 01, 2015
- a student
We were given a good amount of homework, but sometimes I really didn't understand how to do it, and the teacher wouldn't go over it with us in class the next day.

Harris Road Middle
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted August 01, 2015
- a student
It depends on the teacher. Some teachers would help the students and make sure that they succeed, and others wouldn't even bother helping the students who needed help, and would let them fail.

Harris Road Middle
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 01, 2015
- a student
It really depends on if your teacher likes you. If a teacher likes you, they will always make sure you are happy and make sure you are enjoying school. If your teacher does not like you or even have any opinion on you, your feelings will be put to the side and never address it.


Harris Road Middle
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 01, 2015
- a student
As a student, I don't believe that some kids were treated fairly. Some teachers either love or hate you, and sometimes it's for no reason at all. If a teacher favors you, they will always put you first in their priorities before all the other students.

Harris Road Middle
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
Respect???? I don't think that the teachers can even define that word so don't expect the students to learn respect at Harris Road.

Harris Road Middle
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
The principal could care less about my child. He acted like I was wasting his time every time I spoke with him. My child struggled to go to school everyday because of the incessant bullying. It broke my heart, but I didn't have the financial means to send him to a private school.


Harris Road Middle
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
There is an obvious favoritism among the students from the teachers and admin. They rule the school and are rarely punished for outrageous behavior.

Harris Road Middle 1

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
My review was removed for some odd reason so here we go again...... Harris Road is run by an unprofessional administration who seems more concerned with winning bus races than their students. The principal had no professionalism and lacks emotion or empathy for the plight of some of the victims of bullying in his school. I've never seen kids that get away with everything. There are no consequences to the actions of outright cruel bullying. My son was physically assaulted and verbally abused constantly and nothing was done. God bless any child that has to go to Harris Road.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harris Road Middle
1251 Patriot Plantation Boulevard, Concord, NC  28027
(704) 782-2002
Last modified Harris Road Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harris Road Middle Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top