Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

A T Allen Elementary

Public | K-5 | 864 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2013

This school and its staff have proven their devotion to the children in our community <3 I would never let my children go anywhere else
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

Don't know why this school was rated so high. My daughter hated every year there. She was at this school from kindergarten to 5th grade. She was bullied and the teachers and principle did nothing and didn't care to. I'm not the only parent that feels this way I know several other parents who had the same problems where the school did nothing to protect the students from bullies but encouraged and rewarded the bullies behavior. Every time I went in to try to get a conference with the principle Mrs. Batts I was told she was busy and had to see someone else in the 6 years my daughter went there I not once got to speak to her in a meeting about the situation. She even "made fun" of the parents concerns about the bulling problem in one of the bulletins she sent home with the students. I was seriously appalled at the behavior of the staff and that they had the nerve to laugh in the faces of the parents of the students that were "terrified" to go to school everyday. Parents please speak up for your children and tell your story about your child's experience at this school. We WILL me heard!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

I love this school, Its Very clean! The principal is wonderful! Teachers are Very nice and helpful ! . My children loves attending A T Allen !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2010

Teachers are great.. Principal i awsome.. Love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

I love this scchool, My son is just doing amazing here. The staff and teachers are wonderful. The kids that go here are so amazing. Beautiful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

The students, staff and administration at A. T. Allen are all amazing people. It's a wonderful school at which to work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 2, 2009

My grandson is excelling with Mrs. Dove in 1st grade. I give them a 10. Great job!


Posted March 1, 2008

I am very surprised at what my daughter has learned already in this school. Their advanced reading classes are hands down the best I've seen! My daughter is excelling academically in all areas because she is being taught at her own level instead of as a group as a whole. I can't begin to express how important that is! Yes other schools in the area may be having Fall Festivals but they don't compare academically to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

My son is finishing his first year at A.T. Allen and I am more than impressed. I have worked in a museum and have witnessed everything from home-schooling, private schooling, public schooling and montessori and A.T. Allen has certainly proved that public schools can be a breath of fresh air. Our children should have every opportunity to see society in it's different shades and cultures, A.T. Allen supports and encourages our differences and celebrates our similiarities. My son has had a wonderful experience and we look forward to many wonderful years at A.T. Allen. I feel he will continue to gain knowledge that will take him far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

Academic programs excell above what my kids received at a Christian school. It challenges their thought process and does not rely upon memorization. The extra classes (as I call them) like music; art and such could be strengthened yet this would then lead to a 'take away' from the core curriculum. I say stay focused and those extra pursuits can be handled by the families. Parental involvement is great (as I can attest to my wife's constant involvement). The only area I see difficulty in is the bus drivers themselves. I would like to see more consistency and less jumping to conclusions and suspending kids from the bus. The real goal is to get them to school; not suspend them the possible only avenue to get there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female60%
Male57%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities33%
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiency50%
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students47%
Female48%
Male47%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students53%
Limited English proficiency14%
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female59%
Male59%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities50%
Non-disabled students60%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students41%
Female43%
Male38%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities33%
Non-disabled students42%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically gifted92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female57%
Male45%
Black41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiency18%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students35%
Female42%
Male29%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students38%
Limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Academically gifted93%

Science

All Students38%
Female38%
Male39%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities23%
Non-disabled students40%
Limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Academically gifted93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 52%
Hispanic 22% 14%
Black 13% 26%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Hilda Batts
Fax number
  • (704) 782-0645

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3939 Abilene Road
Concord, NC 28025
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 788-2182

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Daniel Academy
Concord, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT