Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coltrane-Webb Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 25, 2016
- a teacher
The teachers at Coltrane Webb are very good teachers and very effective. I like to compare what is being taught to another school in another state.

Coltrane-Webb Elementary
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 25, 2016
- a teacher
I would have liked to see more homework given to my grandson who is in 1st grade.


Coltrane-Webb Elementary
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a teacher
Yes, I feel this is a school that expects the students to work hard and will give them that push that they need to succeed.

Coltrane-Webb Elementary
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a teacher
I love watching the interaction between the teachers who welcome each student when dropping off my grandson. Everyone is so respectful.

Coltrane-Webb Elementary 5

Posted May 25, 2016
- a teacher
Everyone seems to be so helpful and eager to help from the principal, teachers and staff workers.


Coltrane-Webb Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 25, 2016
- a teacher
My 7 year old grandson first experience with school was when he attended Coltrane Webb Elementary School, last year (2015). Ms. Sedziol, his kindergarten teacher laid a good foundation for his future success. She is an excellent teacher who knows how to get through to her students and help them understand what is being taught. She gives each one of her students individual attention, that is why he loved being in her class and learning new things. She is a strong, patient and caring teacher who made learning easy and fun for him, but when he needed discipline she knew exactly what to say to him. Ms. Sedziol identified areas of improvement for him and helped him develop his social skills when working in groups for the first time. She also continually impressed upon him to do his "best work" and stay focused. This included working on his writing skills and continue reading throughout the summer. Which he did! Her feedback was always in a positive manner, whether written or verbally. My grandson was selected by Ms. Sedziol to participate in the Kannapolis Intimidator Reading All-Star for 2015 school year. He was also selected for the Reading All-Star for 2016. I would like to thank Ms. Sedziol for her help and support with him and making his first year experience a good one that he still talks about. Thank you for planting the seed! I have no doubt that he will flourish! Also I would like to thank all of his current teachers for their support and taking the time to work with him this school year. B. Gordon (Grandmother)

Coltrane-Webb Elementary 5

Posted October 25, 2015
- a community member
Cannot say enough about how awesome this school has been for us. I've seen my now 9 year old go from crying every morning because he didn't want to go to school and having no friends to a child that looks forward to his school days and all the friends he now has. Being gifted, my son was often bored at the previous school as he always seemed to finish well before the other kids. The previous school's solution was to just give him more worksheets to do. But at Coltrane-Webb, he is being challenged and has once again discovered his love of learning. And don't get me started on the security on this campus! Again, AMAZING. It is such a joy to drop my child off in the mornings knowing that not only is he happy, but he's also safe. Everyone at this school - parents and staff alike - has been warm and welcoming. I have yet to feel like I am somehow "less than" as I was made to feel by parents at the previous school. The only downside to this school is that my son only has one year left after this year before he will be transferring to the middle school. However, if the next school is as good as this one, I have nothing to worry about. :)

Coltrane-Webb Elementary
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Barbee, you're doing an excellent Job! Mrs. Sedziol and Plunkett, keep up the great work! I look forward to my daughter's continued education and exposure to the highly skilled educators at Coltrane-Webb Elementary.


Coltrane-Webb Elementary 5

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
I'm an EC teacher in another school district at a STEM school but my 6 year old has been at Coltrane-Webb for the past 2 years and I honestly cannot bring myself to move because this school is that good: Academically, Socially, Emotionally, and Physically. The educators and counselors communicate well with parents and it has been my experience that Mrs. Barbee, the principal, truly takes the time to know each child and family and be as personable as possible. Kindergarten and First Grade educators (Sedziol and Plunkett are way above average instructors) set a strong solid foundation for their students and keep rigor with the curriculum. Many parents are involved and the PTCO work well with the community to keep education and progression at the heart of what they do. The extra-curricular activities are top-notch. My daughter is involved in several programs the school, and even at her worst she is at her best thanks to the faculty and staff at her school who care most about her thriving and least about their paychecks.

Coltrane-Webb Elementary 5

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
Our son has been at Coltrane Webb for the last three years. We are very happy with all three teachers that he has had, and the principal, Ms. Barbee, is wonderful. Ms. Barbee knows all the kids, and their parents, and is very hands on, supportive, and no nonsense at the same time. This school may not be shiny and new, but our son really loves his school. He was given the choice to attend a brand new school and without hesitation said no way! He really likes that there are only 4 classes per grade and he is able to get to know all the kids in his grade. It really gives the kids a sense of community at school. The teachers work well together and you can tell they really have a passion for what they do. If you are only looking for a school appearance, this school is probably not for you. However, if you want a school of amazing administrators, teachers, staff, kids and parents, I can't say enough good things about CWES. The kids are given opportunities and encouraged to think outside the box and really grow, not just memorize information. Top Notch School!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coltrane-Webb Elementary
61 Spring St Nw, Concord, NC  28025
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (704) 782-5912
Last modified Coltrane-Webb Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top