Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rocky River Elementary 2

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
My husband and I went to go eat lunch with our kindergarten granddaughter and it was a surprise. The woman in the office just told us where to go so we did when we got there it had two doors I saw a woman at the far in and asked her which doors children went in she pointed is back to first door we went in and kept looking for our granddaughter to come in we stood there 15 minutes and not one person asked to help us finally we spotted her already eating we missed it she had 10 minutes left we were so mad and outraged no one help us we were at the wrong door the woman told us to go to . Poor job and a disappointment to us.

Rocky River Elementary 4

Posted September 25, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is a 1st grader at Rocky River. Since I only have 2 years of experience with this school, I cannot grade the entire school, but the 1st grade is awesome! Her teacher communicates with me regularly and allows me to stay involved with her education. Kindergarten was okay, but her teacher did not communicate with me (didn't return notes in my child's folder, didn't respond to emails). I had to go to the school to get a response. The principal is awesome and responds to concerns quickly. I have lunch with my daughter once a week. The students seem well behaved and the teachers have control of them. One thing I am concerned about is that the office has never asked me for identification when I've had lunch with my daughter. The doors inside the school are locked and you can't get in unless someone in the office unlocks it for you. They've always unlocked it and never asked for identification. Also, my husband had lunch with her when she was in kindergarten. He wasn't aware that he had to sign in at the office, so he went into the unlocked doors where the buses park, didn't have a "visitor" sticker on his shirt, had lunch with our daughter and no one ever questioned him.


Rocky River Elementary 5

Posted August 26, 2012
- a teacher
I am a teacher at Rocky River. I love our school, and I love our system. I have taught school for almost 18 years, and every year teaches me something new. It is all about the kids. We do everything for the kid and for them to grow to their highest potential. We teach students to think independently,and to connect with many resources during their learning process. ....Our staff is a great team of teachers who are flexible and willing to work together for our kids! "KIDS FIRST!"

Rocky River Elementary 5

Posted March 28, 2012
- a parent
All 3 of my children attend RRES and we LOVE it. When we were buying a house, the very top priority we asked our Realtor to keep in mind was to stay in the RR district. My children are performing way above their respective grade levels and they are even in the AIG programs. The teachers are very compassionate and they love the kids like they're part of a big family. My youngest son is in Kindergarten and has been diagnosed with ADHD. His teachers are working with him and helping me to come up with ways to keep him focused and on his best behavior. My fifth grader's teacher pushes him to reach for his true potential and she won't settle for sub-par work. It is so refreshing to have teachers care so much for their students. I have also seen the principal working with the kids and he is never stumped to guess a name. Mr. Lamm is the perfect educator to lead our kids. I would absolutely recommend RRES to anyone new to the area or just looking for a better school. How this school hasn't received the highest rating is beyond me.

Rocky River Elementary 3

Posted July 10, 2011
- a parent
We just completed our first year at RRE. We loved the teachers our children had been assigned to. The principal is new and seems to be very involved with RR. The library/office staff have always been very pleasant.


Rocky River Elementary 2

Posted January 25, 2011
- a parent
This is my daughters 2nd year at Rocky River Elementary and the Regular Education setting is good. The teachers do a good job of teaching, although aren't pleased with mainstreaming and making modifications for special needs kids. I've been struggling for the classroom teacher to incorporate the necessary modifications identified in the IEP consistently. If I had a "regular student" this school would be fine.

Rocky River Elementary
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Rocky river has been a great family oriented school for my kids. They have taught them to respect them selves, patients, family and responsiblity. The staff does what ever it takes for the safety of each and every student.

Rocky River Elementary 2

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
Not at all impressed with this school. Feel like I am sending my child to a prison, instead of a place for education.


Rocky River Elementary 5

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
My daughter entered Rocky River in kindergarten and is now in 2nd grade performing on a 3rd grade reading and math level. I have been very happy with Rocky River. Her 3 teachers have been awesome....Ms. Furr for kindergarten, Ms. Brafford for 1st grade and now Ms. Banks for 2nd grade. She loved all of her teachers and Ms. Banks is her absolute favorite. She loves to learn and looks forward to going to school; whichmakes a parent very happy. I'm especially impressed with Mr. Lamm this year, who've I've seen more than I ever saw the previous principle. He is much more accessible, approachable and down to earth. His presence is definitely a plus. Please keep up the good work!!!

Rocky River Elementary
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a community member
This is an excellent school. The teachers have always been great and now the school has a great principal. Thank you, Mr Millard Lamm. The students are hard working and put forth extra effort to do their best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rocky River Elementary
5454 Rocky River Rd, Concord, NC  28025
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (704) 795-4505
Last modified Rocky River Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top