Advertisement

Christian Family Academy

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Conover

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2013

Not a good experience. Teasing from not only students but if the staff doesn't like you, it can be tough on a student. Too exclusive and judgmental. Students behind academically. Strange place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

Sweet staff! Sweet chapel services. I agree with the comment that there is a de-emphasis on education. The academic program needs to be evaluated again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2013

If you are truly looking for "Christian Education" and not just a public school with "christian" tacked on to the curriculum, then you will be VERY pleased. This school provides the total package with high academic standards that meet the needs of all children including those with special needs in a loving environment that guides and nurtures the spiritual development of young people. The teachers are highly dedicated to providing quality education for their students. The staff is small due to the skeleton budget this school operates under, therefore, it may appear at times that the school is disorganized or understaffed but I can assure you that they have it all covered. I suggest parent volunteering and involvement as a means of staying connected to the school and to insuring the quality of education that you desire for your child. It takes a community to raise a child and this school is only one part of that community. This school was founded and is operated as a family business/ministry but that is not a negative because new families are truly adopted into the "christian family" of the school. I highly recommend this school to any parent looking for christian education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

Operates 6 hours daily, less than 180 days , and has less than 100 students. Three teachers dismissed this summer because of low enrollment. Two specialized in math. While choosing Christian education, I agree with the first comment that parents should be involved in it. No young child should be counseled on serious spiritual matters without parental involvement. I would challenge the "highest test scores around "comment too. As compared to what? The scores are not posted. The students are prepped prior to the standardized testing. Yes, it is important that children be taught values and a Christian viewpoint, but a school has to offer strong educational components too. God needs Christians in all fields many requiring college degrees. Sometimes Chrisitan institutions become so small and unique that they become exclusionary and fearful of the world. They discourage any thinking that is different from its leaders. Communication is a problem.


Posted August 2, 2010

Love It! We have only had a child in the school for 1 year but we could not be more pleased. My child not only hears the Word taught but sees it in action daily. My child has excelled academically and can not wait for school to start again.


Posted August 2, 2010

Highly recommend. I have been involved with several Christian schools and have never seen anything close to this school. Your child will grow spiritually. Teachers invest in students in a very personal manner. Classes are hands on and make learning fun. As a result, this school has some of the highest test scores in the area.


Posted July 6, 2010

Fantastic school! We love it! Excellent curriculum and wonderful teachers. My child is soaring academically and spiritually. There is a great structure and children are encouraged daily. I recommend this school to anyone looking for a Christian school. The staff really has a love for Christ, and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Would not recommend this school. Very disorganized. Very little communication to parents. Parental involvement not encouraged. Educational guidelines unclear. Very little science or history. No computers. Too much emphasis on spiritual decisions without parental permission or input. Chaotic. Financial difficulties. Gets smaller every year. Children are on the playground more than they are in class.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 53%
Black 3% 32%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Hispanic 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4639 County Home Rd
Conover, NC 28613
Phone: (828) 256-8474

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hickory Day School
Hickory, NC


Hickory Day School
Hickory, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT