Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bailey Middle School 1

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
Kids and parents all together being bullied by staff? Yes, it does happen at this school. This school is all about test grades, end of story - not about getting an education. The teachers will discriminate based on their likes and dislikes. Do not get fooled by school rating, its only a facade. If your kid has any issues in school, run. This is not a place for any kid to have issues. The teachers will let your kid in class just stay and do nothing. School is about what money can get from federal and local government not about teaching, preparing kids for life. Run, an horrible school to be at!

Bailey Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
Teachers don't care about students. They could stay in class all day long doing nothing and nobody notifies the parents of what is happening.


Bailey Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
No, no respect, it is more like teasing, bullying both kids and parents all together. Somebody should take a very close look at this school.

Bailey Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
The school does not care about anything, really what empathy, caring or compassion? The teachers themselves act as non-existent in class...

Bailey Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
The school is all about grades and what money they can get from local and federal government. If your kid has any issues in schools, run. They will not help your kid at all, as they are not equipped with necessary tools nor they have the understanding or desire to deal with any issues. They will go to the extend to let your kid do nothing in class rather than correct any issue. So a grade 10 for this school feels and is fake. More appropriate would be a 4, you as a school you failed your students. Run!


Bailey Middle School 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
Our son is in his third year at Bailey (and we've got two more who will be there soon). We are very happy with Bailey Middle School. The teachers and staff are smart and professional. There are many extracurricular opportunities. The curriculum is challenging and my son will be well prepared for high school. Principal Thomas is caring, professional and the students know he has high expectations for them. Yes, there are more kids per class than a private school. But the students are separated into teams and each team has their own teachers. The teachers know how to manage the class and they also offer help times outside of class so they get to know the kids. And the students learn to be independent, responsible and get help when they need it. These are life skills that translate to future success. On to Hough next year and we are excited! It is disheartening to read unbalanced negative critiques thrown out there for all to see which are unfair and skew the rating, IMO. More parents need to submit a review and express what a great school Bailey really is.

Bailey Middle School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
Bailey Middle School has been a great experience for my 7th grader. They have done an excellent job since he bagan there in 6th grade. The teachers are creative in the classroom and the principal is always visible. There are a lot of ways to get involved for both students and parents. I have always found the staff to be attentive to my needs. I would highly recommend Bailey.

Bailey Middle School 1

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
Bailey middle school is probably the craziest school I've ever seen. My daughter has friends there and makes good grades despite the school. Bullies everywhere from staff to students. I've contacted the superintendent of the school with no help. My daughter is leaving the school, due to the bullying from staff and student. After tons of complaints the self righteous principal will do nothing to correct his staff and after getting the police involved the bully has been pointed out. But I will home school her until high school age.


Bailey Middle School 5

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
My 7th grader and I really like this school. The teachers, staff, volunteers and kids are friendly, polite and attentive. They are teaching our children well. Thank you!

Bailey Middle School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
BMS got modulars this year due to the overcrowding. Many students came from IB, charter, and private schools because they've learned the education being received is more valuable from Bailey. The school's PTSA encourages parental involvement, and Mr. Thomas is a communicative, approachable principal.

Nearby schools

Bailey Middle School
11900 Bailey Rd., Cornelius, NC  28031
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (980) 343-1068
Last modified Bailey Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top