Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Cornelius, NC
Students enrolled: 1,517

3 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bailey Middle 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
Our son is in his third year at Bailey (and we've got two more who will be there soon). We are very happy with Bailey Middle School. The teachers and staff are smart and professional. There are many extracurricular opportunities. The curriculum is challenging and my son will be well prepared for high school. Principal Thomas is caring, professional and the students know he has high expectations for them. Yes, there are more kids per class than a private school. But the students are separated into teams and each team has their own teachers. The teachers know how to manage the class and they also offer help times outside of class so they get to know the kids. And the students learn to be independent, responsible and get help when they need it. These are life skills that translate to future success. On to Hough next year and we are excited! It is disheartening to read unbalanced negative critiques thrown out there for all to see which are unfair and skew the rating, IMO. More parents need to submit a review and express what a great school Bailey really is.
2 people found this helpful

Bailey Middle 1

Posted October 06, 2014
- a parent
Kids and parents all together being bullied by staff? Yes, it does happen at this school. This school is all about test grades, end of story - not about getting an education. The teachers will discriminate based on their likes and dislikes. Do not get fooled by school rating, its only a facade.
4 people found this helpful


Bailey Middle 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
Bailey Middle School has been a great experience for my 7th grader. They have done an excellent job since he bagan there in 6th grade. The teachers are creative in the classroom and the principal is always visible. There are a lot of ways to get involved for both students and parents. I have always found the staff to be attentive to my needs. I would highly recommend Bailey.
1 person found this helpful

Bailey Middle 1

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
Bailey middle school is probably the craziest school I've ever seen. My daughter has friends there and makes good grades despite the school. Bullies everywhere from staff to students. I've contacted the superintendent of the school with no help. My daughter is leaving the school, due to the bullying from staff and student. After tons of complaints the self righteous principal will do nothing to correct his staff and after getting the police involved the bully has been pointed out. But I will home school her until high school age.
2 people found this helpful

Bailey Middle 5

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
My 7th grader and I really like this school. The teachers, staff, volunteers and kids are friendly, polite and attentive. They are teaching our children well. Thank you!
1 person found this helpful


Bailey Middle 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
BMS got modulars this year due to the overcrowding. Many students came from IB, charter, and private schools because they've learned the education being received is more valuable from Bailey. The school's PTSA encourages parental involvement, and Mr. Thomas is a communicative, approachable principal.
1 person found this helpful

Bailey Middle 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
New Principal since July 2012 and things are incredible. I have two kids here and they teachers have been fabulous. Have the best team of teachers I can remember any of my 4 kids having. Chad Thomas (principal) encourages involvement by all, proactively keeps parents informed and seeks input, is appreciative of volunteers and fosters a real sense of team among students, faculty and parents. My kids are proud to be Bailey Broncos!

Bailey Middle 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
My son moved there this year and we love it! He finally likes going to school, thank you teachers and staff! They are friendly and responsive from the moment you enter, and they handle problems immediately while informing the parents right away. Wonderful school.


Bailey Middle 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a parent
We love Bailey Middle. My older child went to Bailey for all 3 years and now my second child is there. The teachers are great and my children have gotten a top notch education. My older son is in all honors/AP classes at the high school and he was very well prepared by the teachers at Bailey. Like any big middle school, there are behavior issues, but we have had great experiences and this is my 4th year with a child Bailey.

Bailey Middle 1

Posted June 12, 2012
- a parent
There are no AP classes at Bailey Middle School in Cornelius NC. There are honors classes, but no AP. However, there are some REALLY good teachers at Bailey, but unfortunatlythere are a few REALLY bad ones that can spoil the school year for your child. The bad ones get away with behavior that in the work world would have had us fired and out the door within minutes. I think of it as the Pat-Pat, Slap-Slap school. Some teachers are going to say really kind things and inspire your child, and some teachers are going insult, tease and make fun of students, and if you talk to them they may even do it to you. Good Luck!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bailey Middle
11900 Bailey Road, Cornelius, NC  28031
(980) 343-1068
Last modified Bailey Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bailey Middle Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top