Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jv Washam Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My son's teacher is truly special. A first grade class of 80% boys - a few of which (mine included) that seemed to have attention challenges. Mrs. Bryant was always patient and kind with the children and the parents. She constantly looked for new ways to engage each child and make them feel successful. She truly identified different things for different needs (all children). All of the kids loved her and excelled in her class. I observed leadership across the school quickly respond to questions and concerns - never being defensive, only asking what they could do to help (and doing it!). A loving and positive environment. Everything you hope for in an elementary school. I hope they win because I know they would do something wonderful for the kids!

Jv Washam Elementary 4

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
My son attended KG & 1st grade here. I think the teachers and the admin staff are great. The new principal is really committed to student success, and I am not sure what she did to ease traffic issue, there are few backups during drop-off/pickup times.


Jv Washam Elementary 2

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
The recent leadership has been at best nonexistent, hopefully the school can move on with a change in leadership and give the staff some much needed direction and support. There are some great teachers at JV Washam who deserve more. CMS has decimated the Special Ed department, maybe better leadership would have stopped this happening! This school has lost its way.

Jv Washam Elementary 5

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
I am very pleased and impressed with the educational background my child is receiving at JV Washam Elementary School. I can't say enough good things about the staff and teachers at this school. My daughter is thriving very well at this school and the teachers are always putting the best foot forward to make sure your child receives the appropriate educational attention my child deserves!!! Kudos to JV Washam

Jv Washam Elementary 5

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
We just moved to the area, and I am ver impressed with this school. My son is thriving!


Jv Washam Elementary 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
Exllent teacher's strong principal my daughter is happy the teacher mrs Holly Keller she is amazing. we are so happy !!

Jv Washam Elementary 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
My child is currently finishing up her 6th year here (K-5th grade) and we have been very happy with the school, the quality of teachers and curriculum. The principal and staff are very welcoming to parents which many schools want the parent to drop the kid off and leave. I have appreciated the partnership the school establishes with parents.

Jv Washam Elementary 5

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
I relocated with my son to Cornelius, NC this past year and I am very thankful that he is able to attend J.V. Washam. This school is top notch from the principal, Mr. Giovanelli, to his staff, especially Mrs. Nelson, my son's 2nd grade teacher. The caring and positive influence that this school displays is above what I could have ever expected. The various faculty have assisted my son in as many ways as possible to see to it that he gets the extra help he needs to be a successful student. I am also impressed how at the end of each school day the principal sees to it that he addresses the students with positive words over the loud speaker. I give this school an A plus and look forward to seeing my son become a successful student and achieve his academic goals. Thanks so much to everyone there.


Jv Washam Elementary 5

Posted September 30, 2011
- a parent
My daughter started 1st grade, so 2yrs now at JV. I am impressed with involvement that most staff has with the kids and how everyday Manners, Helping, Honesty, Hard-work is stressed. Yes it's the parents job to teach and implement, but it's nice having the school back you up in your beliefs.

Jv Washam Elementary 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
My son just started in this school. The teachers here are really the best. They care about all aspects of learning. The Principal has excellent management skill and he is very easily reachable for any concerns we have. The communication with the parents is amazing, I really wonder how these teachers do this. I happy that we are part of this great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jv Washam Elementary
9611 Westmoreland Rd, Cornelius, NC  28031
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (980) 343-1071
Last modified Jv Washam Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top