Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Cullowhee, NC
Students enrolled: 625

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cullowhee Valley School 4

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Cullowhee Valley is a good school - Great for a public school in NC. I just finished working during the day on the new playground which with a bunch of wonderful parents, community members, and college student volunteers. As a parent, I think we are on the right path, but take every chance you can to voice your ideas, opinions, and needs to your teachers, the principal, the school improvement team, and the PTA. People do listen.
1 person found this helpful

Cullowhee Valley School 1

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
CVS is an awful school in a terrible school district. It is currently devolving even further down, into a kids are cattle, group think mentality under new this principal. There is a putrid stench everywhere, and a general bad vibe. This entire school district needs to be deeply investigated and revamped from top down. The local population is so dumbed down that they just follow right along into the sausage grinder mentality of NC public schools. Just like WCU, there is nowhere to go but up from here. Funny that the faculty members have posted all of these positively fake reviews on here!
2 people found this helpful


Cullowhee Valley School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a teacher
My child's school is awesome! We are right across the street from Western Carolina University, and we have a LOT of partnerships with the University. These partnerships range from WCU students working with teachers in the classrooms to WCU professors giving presentations to the kids.
1 person found this helpful

Cullowhee Valley School 4

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
able to do much with limited resources. I'm always amazed at the ingenuity of the teachers and staff and grateful for everything they do!

Cullowhee Valley School 4

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
Our school has great faculty and staff. More parent involvement would really boost it from a solid school to an excellent one! There is also a need for resources for increasing physical activity for our children.
1 person found this helpful


Cullowhee Valley School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
CVS has been a Wonderful School.My Child is in the 8th,Teachers have been wonderful and helped her out alot

Cullowhee Valley School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
My son has autism and has just completed Kindergarten at Cullowhee Valley School. He is absolutely thriving! He is in a mainstream classroom and all his classmates are very accepting and understanding of his differences, which I am sure is thanks to the leadership of a wonderful, caring teacher and assistant. He just turned 6 and is reading and counting to 100. He also just started riding his bicycle without training wheels thanks to the excellent gym teacher. The school gives me the feeling of being one big happy family. I walk with my son to his classroom and he is often greeted by name by teachers and older students. I love that they welcome parents into the classroom at any time. I have volunteered often and always like what I see when I'm there. We might be moving soon and I wish I could take this school with me!
1 person found this helpful

Cullowhee Valley School 1

Posted December 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Cullowhee Valley School 0
no rating

Posted December 05, 2009
- a parent
Not even worthy of one star! CVS is the sorriest excuse for a school that I have ever encountered. My child's teacher could not care less about meeting educational standards. Don't swallow the lies they telling you. Ask proof of what you are being told and the follow through. Then make your own decision about the school.
1 person found this helpful

Cullowhee Valley School 4

Posted November 26, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cullowhee Valley School
240 Wisdom drive, Cullowhee, NC  28723
(828) 293-5667
Last modified Cullowhee Valley School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cullowhee Valley School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top