Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The J P Knapp School 5

Posted February 06, 2012
- a parent
My child went to this school for 5th Grade. He really enjoyed his teacher and the staff. I knew he was learning when he told me " the coyote in cartoons has too much inertia when he runs off the cliff". The creative teaching style was perfect for him. His teacher really knew how to engage 10 and 11 yr olds.

The J P Knapp School 5

Posted August 03, 2011
- a parent
This school is a great school. The staff are helpful, kind, and pleasant. The facility is clean! We moved here from upstate ny and this school is 30x better!


The J P Knapp School 3

Posted May 27, 2011
- a parent
I've got my share of grievances with this school. Besides it looking like a prison work facility they really need to pay more attention to the kids who need help. I've had my daughter tested by their "bare minimum standards" to have them come back and say there's nothing wrong. She's been contested into the 4th grade, 5th grade, and by the looks so far, the 6th. Teaching to the EOG's doesn't cut it in my book or any sensible parents' book. We've had her professionally tested and it's clear she has a learning disability. Sorry this school doesn't see it fitting to cater to another student with troubles but isn't that their job? You can pick out one student and advertise that you supply the needs but when 20 more don't get those needs then it's a farce. Pretty on the outside, garbage inside. I've no gripe with the teachers, they do a great job when they can. It's the system I have a real problem with and this school has really opened my eyes to the travesty of our childrens' education.

The J P Knapp School 5

Posted June 23, 2010
- a parent
Oh .how we MISS this school since we moved!!!! It is truly an EXCELLENT SCHOOL!!! :)

The J P Knapp School 5

Posted December 24, 2009
- a parent
My sons go to school there. The faculty and staff are very dedicated and go out of their way to recoganize my children as individuals. The technology that this school has to offer is beyond that of what you can expect from some 'big city' school.


The J P Knapp School 0
no rating

Posted November 12, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attend this school and has been doing well. She has ADD and the teachers are working very hard to address her needs with modified lessons that is given to enhance her reading ability. She loves going to school and enjoy working with the class. I appreciate the teachers doing strategies with her to get her in the mode of thinking about her concepts and allowing her to solve the problems faced in math and reading. I do feel that test are hard for her but her effort shown in the classroom and during homework has worked out to becoming a milestone for her. She is improving day by day. Thank you teachers at Shawboro.

The J P Knapp School 5

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
I currently have 2 children in Shawboro Elementary, and I am thrilled with the individual attention they receive in class.

The J P Knapp School 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
Two of my kids have attended Shawboro and have been given the attention that they needed to succeed in school. The teachers are pleasant and demanding at the same time, which is good for my childs education.


The J P Knapp School 4

Posted July 31, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The J P Knapp School
370 Shawboro Road, Currituck, NC  27929
(252) 232-2237
Last modified The J P Knapp School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
The J P Knapp School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.