Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Davidson Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Addison, Ms. O'Brien, Mr. Verlin, Mr. Underhill, Ms. Brock, Ms. Higgins, Ms. Berlin, Ms. Noble, Mr. Rabb, Mr. Smith and more. I have heard of many other strong DES teachers but my children weren't in those classes.

Davidson Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
We have had great teachers in our experience who are caring and know how to teach.


Davidson Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
Teachers, administration and school counselor work hard on character development. I see it during morning announcements, signs at the school, teacher/student discussions, and Mr. Smith, who goes class to class to specifically teach healthy, kind ways to interact with others.

Davidson Elementary 5

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
I have had at least one child at DES since 2006. We have had an amazing experience and I cannot express enough gratitude to the caring, capable teachers and involved parents. There will always be people who like to complain, no matter where their child(ren) attend school (and no school is perfect), so please keep this in consideration when reading any overly negative comments. Just about every parent at DES would recommend our school as one of the best for sure.

Davidson Elementary
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I suppose, yes, because students are treated poorly - that would build grit in having to overcome the treatment.


Davidson Elementary 1

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Davidson is thought to be a forward-thinking and cohesive town and the expectation is a wonderful town elementary school. Any given day, as you enter the school, the parent involvement is impressive (at times overwhelming bordering on irritating) and welcoming but it bolsters this school far too much giving a false-sense of quality and belonging. Contingents of parents exist that are chronically inside the classrooms 'volunteer teaching' every day of the week without degrees only to turn around and discuss other children's issues with other parents. I think having parental involvement is wonderful but this set-up presents privacy issues there should be more appropriate ways to engage parents and it shouldn't replace teaching. Leadership here espouses an 'us against them' mentality pitting teachers/staff against parents in the face of issues that could be resolved with simple and professional communications. Students are treated like prisoners in the cafeteria and lunch is overseen by cafeteria staff untrained in childhood development; children being yelled at (including by the principal) for simply talking in this overcrowded lunch space and not permitted to use the restroom in a timely manner resulting in children who are too old to be having accidents, wetting their pants. Conversation over a meal is a basic human instinct and a wonderful way to build community and friendships; disallowing conversations between classmates and friends is more damaging than DES realizes. Testing here (even in k-2) is the priority, teachers fail to discuss the whole-child, which misses the mark big time and doesn't prepare our children for success outside of school in social situations (and we wonder why the next generation is turning out social failures at a higher rate than boomer generation). Recesses, in some cases, are scheduled at the very end of the day (probably due to overcrowding) and sometimes is revoked if the class is 'unruly' which I find grossly counterproductive for young minds. Each week, I am saddened to learn of another parent who is dissatisfied with the way things are being run here and deciding to explore other options. Davidson deserves a better elementary school and real-deal leadership. Unfortunately, a split from the CMS machine doesn't sound possible so do your homework before enrolling and attempt to really understand what you are committing to.

Davidson Elementary
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The science teacher is a really nice and engaging teacher and she deserves credit for that.

Davidson Elementary
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
My child does not feel safe in this school and does not trust staff and teachers to make decisions on her behalf.


Davidson Elementary
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Definitely not. The whole child is not really even discussed. Topic of friendships and personalities doesn't even come up in conferences. All they obsess about is test scores.

Davidson Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I haven't really heard much about this besides a 'fuzzy jar' these topics are barely a focus, more focus on test scores.

Nearby schools

Davidson Elementary
635 South St, Davidson, NC  28036
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (980) 343-3900
Last modified Davidson Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top