Advertisement

Phoenix Montessori Academy

Private | PK-12 | 90 students

Our school is best known for developing a love of learning in each child.

 
 

Living in Davidson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $250,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

Great school providing hands-on learning, research based teaching and a proven learning method-- Montessori at its best. There are two teachers in each classroom, small class size and enthusiasm everywhere. With its wonderful Davidson location, we could not be more pleased. We have had our children at Phoenix for three years now. All of the teachers know them because Montessori provides for three year cycles. There is no staff turnover in the elementary, middle and high schools, so the students are very secure in their environments. What a pleasure for all of the Phoenix families to be part of this learning community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2014

My son has been at PMA for six years. The best part is how my son has learned personal responsibility, something quite lacking today. I used to have to drag him to his homework. Now he sits down and does his homework first. Kids are able to learn the way that they learn best. It is a warm inviting school with the ability for a child to be an individual. Moving to the new campus has been a great thing. Along with regular class activities there is an emphasis on community and giving back. People can learn great things come in small packages. The tuition for the small classes is very affordable. We love the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

Phoenix is a wonderful place filled with amazing Montessori teachers who allow each student to succeed. We love this school for our younger son, who is a traditional learner, and our older son, who has auditory processing disorder. The teachers truly understand how to capitalize on each student's learning style, allow children to be themselves and make learning a fun adventure instead of a chore. Students learn in Montessori method (hands on, interactive, research based curriculum) multi-age classes that consist of high achievers as well as those who need extra help. Montessori is the only scientifically based teaching method. Phoenix is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

My two children could not be more different from one another and yet both have thrived in PMA's environment. They are happy, confident children with a firmer grasp of academic concepts than I have seen in their traditional school friends. More importantly, they have an awareness of their responsibilities to their community, the Earth and their fellow citizens. While no situation is ever perfect, I am proud to have been a part of the Phoenix Family for many years. It has been a huge investment, but one I intend to continue to make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

This school was a complete waste of time and money. The children are not challenged and parents are not welcome. Administration was mainly concerned about the contractual agreement regarding payment. Teenagers are asleep on couches and while pretending to be on their laptops. We were only there a short time, thankfully! NOT a real Montessori school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

Phoenix Montessori is a great school! They offer affordable classes for all ages and truly care about not only your child, but your family. This school has been home to all three of my children. The staff and curriculum developed a love of learning in my children and helped to cultivate their natural curiosity. I highly recommend this school to every family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

Phoenix has ignited a love of learning in my previously very dejected child learning disabilities. We have had a wonderful experience at Phoenix for the last 3+years. The teachers and staff are passionate about what they do. With its research based, hands-on learning methods, Montessori education is for every child, whether a high achiever or a struggling student. We wish we had considered Phoenix Montessori from the beginning of our children's education! It's a wonderful, warm place where children thrive and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

Phoenix Montessori Academy has been a life saver for our son! He was struggling for years in public school until we finally pulled him out and found Phoenix. The school is amazing and has literally turned his life around. He loves school now and is doing really well. I would highly recommend this school to anyone, especially if you have a child who learns in a non-traditional way and needs a smaller, more caring environment. It is also one of the few Montessori schools with a middle and high school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

This is the second year that my daughter is going to PMA. She went there when she was 17 months old and i have seen her develop by leaps and bounds. The environment is very nurturing and teachers are amazing. When i walk in to her class, the fact that all kids walk over to wish me and interact without being shy is a sign that they are in an environment that encourages confidence and self-assurance. I hardly see kids crying or fussy. they all seem to be very happy in general. I have noticed older kids interacting with younger ones and reading stories etc. If you are looking with typical school with a rigid rules etc, this is not for you. If you are looking for a warm, nurturing environment that helps your kids devleop as individuals and reach their potential, PMA is the place to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Phoenix Montessori was the perfect alternative to traditional school for our daughter. She had energy that was being "tamped down" at the public school but was embraced and nurtured at Phoenix. We later enrolled our son and we've been happy since.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

Phoenix Montessori Academy is a wonderful school! It is a place for children to grow and thrive academically and socially. Children build confidence, independence, and learn practical life skills for themselves. They also work with other students to build problem solving skills, team work, and collaboration. Students learn through hands on materials and real life examples. Students at this school gain a great love of learning, becoming learners for life. They learn to become excellent citizens of their school environment and ultimately the community they live in with a genuine concern, respect, and awareness for their world. Phoenix is an ideal learning place as it provides a safe and comfortable environment for all students to learn and grow. Phoenix focuses on where each child is individually in their learning and helps them grow from there. Phoenix has a great love and respect for all and the school community is like one big family where everyone feels welcome. I have greatly enjoyed being a part of the magic of learning that happens here at Phoenix and have seen first hand how truly special this school is with teachers enthusiastic about Montessori & happy child learners.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2013

I've had 2 kids attend Phoenix Montessori for 8 yrs now. The individualized attention and respect for the children has allowed my children to be happy and succeed. The teachers have done an excellent job of balancing when to push my children to help them see and reach their potential and when to build their confidence. With the small, intimate classes and teacher consistency (3 year cycles) the child and his/her development really comes first. I've been very pleased with the continual guidance my kids have received academically, socially, and athletically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I have taught at Phoenix for seven years now and feel fortunate to work with a team that stands true to the Montessori Philosophy! I am surrounded with people who put children first and believe that it is through the process that children learn. My two children are now at the school with me and the experience they have had thus far is very positive! I feel blessed that school is home away from home and they take such ownership in PMA! They are challenged academically and are both very social and I know the environment they are in has enriched their learning experience. PMA is growing and thriving and has truly been a blessing to my family!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 1, 2013

This school is excellent! I have had 3 of my children there since the school's inception in 2004 and we could not be happier. The teachers and staff are like family. My children vary greatly in personality and academically. All of their needs have been met individually, there is no 'box' that the children are expected to fit into at PMA. Respect for the individual child is very important and the children learn to respect rules through natural consequences as opposed to punishment. The teachers know the children well and supervision is age appropriate at each level. I witness this daily through my conversations with staff and by what I observe while volunteering during school hours. My children do not want to leave school at the end of the day because they are so happy and are thriving, not only academically, but emotionally and physically in this Montessori environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

This school is very disappointing. There are no rules. The teachers are either sleeping or on Facebook. The office staff is lacking and very disorganized. Complete waste of time and money. The staff does not speak very respectfully to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

Greatly disappointed by this school and specially by it's leader. Rules are arbitrary, lack of student supervision is concerning and teachers sleeping in the classroom during schol hours is unacceptable. Please do your thorough research before enrolling your children here. Our child is no longer there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2012

We were greatly disappointed by this school. Rules are arbitrary, supervision of students is often lacking. Our child no longer attends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

Our child has been attending this school for going on 4 years now. We have only excellent things to say about the program, teaching staff and school leadership. If you are looking for individualized curriculum and nurturing environment instilling love of learning, this school is for you!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 53%
Hispanic 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 32%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Art teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:15 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • India Adams
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
  • Website
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (704) 892-8481

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our mission at Phoenix Montessori Academy is to develop true scholars, life-long learners, and productive citizens of the world in a diverse atmosphere that incorporates Montessori principles where students demonstrate respect and love for self, others, and their environment. Core Values: ~Implement Montessori Philosophy ~Achieve Academic Excellence ~Embrace Cultural Diversity ~Develop a Love of Learning
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 15, 2014

 
 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

412 Armour St.
Davidson, NC 28036
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 892-7536

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

McKinney Academy
Davidson, NC


Mckinney Academy
Davidson, NC



Davidson Day School
Davidson, NC


Davidson Day School
Davidson, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT