Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plain View Elementary

Public | K-5 | 423 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2012

I I ve visited schools from North Carolina to Arizona; if your child has the opportunity to attend this school, you re extremely fortunate. The principal, staff, students and parents are the pillar of what a school community truly is. PV represents what every school in our country should strive to achieve. The staff at PV works hard every single day. Don t ever think their duties end at 3:00! If they re not at school working, they're taking their work home with them. They never complain or make excuses, and they do all this with a smile. Regardless of obstacles and countless expectations, they find a way to achieve them. Because they have high expectations for themselves, they instill this ethic in every student who walks through their front door. Yes, they provide an excellent education; they also provide their students with the necessary skills to succeed in life resilience, diligence, and perseverance.


Posted May 10, 2009

I have one child that attends this school and had two others that did attend. I can say that I am very pleased at the hard work the teachers are doing with the kids. I do like the new principal we have as well. I also agree that there is a great panic over the EOG. I do understand but the kids do need a break at times. I hope that the homework will taper off after the testing. Thank you teachers for the hard work you have done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

My son enjoys doing very well at Plain View and has a great teacher. The staff is friendly and professional. My only complaint would be that the parents become more involved in the PTO. We just moved here, and the school we came from had an active PTO, which was primarily headed up by the parents. We had fundraisers that did not involve crowns and popularity contest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

I have two children that attend Plain View Elementary. We are extremely pleased with the education they have received. The teachers at the school are exceptional...very friendly, intelligent and loving towards the students. They provide numerous opportunities for parent involvement. The teachers make learning fun for the students...even with the emphasis on testing, my fourth grader had the best school year ever last year (and grew to love writing in the process). If I could improve something, it would be the amount of time for and quality of special programs like art, music, and physical education. 35 minutes a week is very little. Other than that, I do not believe I could find a better school for my children in NC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I love this school. I will soon have two children attending plainview and I am so excited. The teacher's are excellent! They Not only want to know there student's in the classroom but they are concerned about their interest and them in general, there not just a number. They are very concerned about each of there students and are very friendly to the parent's and want us involved in the classroom. The faculty is very nice and pleasant to talk with. I know my children are being well cared for while they are at school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2005

MY child is a third grade student at Plain View. I think the school itself is great. It offers a variety for the students and a great learning environment. I do however have two complaints. First the principle does not resolve issues in a timely matter, if ever. Secondly, some of the 3rd grade teachers push students to a breaking point with hours of homework each night. Maybe this is due to panic of EOG testing. I feel kids need time at home to be kids. Overall the school is good but needs a few adjustments, and a new principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female63%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities40%
Non-disabled students71%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female67%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students62%
Female54%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities36%
Non-disabled students67%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female57%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities21%
Non-disabled students66%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female70%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities60%
Non-disabled students75%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female57%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students72%
Female63%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities40%
Non-disabled students77%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 52%
Hispanic 15% 14%
Black 10% 26%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Gaynor Hammond
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (910) 891-4868

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4140 Plain View Highway
Dunn, NC 28334
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 891-4354

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT