Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Durham, NC
Students enrolled: 116
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Camelot Academy 5

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
I see from previous posts that people tend to either love or hate Camelot. It's a quirky little school and may not be for everyone, but I have to say that it was an absolute godsend to our family. Yes, it's small, but if you're willing to work hard and negotiate with the director and faculty, you will never meet a nicer bunch. They take academics very seriously, but it really is a "work-hard, play-hard " philosophy at Camelot. If your child is bright and analytical and could benefit from a safe and encouraging environment where they are allowed to work on their weaknesses but charge ahead where they are strong, then this is the school for you. Our two oldest both struggled with boredom in public elementary school. One of our 3 kids was tested upon arriving at Camelot due to poor handwriting and math skills, was recommended to a wonderful educational psychologist, was classified as "gifted and learning disabled" (Who knew you could be both? Our previous public school was never actually able to make that diagnosis, despite teacher concerns, as apparently their abbreviated test "didn't go high enough".) Camelot took the Dr. recommendations to heart, gave him extra time on math tests, encouraged use of a keyboard to type class notes on, and encouraged him to keep reading the books many grade levels ahead that he craved. He graduated a proud and confident teen, loving school. Too many great experiences for all 3 to go into, here! But if you're curious about "mastery-based" learning, I strongly encourage a visit.

Camelot Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are amazing. Super-smart, encouraging, and passionate. They have lots of opportunities for input with the director and it shows. There is a great deal of respect among faculty members.


Camelot Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
Students are encouraged to be individuals, and social acceptance is much higher here that at other schools, particularly during those sticky middle school years.

Camelot Academy 5

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Camelot Academy, as many have said, is an excellent school. We have our kids there. They like it, are challenged academically, have plenty of friends, and like their teachers. What else is there to say?

Camelot Academy 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school. This is an outstanding facility with a leadership and teacher team that is first class. Our two children moved here from another very good private school and our assessment would be that Camelot is a significant step up. Most importantly, the learning environment is designed for kids to succeed and enjoy the experience all at the same time.


Camelot Academy 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
This school made a big difference in our daughter's life. She had been underserved by our local elementary school, which after many months of testing could not seem to decide whether she was "gifted" or "learning disabled". Turns out she was extremely bored with English, science, and social studies, but also needed extra help learning her math facts. The individualized curriculum at Camelot easily allowed for both, with minimal testing and "labeling", and even gave her a merit scholarship based on her high test scores. The teachers are top notch, and we've found the director to be highly responsive to parent concerns and strict but fair and very observant in her assessments. A terrific experience.

Camelot Academy 5

Posted June 12, 2012
- a parent
Camelot has been amazing for our children. They have each been challenged academically and taught to both love learning and to work hard at it. We have had our kids at other private and public schools in the area, but Camelot has become the standard by which we judge everyone else.

Camelot Academy 5

Posted October 20, 2011
- a parent
Education is highly valued in our family and we are willing to spare no expense to ensure that our children have the best education they can possibly get. We tried Duke School, but were very disappointed in the lack of individualized curriculum - our child had almost no academic progress for the year that he went. We tried our public school, but it was barely satisfactory. We were thrilled when we found this hidden gem in the Triangle. Every day our children come home from school happy and enthusiastic. Camelot is amazingly organized. The first (partial) week of school is spent on orientation, followed by a week or so of assessment. The teachers create an individual plan for each subject for each child. I assumed the curriculum would be somewhat templated and a loose fit. However, we discovered at the 2-month conference that teachers knew exactly where each of my children were at in each topic (and subtopic) and were making sure that they were growing and being challenged in each one. Our kindergartner was started started simultaneously on multiplication, 3rd grade reading, and remedial work in telling analog time and drawing. I cannot imagine a better school.


Camelot Academy 5

Posted May 07, 2011
- a parent
We had a GREAT experience at Camelot. Not only did my daughter get an outstanding education that taught her how to think critically and to write well but she was also mentored by the wonderful staff and given invaluable guidance as a person. The lessons that she learned at Camelot are serving her well at a very competitive college and will serve her well in life. We couldn t be happier with our experience at Camelot Academy.

Camelot Academy 1

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
This was a bad experience for our family. The owner/director tends to develop an opinion about each student within the first few weeks, at which point, the child is labeled. If the label is unfavorable, their academic experience will be unhappy, leading to a poor education and a sad child. Director confirmed that we were free to withdraw - but of course, remain responsible for paying a full year tuition. (Honestly, I came to suspect this might have been intended from the start.) Before enrolling our daughter at Camelot Academy, 2 parents (different families) specifically warned that Camelot is a business first and second; being a school trails far behind in last place. We often thought about this throughout the year, regretting our failure to heed warnings - it turned out to be very true. I gradually came to realize that the director's primary focus is to make money. Although she is charming and will insist that she cares about the kids - this simply didn't seem to be the case. Our experience occurred a few years ago. Perhaps the school has improved, but. that the director/owner remains. I'll leave it at that.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Camelot Academy
809 West Proctor Street, Durham, NC  27707
Last modified Camelot Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Camelot Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top