Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Durham, NC

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Camelot Academy 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school. This is an outstanding facility with a leadership and teacher team that is first class. Our two children moved here from another very good private school and our assessment would be that Camelot is a significant step up. Most importantly, the learning environment is designed for kids to succeed and enjoy the experience all at the same time.

Camelot Academy 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
This school made a big difference in our daughter's life. She had been underserved by our local elementary school, which after many months of testing could not seem to decide whether she was "gifted" or "learning disabled". Turns out she was extremely bored with English, science, and social studies, but also needed extra help learning her math facts. The individualized curriculum at Camelot easily allowed for both, with minimal testing and "labeling", and even gave her a merit scholarship based on her high test scores. The teachers are top notch, and we've found the director to be highly responsive to parent concerns and strict but fair and very observant in her assessments. A terrific experience.


Camelot Academy 5

Posted June 12, 2012
- a parent
Camelot has been amazing for our children. They have each been challenged academically and taught to both love learning and to work hard at it. We have had our kids at other private and public schools in the area, but Camelot has become the standard by which we judge everyone else.

Camelot Academy 5

Posted October 20, 2011
- a parent
Education is highly valued in our family and we are willing to spare no expense to ensure that our children have the best education they can possibly get. We tried Duke School, but were very disappointed in the lack of individualized curriculum - our child had almost no academic progress for the year that he went. We tried our public school, but it was barely satisfactory. We were thrilled when we found this hidden gem in the Triangle. Every day our children come home from school happy and enthusiastic. Camelot is amazingly organized. The first (partial) week of school is spent on orientation, followed by a week or so of assessment. The teachers create an individual plan for each subject for each child. I assumed the curriculum would be somewhat templated and a loose fit. However, we discovered at the 2-month conference that teachers knew exactly where each of my children were at in each topic (and subtopic) and were making sure that they were growing and being challenged in each one. Our kindergartner was started started simultaneously on multiplication, 3rd grade reading, and remedial work in telling analog time and drawing. I cannot imagine a better school.

Camelot Academy 5

Posted May 07, 2011
- a parent
We had a GREAT experience at Camelot. Not only did my daughter get an outstanding education that taught her how to think critically and to write well but she was also mentored by the wonderful staff and given invaluable guidance as a person. The lessons that she learned at Camelot are serving her well at a very competitive college and will serve her well in life. We couldn t be happier with our experience at Camelot Academy.


Camelot Academy 1

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
This was a bad experience for our family. The owner/director tends to develop an opinion about each student within the first few weeks, at which point, the child is labeled. If the label is unfavorable, their academic experience will be unhappy, leading to a poor education and a sad child. Director confirmed that we were free to withdraw - but of course, remain responsible for paying a full year tuition. (Honestly, I came to suspect this might have been intended from the start.) Before enrolling our daughter at Camelot Academy, 2 parents (different families) specifically warned that Camelot is a business first and second; being a school trails far behind in last place. We often thought about this throughout the year, regretting our failure to heed warnings - it turned out to be very true. I gradually came to realize that the director's primary focus is to make money. Although she is charming and will insist that she cares about the kids - this simply didn't seem to be the case. Our experience occurred a few years ago. Perhaps the school has improved, but. that the director/owner remains. I'll leave it at that.

Camelot Academy 2

Posted March 30, 2011
- a parent
Our experience was bad. Camelot seems to have a high percentage of quirky children, and although some teachers may be good, it would be difficult to be effective in such a challenging climate. The curriculum taught to our child has not met their academic needs, and the small social cliques have only served to alienate them. After moving to a public school, our child has spent an entire year catching up on skills that were not taught at Camelot. We can not stress how dissatisfied we were with Camelot and their inability to teach grade level skills, including basic reading, writing and math. Lots of days were spent having fun, field trips, etc. but little was spent on academics. Since leaving, our child has made incredible progress academically and now has normal friends.

Camelot Academy 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a student
Camelot is a great school. they have a caring faculty combined with small classes and more individual attention for students as well as mastery based learning


Camelot Academy 1

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Camelot Academy 0
no rating

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
We have not had a good experience with this school overall. Things they do well: letting kids be kids- recess for all grades- some interesting field trips- they try to involve all students in some areas of extra-curricular and teachers are very caring. That said, if you have a normal, well adjusted child this is not the school for you. They motivate by threats and have a 'one policy fits all students' philosophy- which of course works well for the unruly undisciplined child but has only served to lower the self- esteem of our child. Also this school touts a low tuition but really makes up for it in semester fees, field trip fees, extra costs here and there and before you know it it is quite an expensive education and it's hard to say exactly where your money is going.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Camelot Academy
809 West Proctor Street, Durham, NC  27707
Last modified Camelot Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Camelot Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top