Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Community School

Private | PK-8 | 250 students

Our authentic Montessori education, excellent teachers, and involved families.

 
 

Living in Durham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

This is a great school and we are so happy to have found it. The public schools in Chapel Hill have a decent reputation, but I wanted more for my kids. We definitely got what we were looking for! My child is in the upper elementary program now and started in the toddler program. My child is engaged and is enthusiastic about learning inside and outside the classroom. What is nice is that other parents from different schools notice that MCS kids stand out - they ask thoughtful, intelligent questions, they are independent, resourceful, kind, polite, and are natural leaders in group situations. It's a wonderful community of engaged parents and faculty. There are many social events to get to know other parents and children. My child has made some great friends that will last a lifetime. The campus is huge - the view from the street is not the entire school! I would encourage you to take a tour and learn more about all there is here. There is a new Science Lab, an Art Room with a Clay Studio, a Music classroom, sport field, sand volleyball, and many play ground areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

I have two sons currently in their second year at Montessori Community School-- one in the Adolescent Community and one in Upper Elementary. We chose this school after becoming unhappy with the limitations of nearby Cary, NC (Wake County) public schools, which seemed to be focusing more and more on test scores and less and less on fostering an environment where children would be consistently treated with respect and kindness. I'm sure budget cuts related to the economic downturn played a large part (high test scores = more funding), but my kids were really beginning to struggle in a system that stifled their individuality. Enrolling in MCS has been hands down the absolute right thing for our family. I can't say enough about what a wonderful community it is! Teachers are interesting, dynamic, enthusiastic, and sincere. The Head of School is fantastic-- intelligent, dedicated, caring, engaged, and clearly excited about and proud of her school. And my kids are thrilled to be having more choices and taking a more active part in their own learning and development. I'd give this school more than 5 stars if I could! Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

Read this review with the knowledge 1) I am an Asian and we want our kids to do excellent in academics. 2) This is critique of Montessori System in general Montessori system was developed in east Europe 100 years ago where most people would learn a vocation by the age of 15 or so - and do that for life. Now, we all study up to age 21 or so without much specialization, and then decide on specialization. What worked 100 years back may not work today. The specific criticism is that: 1) Most kids is public school can read by KG, not in MCS. The reason being - let the kid choose what he wants to do. If your kid is lazy, he won't learn to read - irrespective of how bright he is. 2) MCS kids come from highly educated families - as it is a private school. However, the performance of kids in standardized tests is just average till grade 3. Again blame it on Montessorie - kids are not forced to learn hence they don't learn. 3) The staff and teachers at MCS are pleasant - and your kid would like it here because they get 2 hours of play plus 30 min lunch each day. I don't know of any case of bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2009

This is an excellent school from toddler age - middle school. Wonderful and caring teachers and staff, bright and beautiful learning space and lots of outdoor learning environments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2004

Montessorri Community school provides the academic and social enrichment needed for our children to grow in the best way possible. Though small in size, we find it the 'perfect fit' for our two sons. We are entering our third year as a family of the Montessorri Community school and wonder in awe with each passing year...'could there be a better place'? The Elementary School program is superb. The teachers actually care about the sucess of each child. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2003

My daughter attends Montessori Community School and loves it. What I like best about it is the feeling of community, like every parent there is a friend and is involved in making the school a better place. Barabra Crockett is to be commended for her hands-on leadership and vision for the school. The school is planning a major expansion and I am looking forward to having my youngest daughter attend next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 53%
Asian 17% N/A
Black 4% 32%
Hispanic 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Jazz

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Cathy Constantine
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (919) 493-8165

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Dance club: Jazz
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Individually-paced instruction and hands-on learning for students ages 18 months - 8th grade. Strong math and science curriculum. Vibrant and varied fine arts programs. Sports and after-school activities. Extended care options.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Charles E. Jordan High School
East Chapel Hill High School
Carrboro High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4512 Pope Rd
Durham, NC 27707
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 493-8541

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Montessori Day School
Chapel Hill, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT