Advertisement

Immaculata Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 377 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Durham

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

Thanks to Immaculata's core values, my five-year-old tells me what it means to be a person of integrity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

I have a second grader at Immaculata. I have been completely pleased with this school. The faculty and staff seem to genuinely care about the students which makes for an inviting and warm school climate. The curriculum is challenging yet age appropriate and the program is faith based!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

Immaculata has been a wonderful school for my son. The administrative staff and teachers are very professional and seem to care about students. I also appreciate the fact that the school has a small population - which allows students to be known to all. best of all - the students are not only getting a quality education - they are learning to be spiritual and serve others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

Immaculata is a wonderful school! I've watched both my children grow academically and have rejoiced in their abilities to confidently express themselves, respectfully, in areas that we often discuss such as morality, politics, history, religion, ethical issues, math, science, etc. I owe it to the excellent leadership at Immaculata and the progressive teaching styles of the various teachers at the school. At Immaculata the children are taught that they are not only part of a community, but part of a world to which they are responsible for making a contribution. So not only are the students academically rich, but they are taught that enhancing one's community (local/global) is important. I have nothing but great things to say about a great school. My children have been truly blessed to have had an 'Immanulata' experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

We have three children at Immaculata and have been a part of the community since 1998 when our eldest entered PreK. We love Immaculata for its dedication to developing all aspects of a child. The academics are strong and the arts (music and fine arts) have remarkable faculty who bring creativity not only to their classrooms but to the entire school through exhibits, choir, and open houses. We have had wonderful, caring teachers who stress cooperation and charity along with doing your best. Our principal is a gift to ICS. She is tireless and caring and an amazing adminstrator. We also love the high level of parent involvement in the school. It is truly a family atmosphere. We really feel blessed to be a part of Immaculata.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

We've been at the school for nince years, and it is like a second family. My children are very happy socially and are academically challenged. The principal is wonderful, and the middle school has become very strong. The environment is nurturing and has high moral standards for the children at all times. Every negative situation I've known of has been handled sensitively and effectively. The diversity in the school is great. The school is now accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

My daughter has been at Immaculata for 2 years and we are removing her from the school. I think the academics are fine, however, I have not been impressed with the teachers and their communication with the parents. My daughter has been bullied at school. She has come home with injuries that broke through her skin and they were intentionally caused by other children (she was stabbed in the hand with a pencil and another child dug her nails into my daughters arm so bad that her nails broke through the skin causing bleeding). We were never notified by the school about either incident (which should be standard when broken skin injuries are involved) and when my daughter tried to tell the teacher in charge about the nail incident, the teacher told her she didn't want to hear it. This is even with a no violence policy in effect (not enforced).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Wonderful Principal! Caring teachers with many male role models for boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 53%
Black 14% 32%
Asian 11% N/A
Hispanic 9% 11%
Two or more races 6% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Karen Swanson, Interim Principal
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (919) 956-7073

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Raleigh
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Riverside High School
Jordan High School
Cardinal Gibbons High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

721 Burch Avenue
Durham, NC 27701
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 682-5847

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The B E Academy
Durham, NC



Camelot Academy
Durham, NC


Camelot Academy
Durham, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT