Advertisement

Gorman Christian Academy & Early Learning Center

Private | PK-8 | 225 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Durham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2013

Gorman is home to my family! My children have been going to Gorman since they were 4 and 2 years old. They are now 14 and 12. They have had excellent teachers while at Gorman. The staff truly love the kids and have done an exceptional job preparing them for life after GCA. Gorman is led by an exceptional principal, Mrs. Terry Chambers. They have competitive sports that begin as young as 3rd grade, a high-quality drama team that puts on 2 productions a year and they participate in a variety of extra events (spelling bee, math olympics, etc.). They even have a summer camp for 8 weeks each summer. You should go and check Gorman out if you are looking for affordable, Quality Christian education in the Durham, Creedmoor or Butner area. You will FEEL the difference as soon as you step in the doors and meet the people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

I cannot say enough about the extrordinary leadership displayed by Mrs. Chambers (Principle). Her passion for creating a Christian environment for children is amazing. The teachers teach...and the kids soak it up. Their expectation for excellence goes beyond the academics and spills into the conduct and respect for adults. It is refreshing to have a place where my children can grow not only in their education but their love for Jesus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

My son was at Gorman from age 3 until he finished middle school. The current staff and administration are excellent. I do not possess enough superlatives in my vocabulary to describe the principal, Ms. Chambers. My son thrived in the environment provided. My wife and I only wish that they had a High School. The band program is a plus, as are the Middle School Spring Field Trips.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

Gorman has very caring teachers and administration. This is our son's second year and he will be attending next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

This is the the best Christian Schools in Durham county. My son and daughter both attend. If you want your children to get a Fantastic education with a Christian back then you will want your children to go to this school. The Principal, office and teaching staff are so loving. The tution is reasonable. They have band, and sports programs, before and after school programs also. I would never take my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

Teacher/Student ratio is awesome. You can really tell that the administration has a commitment to education. The prinicpal is outstanding. Our daughter is well approx. 1 grade ahead of other students because of the mentoring and coaching that her teacher gave. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 53%
Black 16% 32%
Asian 2% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Hispanic 0% 11%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (919) 688-6948

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3311 E Geer St
Durham, NC 27704
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 688-2567

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Glenn Elementary
Durham, NC





Lakeview School
Durham, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT