Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
100 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gorman Christian Academy 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
We have had a positive experience at this school. He has been challenged academically & spiritually. It is a great comfort to know when you drop you child off to school that you do not have to worry about their safety or well-being in their care. That is not a feeling you get by going to a public school. The staff is nurturing & loving. Our child is flourishing here & will have an education that last him a lifetime.

Gorman Christian Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
We transferred from another local private christian school and I must say it has been great! My daughter is in elementary school there and she loves it. It has many of the same features that public schools have such as a library, art classes, full computer lab with smart boards, full gym, music class and secure key code entrances. They just performed their annual Christmas play and it was a hit. I can't wait for the spring performance! All of the items mentioned (and even more) are wonderful. But what really makes it great is my daughter's teacher, the principal and simply how all of the staff I have encountered have a genuine interest in the education and well being of my child.


Gorman Christian Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Mrs. Chambers for being a great example for all the children. Thank you teachers for serving as educators for our children, we very much appreciate it.

Gorman Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Gorman teaches the kids about The Bible and our Lord and savior Jesus Christ. Teachings based on God's ideas for his creation fully represents the best example honesty, integrity and fairness.

Gorman Christian Academy 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
What a wonderful school! I couldn't ask for a more quality education and experience than what is offered at Gorman. The most important part is that they teach Christian values, and they teach The Bible. In a smaller setting than public schools, the kids really have an opportunity to be taught without distraction. Thats what we want for our children, right? When school is in, the kids spend just as much time at school than they do awake at home so it's nice that Gorman is like an extension of our home. The kids are in uniform which I particularly appreciate. They also have a nice atheletics program for the middle school students. Right off the highway I find it very convenient as well. GCA is a great investment for your children.


Gorman Christian Academy 5

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
Gorman is home to my family! My children have been going to Gorman since they were 4 and 2 years old. They are now 14 and 12. They have had excellent teachers while at Gorman. The staff truly love the kids and have done an exceptional job preparing them for life after GCA. Gorman is led by an exceptional principal, Mrs. Terry Chambers. They have competitive sports that begin as young as 3rd grade, a high-quality drama team that puts on 2 productions a year and they participate in a variety of extra events (spelling bee, math olympics, etc.). They even have a summer camp for 8 weeks each summer. You should go and check Gorman out if you are looking for affordable, Quality Christian education in the Durham, Creedmoor or Butner area. You will FEEL the difference as soon as you step in the doors and meet the people.

Gorman Christian Academy 5

Posted June 28, 2010
- a parent
I cannot say enough about the extrordinary leadership displayed by Mrs. Chambers (Principle). Her passion for creating a Christian environment for children is amazing. The teachers teach...and the kids soak it up. Their expectation for excellence goes beyond the academics and spills into the conduct and respect for adults. It is refreshing to have a place where my children can grow not only in their education but their love for Jesus.

Gorman Christian Academy 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
My son was at Gorman from age 3 until he finished middle school. The current staff and administration are excellent. I do not possess enough superlatives in my vocabulary to describe the principal, Ms. Chambers. My son thrived in the environment provided. My wife and I only wish that they had a High School. The band program is a plus, as are the Middle School Spring Field Trips.


Gorman Christian Academy 5

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
Gorman has very caring teachers and administration. This is our son's second year and he will be attending next year.

Gorman Christian Academy
no rating

Posted September 17, 2008
- a parent
This is the the best Christian Schools in Durham county. My son and daughter both attend. If you want your children to get a Fantastic education with a Christian back then you will want your children to go to this school. The Principal, office and teaching staff are so loving. The tution is reasonable. They have band, and sports programs, before and after school programs also. I would never take my children anywhere else.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gorman Christian Academy
3311 East Geer Street, Durham, NC  27704
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (919) 688-2567
Last modified Gorman Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top