Advertisement

Triangle Day School

Private | K-8 | 190 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Durham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $181,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

Triangle Day School is uplifting, caring, kind, nurturing, inclusive and positive. And in this safe and supportive culture a lot of learning happens. We came to Triangle Day School from homeschooling, and my expectations for academically challenging work are high. Class differentiation in middle school provides the pacing and subject matter difficulty that keep my children engaged. The project work helps further develop understanding and introduces variety. I am grateful to the clever and energetic teachers who are the backbone to this great program. TDS sports have been another super experience for my kids. The school (5th-8th) fields teams all year round and my kids have loved learning sports new to them and sharing what they know about their favorites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

This is our child's second year at TDS and we couldn't be more pleased. Small class size means every child gets extra attention. Our son's teacher seems to individualize work for to the correct level for each student in the class (didn't know that kind of individualization of lessons was even possible.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2012

We are so happy at TDS. This is my daughters 6th year there. The teachers are very professional, the administration is is helpful, and the families are great. I highly recommend TDS to anyone looking for a rigorous education in a warm and loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2012

2 3 4 5 The school is not the same school we enrolled in. Some of the teachers have a problem bullying the students and not realizing how much it hurts their self esteem. The leadership is lacking but they are in the process of searching for a new head of school Many families have voiced complaints and hopefully new leadership will help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

I have 4 children at TDS and my wife and I couldn't be more pleased with the quality of education, the school's leadership, and the availability of the teachers. This has truly been the best decision we could have ever made for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

Before we decided on TDS we toured several schools without regard to price. When we walked in the school we felt at home. The faculty were very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The kids we interacted with were friendly and confident. We knew that TDS was the school for our kid and in the two years she has been attending she has thrived. The past two summers she has attended camps at another larger independent school and she, on her own, asked the teacher for more difficult homework! TDS addresses the whole child through academics and character building. If you have not toured the school do yourself and your children a favor and do it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

My children are very happy at TDS. We feel like the staff listen to our input and makes every attempt to address any concerns or needs we may have. I love the small class sizes and the ability to feel you can make a difference in this setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

My 3 children (1 now in HS) have been enrolled in this school for many years. I have seen a lot of growth over this time. The facilities have grown as has the Curriculum. Dedicated teachers and staff work to foster a community feeling and to teach the individual child. Every child has their own set of strengths and challenges; our teachers work hard to provide for the needs of each child. Lower Schools classes 'buddy' with other LS classes. Middle School kids participate in "Crossroads" to partner with Lower School kids. We have a very high participation rate in our MS sports. There is a before school walking program for kids to add some extra movement to their day. Our PA sponsors Wellness Seminars for parents on topics like Internet Security and Healthy Body Image. Our after school program includes enrichment instructors. There are so many opportunities available to be involved at Triangle Day School. Many new parents share statements like 'My child has blossomed here! I wish we had started here earlier!" As a parent, you just need to say 'Yes!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

There are some enrollment issues at TDS but that has nothing to do with the awesome teachers and great environment the school has. I hope this school holds strong through the tough times in the last few years. It truly is a magical place to work with students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 17, 2010

This is a wonderful school community with teachers, students, and parents who are invested in its success. Students work to build understanding, not just accumulate facts. Teachers are encouraged to combine traditional and more progressive approaches to meet the needs of the students. As a teacher, I feel that the administration respects my point of view and listens to my ideas. With the new leadership, enrollment is growing, and the school is headed in a very positive direction.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 14, 2010

This school does have a nice faculty and staff - no one can argue with that. Classes here are TOO small with lots of enrollment troubles -- can be difficult for kids to find social circle (for example, some classes may have only 4 girls, etc). A lot of people wonder if this school will survive much longer. It seems to be on very shakey ground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

The teachers here are fantastic and caring. They are supportive and have taught the children far more than just the academics. I appreciate the professionalism and the training of the teachers and staff, too. What a great school in too many ways to mention here.


Posted May 11, 2010

There are so many things I like about TDS...but I think what stands out the most is the sense of community. Everyone seems to care about each other and is willing to help out even when not necessary. I am totally satisfied with the quality of education that takes place here. Wouldn't go anywhere else!


Posted May 11, 2010

I loved working here and was sad to go. The school has so many things right - they are professional but personal - they have high standards but make them attainable for the students through one on one support and quality group teaching - they welcome fresh and new teaching ideas but don't lose the quality of time tested strategies. An overall well balanced school that educates the mental, physical, and emotional aspects of each child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 3, 2009

One of the best schools to work in ever! I was a teacher at TDS for four years and could not have been happier. Every experiences has been compared to the one at TDS. My colleagues were caring individuals who poured their hearts into their classrooms. We worked together as a team to create an environment that was loving and educational for each student. The parents are supportive of their children and the faculty. I am deeply sadden though that the current head does not value the opinions or knowledge of the faculty. He seems to make decisions about the school without knowing what the history of this special place is about. He is also driving out the best teachers he could find because they want respect from him. Hopefully this will change and TDS will once again be the special place it has been for the entire
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2007

This is our 6th year at Triangle Day School. We currently have two children there in the lower school. One of my favorite things about the school is the family feeling you get when you are there. The older kids know the younger kids and the faculty knows each child by name. The school is challenging yet help is there if you need it. My children have thrived there. The school really helps children become self confident in all areas of their lives. The parental involvement is huge and contributes to that family feeling. We have had great years there and look forward to being in the middle school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

We have two children at Triangle Day School, (TDS) one in 3rd grade and one in 8th, so we have experience with both Upper and Lower Schools. We could not be happier with their entire educational experience. It is a small school and every child is known by name to all faculty and staff members. My oldest child attended public school prior to our enrolling her in TDS and had done well. However, at TDS she blossemed. She is involved in sports, drama, etc. She has never been happier. Both childen are challenged and nutured, a difficult balance to achieve, but TDS does it. Sending two children to private school is a stretch for us financially. Having two children who love going to school is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

TDS offers a full and rich curriculum characterized by challenging academics, meaningful learning opportunities in specials (Spanish, Art, PE, Drama, Science Lab, and Technology) and an emphasis on the development of problem solving skills. Administration, faculty, and staff are genuinely interested in getting to know students and families. The school emphasizes respect for self and others. TDS offers an interesting and diverse selection of after-school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2006

Our son has had a great experience during his five years at TDS. They have done a great job balancing the needs of the individual student with the needs of the classroom. The school is strong academically with great teachers and there is a lot of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2006

Our Favorite Triangle Day School Things: The buddy program with the older kids mentoring the younger ones, hot home made school lunches, 3 days of active gym per week, weekly Spanish from grade K, a specialized science teacher as well as a 'technology' teacher (aka... computers!). Specialized art and drama art. All in dedicated class rooms! We have been at Triangle Day School for 3 years. Notice I say 'we'. Actually our daughter is the student but I say 'we' because this is truely a family environment and a community. This school is without a doubt a hidden secret and the best balance of excellent scholastics and a warm loving enviroment. I can honestly say that my child absolutely loves school and learning. She loves her teachers and her class mates. She is nurtured and hugged as well as taught decipline and respect. Pros: Student Centered, Energetic Motivated Teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 53%
Asian 5% N/A
Black 5% 32%
Hispanic 4% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Mark Borkowski
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4911 Neal Rd
Durham, NC 27705
Phone: (919) 383-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Duke School
Durham, NC


Duke School
Durham, NC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT