Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Durham, NC
Students enrolled: 196
 

5 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

35 reviews of this school


Triangle Day School 5

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
TDS has been the perfect place for our daughter's Kindergarten year. We love the small school atmosphere and focus on character education. The teacher-student ration ensures that my daughter receives the attention she needs and allows the teachers to individualize her education, especially in reading and math. We LOVE that the Head of School greets each child in the morning by name and shakes their hand. Seemingly little things like this demonstrate how they prioritize interpersonal relations in the school and value each individual child. I also love that they offer more physical movement opportunities for the children (PE 2x/wk and 2 recess/free time activities per day), which has been shown to improve student performance. While there are some limitations because of the size of the school, there are also great benefits!

Triangle Day School 5

Posted May 10, 2015
- a parent
We have been so pleased with the education and care that our children are getting at Triangle Day School. The teachers spend lots of time with each child and the work each child gets is individualized to what they need to be challenged and to thrive. All the teachers and administrative staff are warm and nurturing, and know each child by name. Really a great place for our children to be.


Triangle Day School 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
This is our daughter s first year and we have been so happy at TDS. The teachers are very professional and committed to each child, the administration is very helpful and knows all the kids by name, and the families are great with lots of parent involvement. TDS was definitely a hidden gem for us when we moved to Durham last June. I highly recommend TDS to anyone looking for an excellent education in a warm and loving environment.

Triangle Day School 5

Posted September 18, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at TDS for a long time and graduated a year ago, and now, more than ever, I appreciate how much it prepared me for high school. I am soaring through honors and AP classes. I was worried about how I would do in a public high school ( Jordan) after being in a private one for so long. But, I am doing great and only a month in it already seems like home. At TDS there was always a great atmosphere and the teachers genuinely care about you. TDS showed me how to interact with teachers and get them to like you. It showed me what the expectations are and how to behave. It taught me that to be respected you first need to show respect. TDS the best ways to learn and how to do your very best. However, most importantly Triangle Day School taught me to be myself and to be proud of who I am. The teachers, administrators, and students are all so warm and uplifting that it gives you the courage to always give it your all. I love TDS and am so glad I went there. Thank you.

Triangle Day School 5

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
TDS has been a very good experience for us since we arrived 3 years ago. The teachers are committed and nurturing. The faculty and staff know every child in the school and the kids all know each other too (from lower school to middle school), which makes it a very comfortable and welcoming environment. The new head (started this year) is fantastic, which has greatly improved communication among the school community and has strengthen the administration. Enrollment seems stable and maybe growing (?)...there were so many applicants for kindergarten this year that there may be two sections starting in the fall. If things continue as they are now, we will be here for the long haul.


Triangle Day School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
Triangle Day School is uplifting, caring, kind, nurturing, inclusive and positive. And in this safe and supportive culture a lot of learning happens. We came to Triangle Day School from homeschooling, and my expectations for academically challenging work are high. Class differentiation in middle school provides the pacing and subject matter difficulty that keep my children engaged. The project work helps further develop understanding and introduces variety. I am grateful to the clever and energetic teachers who are the backbone to this great program. TDS sports have been another super experience for my kids. The school (5th-8th) fields teams all year round and my kids have loved learning sports new to them and sharing what they know about their favorites.

Triangle Day School 5

Posted November 30, 2012
- a parent
This is our child's second year at TDS and we couldn't be more pleased. Small class size means every child gets extra attention. Our son's teacher seems to individualize work for to the correct level for each student in the class (didn't know that kind of individualization of lessons was even possible.)

Triangle Day School 5

Posted July 07, 2012
- a parent
We are so happy at TDS. This is my daughters 6th year there. The teachers are very professional, the administration is is helpful, and the families are great. I highly recommend TDS to anyone looking for a rigorous education in a warm and loving environment.


Triangle Day School 1

Posted June 24, 2012
- a parent
2 3 4 5 The school is not the same school we enrolled in. Some of the teachers have a problem bullying the students and not realizing how much it hurts their self esteem. The leadership is lacking but they are in the process of searching for a new head of school Many families have voiced complaints and hopefully new leadership will help.

Triangle Day School 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
I have 4 children at TDS and my wife and I couldn't be more pleased with the quality of education, the school's leadership, and the availability of the teachers. This has truly been the best decision we could have ever made for our children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Triangle Day School
4911 Neal Road, Durham, NC  27705
Last modified Triangle Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Triangle Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top