Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
196 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Triangle Day School 5

Posted December 12, 2015
- a parent
I couldn't be more pleased with TDS! It is a nurturing "community" full of gifted educators who have a true desire to teach and a student body small enough to interact in a meaningful way. My son has flourished at TDS - he feels loved and valued there. What more could I ask for as a parent.

Triangle Day School 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a community member
I like the size of the facility and the small student body (around 200). There is a nurturing feeling to the school.


Triangle Day School 5

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
TDS has been the perfect place for our daughter's Kindergarten year. We love the small school atmosphere and focus on character education. The teacher-student ration ensures that my daughter receives the attention she needs and allows the teachers to individualize her education, especially in reading and math. We LOVE that the Head of School greets each child in the morning by name and shakes their hand. Seemingly little things like this demonstrate how they prioritize interpersonal relations in the school and value each individual child. I also love that they offer more physical movement opportunities for the children (PE 2x/wk and 2 recess/free time activities per day), which has been shown to improve student performance. While there are some limitations because of the size of the school, there are also great benefits!

Triangle Day School 5

Posted May 10, 2015
- a parent
We have been so pleased with the education and care that our children are getting at Triangle Day School. The teachers spend lots of time with each child and the work each child gets is individualized to what they need to be challenged and to thrive. All the teachers and administrative staff are warm and nurturing, and know each child by name. Really a great place for our children to be.

Triangle Day School 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
This is our daughter s first year and we have been so happy at TDS. The teachers are very professional and committed to each child, the administration is very helpful and knows all the kids by name, and the families are great with lots of parent involvement. TDS was definitely a hidden gem for us when we moved to Durham last June. I highly recommend TDS to anyone looking for an excellent education in a warm and loving environment.


Triangle Day School 5

Posted September 18, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at TDS for a long time and graduated a year ago, and now, more than ever, I appreciate how much it prepared me for high school. I am soaring through honors and AP classes. I was worried about how I would do in a public high school ( Jordan) after being in a private one for so long. But, I am doing great and only a month in it already seems like home. At TDS there was always a great atmosphere and the teachers genuinely care about you. TDS showed me how to interact with teachers and get them to like you. It showed me what the expectations are and how to behave. It taught me that to be respected you first need to show respect. TDS the best ways to learn and how to do your very best. However, most importantly Triangle Day School taught me to be myself and to be proud of who I am. The teachers, administrators, and students are all so warm and uplifting that it gives you the courage to always give it your all. I love TDS and am so glad I went there. Thank you.

Triangle Day School 5

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
TDS has been a very good experience for us since we arrived 3 years ago. The teachers are committed and nurturing. The faculty and staff know every child in the school and the kids all know each other too (from lower school to middle school), which makes it a very comfortable and welcoming environment. The new head (started this year) is fantastic, which has greatly improved communication among the school community and has strengthen the administration. Enrollment seems stable and maybe growing (?)...there were so many applicants for kindergarten this year that there may be two sections starting in the fall. If things continue as they are now, we will be here for the long haul.

Triangle Day School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
Triangle Day School is uplifting, caring, kind, nurturing, inclusive and positive. And in this safe and supportive culture a lot of learning happens. We came to Triangle Day School from homeschooling, and my expectations for academically challenging work are high. Class differentiation in middle school provides the pacing and subject matter difficulty that keep my children engaged. The project work helps further develop understanding and introduces variety. I am grateful to the clever and energetic teachers who are the backbone to this great program. TDS sports have been another super experience for my kids. The school (5th-8th) fields teams all year round and my kids have loved learning sports new to them and sharing what they know about their favorites.


Triangle Day School 5

Posted November 30, 2012
- a parent
This is our child's second year at TDS and we couldn't be more pleased. Small class size means every child gets extra attention. Our son's teacher seems to individualize work for to the correct level for each student in the class (didn't know that kind of individualization of lessons was even possible.)

Triangle Day School 5

Posted July 07, 2012
- a parent
We are so happy at TDS. This is my daughters 6th year there. The teachers are very professional, the administration is is helpful, and the families are great. I highly recommend TDS to anyone looking for a rigorous education in a warm and loving environment.

Nearby schools

Triangle Day School
4911 Neal Road, Durham, NC  27705
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 44 reviews.
Last modified Triangle Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top