Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lerner School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 19, 2015
- a parent
The school changed terms of contract after signing. School is very resistant to following its own policies, playing favorites and giving people special treatment.

Lerner School 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a community member
A wonderful school with terrific teachers, administration, and staff. Awesome education and character building that prepares each child at their own level to leave with a strong Jewish identity and appreciation for doing good in the wider world. Couldn't be happier.


Lerner School 5

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
My son is in the middle of his third and final year in the Lerner preschool, and we plan to enroll him in kindergarten at Lerner next year. We have been so impressed and delighted with his experience. The staff are creative and nurturing, the curriculum engages and pushes the kids to love learning, and the ethos of the school is one of community, warmth and caring. The facility is also lovely, and we love that he gets to learn in dedicated classrooms for general learning, art, and music, and play at the JCC's amazing gym.

Lerner School 5

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
Both of our kids have been attending Lerner for the past few years, and we have been delighted with our experience. There is a strong sense of community at the school, and the teachers really get to know each kid. Our parent-teacher conferences are amazing: the teachers know so much about our children, how they learn, what their challenges are, and they are extremely supportive of them.

Lerner School 5

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
This is the first year that my daughter, a second-grader, enrolled at Lerner and we are simply delighted with every aspect of her experience. Her education is superb -- her main teacher is kind, rigorous, warm and bright. The children in her grade have been wonderful. Zero bullying, exclusion or snobbery. She's taking remedial Hebrew and the school provides daily private lessons for her so she can catch up -- at no extra charge to us. My daughter is actually happy to go to school each day. It's an intimate school and I suppose if you end up with a main instructor you don't like, that can be a problem. But so far, the teachers I've been exposed to are really all winners. The only area I can't rave about is the art program. I haven't seen any great artwork come home yet.


Lerner School 5

Posted October 25, 2014
- a parent
The Lerner School is an excellent school with an amazing teaching staff, beautiful facilities, and a strong commitment to high academic standards. I have a preschooler and 2nd grader enrolled at Lerner, and I feel so good dropping them off in the morning. When I pull into the school they literally jump out of the car and can't wait to start their days. I love seeing all of the engaging activities that are set up and ready to go as soon as my preschooler walks into his classroom. He is so excited to play and learn. And I am constantly amazed how my second grader is not only learning so much academically but also learning to be a good world citizen- understanding the responsibility each of us has to be compassionate, tolerant and make the world a better place. I can't say enough good things about Lerner!

Lerner School 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
I am thrilled with the education my children are receiving at Lerner. Not only are the academics amazing (my children's writing, reading and math skills are well above grade level), but the Jewish flavor of the school is incredible. The students are so comfortable in their Jewish skin, because they live Jewishly everyday at school, with Judaics and t'fillah, and daily Hebrew classes. Jewish values are woven into the secular curriculum, creating a deeper, more meaningful understanding of our faith. Sending our children to Lerner is an investment in our children's future, both academically and spiritually. I can't say enough wonderful things about Lerner!

Lerner School 5

Posted November 27, 2012
- a parent
Perfect school for my 3 year old daughter who is very outgoing,curious and creative and courageous at same time. She loves all the arts & Crafts they do at school and enjoy evey time they got out to play in sand. Great teachers, great staff, very warm, friendly.


Lerner School 5

Posted December 02, 2011
- a parent
I cannot say enough about how amazing Lerner is as an educational resource for my children. The integrated curriculum means often times my children are having real lessons that I see them apply at home but they think they are having fun. The excitement I hear in my children's voices about what they are learning and their desire to show it off would be enough for me even if I didn't know about the integration and the high level of academic excellence that abounds. Not only is Lerner amazing because of the education in and of itself, but in addition you become a part of an amazing community. There is parent, teacher and student involvement at every level. I never feel "out of the loop". I am amazed and impressed with the friendships my children are making and, added bonus, me too! To be able to have Lerner as a resource in our lives is a blessing beyond words and yet I would go on and on.....

Lerner School 5

Posted May 11, 2007
- a parent
Outstanding curriculum, wonderful teachers, family feeling all round!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lerner School
1935 West Cornwallis Road, Durham, NC  27705
(919) 286-5517
Last modified Lerner School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Lerner School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top