Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hope Valley Elementary

Public | K-5 | 654 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 6, 2013

My child is a rising 2nd grader at HVE and he loves his school. I am amazed by how much he has learned so far. Even though the student population is large, my child is not just a number. Many of the teachers and administrators know him by name. Teachers and administrators are very caring and communicate well. The truly diverse population at HVE creates a very positive environment that serves my child well in the classroom and beyond .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2012

I have to say that my daughter had been at this school since Kindergarten and I was lucky that in 1st grade her experience got so much better at this school. This past school year there was a change in administration and the principal and I was just highly unsatisfied with the problems at this school. I felt that bullying was not being addressed and instead of my daughter being able to openly speak to her teacher she was called out by her for doing it and I got numerous calls home. Let me just say that my child is very well behaved and has never had problems at school and she is an AIG student. I was just not happy with her 3rd grade experience. Thank goodness we moved and my child will start the 4th grade elsewhere. There are wonderful and dedicated teachers at this school do not get me wrong but the new principal is personally a huge negative impact on this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

This school educates a very diverse group of children (culturally, linguistically, academically, and economically). Despite its very large population, it's also a school of one. Each student receives the attention and customization that will best suit that child. We've been very happy with this philosophy and have seen our daughter excel as a result.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

I am a parent of a set of twins that attended Hope Valley. I have a review of my experince posted. I am very proud to say that my twins went on to attend Githens Middle School and were both AVID students. They are now both enrolled in Jospine Dobbs Early College HIgh School at NCCU and are doing very well. After this school year they will be in the 11th grade. Hope Valley was there foundation and did make them the Eagles that they are today. NCCU also hold on to Eagle Pride. I could not be more proud of my twins than am today. With great schools such as Hope Valley and being a parent that was very much involved in my twins education. I can see all of my hard work and staying on top of my twins education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

My little sister and I both went to Hope Valley K-5 and we completely loved it! The teachers were fantastic and really cared about what happened to us. We were never allowed to slack off or give up in class, because the teachers were determined to have every student get a good education. I'll admit, the teachers could have done a better job with keeping bullies in line, but as long as kids don't go looking for trouble, none will come to them. Dr. Jirtle is fantastic, nice, upbeat, and really seems to care about her school. Plus, all the fundrasiers and events they did there made extracurricular activites much more fun! Go Eagles!! :)


Posted February 23, 2010

I am a parent of a 1st grader. My daughter went to Pearsontown and was stressed out. My daughter is so happy now and loves school. She loves her teacher Ms Royal & Mr. Moore. The principle provides great leadership, and is so kind and approachable. The teachers are excellent and show a passion for teaching, as I saw our 1st PTA meeting this year. The scores are low, and my daughter is AIG & a high % of students are AIG, so I am confused that the AIG kids do not seem to impact the overall scores. The scores aside, my daughter is getting a good education, and finds school very enjoyable. The school is beautiful and clean, the class rooms bright and organized, and the admin team is very organized. I am happy we decided to change to HVE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

What a fantastic 5 years, grades 1 -5. We could not be happier with the school, staff and the life long memories my daughter will have. This school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

The academic program at Hope Valley is very good, although crowding is becoming a problem as more housing goes up the the RTP area, but schools are not being built...there is a lot of parent involvement. Our children are entering middle school above grade level and in advanced classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

Hope Valley is an excellent school. It is very clean, bright and pretty. The teachers try very hard and do an excellent job. I think Dr. Jirtle, the new principal is doing a great job. All the kids seem happy. They make a real effort with non-English speaking students and their parents and I've noticed no differentiation between black and white students or their families. Their motto is 'At Hope Valley We Value All Students.' They really do. The only complaint I have is in regards to spelling. I think spelling is important and I think it needs to be emphasized more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

I had a great time at HVES, the teachers were great with me and the learning experience was very remarkabable. My parents were very impressed with the learning I achieved, and one teacher I had Mrs. Wright was extraordinary.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students31%
Female28%
Male35%
Black9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students35%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Academically gifted70%

Reading

All Students39%
Female45%
Male34%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students43%
Limited English proficiency11%
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Academically gifted78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students38%
Female25%
Male54%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students42%
Limited English proficiency17%
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Academically gifted82%

Reading

All Students33%
Female19%
Male49%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students36%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Academically gifted76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Female43%
Male43%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities21%
Non-disabled students47%
Limited English proficiency18%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Academically gifted84%

Reading

All Students41%
Female48%
Male35%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities16%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically gifted86%

Science

All Students47%
Female54%
Male41%
Black32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities26%
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 34% 14%
Black 32% 26%
White 27% 52%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Micah Copeland
Fax number
  • (919) 560-2616

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3005 Dixon Road
Durham, NC 27707
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 560-3980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Lerner School
Durham, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT