Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Central Park School For Child 1

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
I am stunned that the last 2 reviews of CPSC, which mentioned key concerns at the school, have been taken down from this site. So much for accountability for CPSC or the Great Schools site. Or for freedom of speech!!! What looks great on paper or for new parents, will soon become more concerning the longer you attend the school. High and sudden turnover for associate directors who were well-loved and supported by parents and teachers should be significant cause for concern.

Central Park School For Child
Grateful to: School leader

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
Tiffany Grant was amazing!!!! Wish she was still there. She was loved by students, parents, and staff and was the voice of diversity as she spoke up on the behalf of parents and students with varied backgrounds, beliefs, experiences, and views.


Central Park School For Child
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 13, 2016
- a parent
There is almost no homework aside from a half hour of reading a night. Some teachers will assign homework that is optional which is a good move away from the school platform but overall, the aversion to worksheets and repetition is detrimental to academic growth.

Central Park School For Child
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 13, 2016
- a parent
The school simply isn't rigorous enough to teach this kind of thing. The lack of structure and objective assessments is not conducive to pushing kids to grow in this way,

Central Park School For Child
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 27, 2016
- a community member
CPSC participates in the Peaceful Schools Program, a program that seeks to develop character and social skills in youth and prevent acts of violence in educational settings.


Central Park School For Child
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 27, 2016
- a community member
Central Park School for Children participates in the Peaceful Schools Program, a program that seeks to develop character and social skills in youth and prevent acts of violence in educational settings.

Central Park School For Child 5

Posted June 27, 2016
- a community member
We've found Central Park School for Children to be a warm and caring school that supports child in her academic achievement as well as social/emotional and physical growth. The latter two are so very important and are unfortunately not an area of priority at many public schools. Central Park offers young children extra time for outdoor play and learning. Classroom lessons make space for creative thinking and problem solving together with classmates. Parents volunteer their time to enrich experiences by doing things like providing support for field trips for hands on learning (our child's class went on 6 or so last year) or cooking with the kids. We've felt that the teachers, aftercare counselors, and administration really care and work with the children's best interests at the forefront of all they do. This school does not teach to the test, but teaches to each individual child. While less rigorous than Pearsontown (another Durham school with which we have direct experience) in drilling technical lessons), the overall growth of our smart, confident, well rounded child at Central Park has exceeded our expectations. A much better fit for our child and our family.

Central Park School For Child 3

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
I was a member of the first class to go from kindergarten to fifth grade at CPSC (graduated in 2009), and had an amazing 6 years while at the school. I wouldn't trade my experience there for anything. The school's original principal made it a top priority to have a diverse staff and a diverse student body. It was important to her that teachers of color would be hired to act as role models to less advantaged students. The student body was diverse, and kids came from all backgrounds. The class projects were captivating, and we were often plenty of responsibility and freedom. However, it seems that the school has changed a lot since I've been there. As opposed to being around a 50/50 split of white people and minorities when I attended, white students make up 80+% of the school's population. Students who graduated years after me told me of the school's changes. Diversity seemed to be a stated priority, and Central Park is moving closer toward being just another 'progressive' private school masked as a charter, a la Voyager. Although I had a wonderful experience at Central Park, it seems that it was a wholly different one than today's students will receive.


Central Park School For Child 5

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
I have read the latest reviews and I respectively disagree with their perspective. This school is a safe haven for people who want an advocacy environment for their child. After being exhausted with the bureaucracy of Durham Public Schools, it is wonderful to be able to simply ask for what your child needs and have people who not only care, but who will work with you to figure out a way to get it. This school exemplifies the phrase, "where there is a will, there is a way". We need more schools committed to this approach.

Central Park School For Child 2

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
Great teachers and philosophy but the Principal and Board have created an atmosphere that is hostile to any child and family that they feel is not "right" for their school. Staff who try to stand up are retaliated against. This is not a public school serving all children but an elistist private school using public dollars.

Nearby schools

Central Park School For Child
724 Foster St, Durham, NC  27701
(919) 682-1200
Last modified Central Park School For Child is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top