Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James E Shepard Middle School 2

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
My granddaughter has attended James E Shepard for 2 yrs now. Each year just gets worse. She is exposed to sexual acts during class in the 7th grade!! She is bullied on the bus and has had to fight boys several times. Teachers do not give her make up work for being sick. Students run this school. Sad, Sad day in our society; They just changed principles hopefully things will change. We are considering home schooling now for all of our grandchildren, elementary is not much better in Durham County School Systems.

James E Shepard Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
Children are performing sex acts while teacher writes on the board or has left the class to help another teacher!!!! Why not have someone watch your class while you are away?


James E Shepard Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
Never see homework being brought home, say they do their homework during class, only projects given out every so often.

James E Shepard Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
Quick to judge the child and parent with no responsibility to the environment they are being taught in.

James E Shepard Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Perkins a counselor is the only person who has offered any assistance to our family.


James E Shepard Middle School 1

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is scarred from all the bullying. She is constantly groped by the boys and harassed by the girls. Administrators and teachers just don't care despite complaints. Kids run the classes and teachers just sit and collect paychecks. Science and math classes are a joke. My kid texts me during class as she has so much "free/study time". IF you can afford private school, do it. I wish I could.

James E Shepard Middle School 3

Posted May 25, 2012
- a parent
I would like to thank the 8th grader for her courage to leave that comment. I am a parent of a 7th grade boy and what she is saying is true. So true that I want to change his school for his 8th grade year. Me and my husband are very much involved( my husband is a high school teacher). We discipline and encourage. He comes from a good life and we know his friends and their parents. This is why I can truly confirm what she says. I have nothing against the school but parents we must tighten up on our kids. We know their character and disrespect does not come from just the less fortunate kids.

James E Shepard Middle School 3

Posted March 24, 2012
- a community member
I am currently a 8th grader here at Shepard IB middle school. I have spent about 3 school years in Shepard. I initially hesitated in writing this review because quite a bit of people rated Shepard so highly, but I feel that students and parents should know what Shepard really is currently in 2012. I DO NOT recommend students of high academic capabilities to attend Shepard. It is full of disrespectful, immature, and intolerent students. Everyday I see kids disrespecting teachers and cursing in class OUT LOUD! And the teachers can't do anything because these children don't listen! Take it from someone with 3 years of experience attending Shepard. I wish I could go back in time and change things. The ONLY positive thing about Shepard is its teachers. The staff at Shepard, (only the 8th grade ones) are very competent and high maintenenced. However if your child might crack under peer pressure and pressure to fit in by the students, DO NOT go to Shepard. If you think I am just trolling and hatin' on Shepard, then I will tell you this. I am an Asian student born in beijing, and have lived in Boston, and Wahsington DC before coming to Durham. I also have a grade point average of over 93%.


James E Shepard Middle School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
Shepherd has great insight into the future for our youth of today and tomorrow. I look forward to them investing more into their teachers, as the principal invest more into so that they likewise will be able to pour into our students who is the center of our press for promoting this school. The encouragement, the structure and the discipline is paramount throughout the school.

James E Shepard Middle School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
The teachers seem to be very connected to the students and eager for them to succeed. My daughter is on the quiet side, and it can take time for her to adjust to new situations. In spite of that, she settled in at Shepard quickly, and seems to be thriving there.

Nearby schools

James E Shepard Middle School
2401 Dakota St, Durham, NC  27707
(919) 560-3938
Last modified James E Shepard Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top