Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The School For Creative Studies

Public | 6-7, 9 | 166 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2014

Chewning is now, officially, the School For Creative Studies, a school that honestly breaks the barrier between every other school I have attended.The second I heard about SCS, I just knew this is where I wanted to be. The teachers her are far more than excellent, I just have to say that. First, the core teachers are kind of in the mix. Some are "strict" some are "perfect." The strict teachers aren't really all that strict, they are just a little strict if you choose to disobey the rules, talk out in class and choose not to listen in class. The elective teachers are amazing, again, if you choose to talk out in class and disobey rules, they'll be upset, naturally. When it comes down to it all: the teachers are fantastic, they truly care. The only bad thing about the school doesn't come from the teachers, it comes from the students. There are just some students who just don't care. They don't care if they get bad grades, they could care less and they play games instead of doing work. Fortunately, there is only a small number of those students. A lot of these students are above average, some average and some inbetween. I appreciate the diversity at SCS and how the teachers care.


Posted February 9, 2014

my child has gotten into 7 fights in this school she has a total of 56 missed day please dont enroll your child is a lot of drama its awful hardly no work comes home the teachers are mean and a lot of bullying has been going on and with bullying comes kids committing suicide sad worst school ever
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

This school is the best in the county, best teachers in the world like Mr. Allen and Mr. Nydick. -Christion Wilson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

This school is awful. My child has been going to this school for 1 year and during ths year and I am doing my best to see the he never has to attend there again for then next school term. The teachers are awful, hardly any homework comes home, you can never get in touch with teachers. I have left message after message, email after email to no avail. To top everything off Lakeview school was housed there, and what don't the parents have any say in this matter? I really, hate this school, and will never recommend it to anyone I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I have removed my child from the school for the 2010-2011 school year because of the school's inabilty to retain teachers and because Lakeview School was housed on the site without parent knowledge or approval. I could not get any answer as to why that happened.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

I do not recommend Chewning to any parent! That's just not a school to put any child in. I enrolled my daughter to Chewning and we have had bad experiences!! We were so happy once, she graduated 8th grade!!! Now, she goes to Kastral Heights and we love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

I Am A Eighth Grader! I Love Chewning I've Been There since the Sixth Grade! All of the teachers are well educated and know what there doing! They Might Be Strickt but thats what u want! And All Of The Students Are Taught and Leave The School With Great Respect! GO CARDINALS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2009

Pretty sad school. I enrolled my son here on a Monday after transferring from out of state and after four days of classes he had received one small homework assignment from all of his classes after four days. I requested a copy of his books and was told it took a week for a student to receive their home copies. As to why it would take a week for one new student to get actual copies of the books they are using is beyond me. When I ask about why the schools state examination grades had fallen so drastically in the past 2-3 years I was simply told the state made the exam harder. Don't bs me. If it made the exam harder then good but teachers also are told what to expect from these exams and should prepare the students to pass them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2006

I am in the 7th grade and i goto Chewning (Go Cardinals Yay) and honestly I love the school the teachers are amazing and they are so cool. But mainly the teachers focus on doing their job so that the students get the best education that they possibly could get. And as for the elective teachers go they are all really cool and know how to make their students really be interrested in what they are learning (even in gym class!). And as for safety goes Chewning always has atleast two deputies in or around the school at all times. Chewning really is a wonderful and great school!! (Oh Yeah and the teachers really do understand any problems that they're students are having and will always help if they're asked or needed to! and all of the principals take part around the school every day!)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2004

Chewning could be a wonderful shcool if the principal, and staff would treat all childrens the same and stop the sterotyping against the kids. I know there are some bad kids in the schools, and some parents are hard to deal with but don't take it out on the kids, lets try to help the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2004

The year-round program was excellant! I absolutly loved it, however, could not imigine being in tradtional. They were not nearly as good!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
83%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 26%
Hispanic 32% 14%
White 5% 52%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Renee Price
Fax number
  • (919) 477-9189

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5001 Red Mill Road
Durham, NC 27704
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 560-3535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lakeview School
Durham, NC




Voyager Academy
Durham, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT