Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillandale Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 642 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2014

This school has a very cohesive, motivated staff, excellent principals, and a welcoming building and grounds. I have two children that attend this school and have thrived here! They have always had very caring and supportive teachers, students/friends who have helped them grow as individuals and learn to share, and a nurturing environment. I would highly recommend this school to anyone and regret that others have said otherwise based on one experience at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2013

This is an outstanding school. Services, curriculum, faculty are first rate. The educational team is experienced, not only individually, but as a faculty. Led by a sensitive, strong leader in principal Bates, school has connections for support services for every child. I had three go through Hillandale and attribute their success in middle school to the foundation they got at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

Not very friendly interactions for newcomers. Went to pick up some kids for the first time and the guy directing traffic spoke really rude to me and told me to move along while I was trying to find the kids. Then when I went to get them in the car he yelled. You will get a ticket for that for letting them get in on driver side of the car. I don't appreciate getting yelled at when I don't even know the rules. He could have kindly explained the rules more nicely instead of yelling at me. I don't appreciate that! I told him I didn't know that was a rule there and that I would put them in on the other side next time. Gee!!! Give a someone a break!!!


Posted August 16, 2012

I love Hillandale! I went here from kindergarden to 5th grade and it was the best school ever! Pretty much all the teachers I got were so amazing and really cared about me. Whenever I go and vist for spring fling the place is filled with color and happiness and good times. I will never forget Hillandale.


Posted October 30, 2009

As a teacher, a parent, and a former student, I can say that there is no other school that measures up to Hillandale. We are a caring family, who not only has high expectations for our students, but care about them deeply and cheer their successes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Hillandale Elem. school provides excellent educational experiences for its students and allows them to grow and excel. The staff is tops professionally and very loving and nurturing, from the principal Sandi Bates to Ms.Norma in the cafeteria staff who sings to each child on their birthday. I am a teacher who sent my child to Hillandale and I'd highly recommend our school to anyone who wants the best for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

I Love Hillandale because it is a great place to be. I came to Hillandale in 1982 and I am still their. We are one big happy family who works together to help EVERYONE no matter what ! ! Our school succeeds to the highest for all students. We have high expectations for all. I Love to work their. Our principal is fantastic and great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

Hillandale is the best school that i've been in. It makes you feel like family and a place you would like to be in. It's also a clean school and you could eat off the floors if possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Hillandale Elementary school is the best school in which to teach!! ! We are a family and we have an outstanding community, whose support is unparalleled!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 21, 2009

Hillandale has the best staff and Teachers that any school could have.


Posted October 20, 2009

Hillandale has great, dedicated teachers and a wonderful principal. It also has a strong and active PTA which supports the school in many ways. The children enjoy going to school, and build lasting relationships with the teachers. I often see older kids coming in and visiting teachers they had when they were young.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

The Hillandale teachers are very motivated and are very encouraging to the students. They really try to tailor their instruction for the individual needs of each student. My daughter loves both her regular class and the after-school care program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

The principal is fantastic! She has an open door to listen to all concerns. The school is orderly, the children are happy and the parents involved.


Posted October 20, 2009

We have an awesome elementary school because of the amazing Principal and exceptional staff. They go out of their way to help each and every child succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

My son has learned to like learning and going to school. He has seen how smart he is and is proud of himself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Best teachers, best principal, best parents, and above all, best students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Everyone is great and we are one BIG Family!!! My co-workers are awesome and the students are the greatest. We as a school, care about each other as well as work together. It is my second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

children, teachers, cafeteria staff, administration, custodians.......EVERYONE works to love and teach our children - our students return years later to walk the halls and re-connect to those who loved and taught them years ago
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 20, 2009

Hillandale is a warm and caring environment for children. They are learning so much more than the curriculum and have amazing people who work there who help guide them. I am so lucky to work there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

The staff is great and one big family! The children are ready and willing to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students39%
Female38%
Male39%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students45%
Limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Academically gifted81%

Reading

All Students40%
Female45%
Male35%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities19%
Non-disabled students44%
Limited English proficiency23%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant40%
Academically gifted85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Female42%
Male43%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities21%
Non-disabled students47%
Limited English proficiency18%
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Academically gifted82%

Reading

All Students38%
Female35%
Male42%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students44%
Limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Academically gifted82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students47%
Female53%
Male40%
Black41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students58%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted91%

Reading

All Students38%
Female47%
Male27%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Academically gifted77%

Science

All Students27%
Female26%
Male27%
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English27%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Academically gifted59%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 37% 26%
White 34% 52%
Hispanic 21% 14%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sandra Bates
Fax number
  • (919) 560-3644

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2730 Hillandale Road
Durham, NC 27705
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 560-3924

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Holt Elementary
Durham, NC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT