Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Forest View Elementary 5

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
I cannot speak highly enough of Forest View. The staff, teachers and administrators are wonderful. The school feels like a community for our family. My two children, though vastly different from each other in their learning styles and personalities, have both felt supported and secure here. Teachers, even those who are not their own, know their names and are welcoming and clearly happy to be here. The school-wide behavioral positive reinforcement program is outstanding, and really gives Forest View a wonderfully positive atmosphere.

Forest View Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 30, 2015
- a teacher
Few teacher turnover (retirees and those moving out of town is the main reason for leaving our staff).


Forest View Elementary
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a teacher
Without advertising, we award bicycles to tested grade levels who were chosen from pool of students who demonstrate doing their best and apply the strategies we encourage for success.

Forest View Elementary
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a teacher
We have student panels who work with the Guidance department for school spirit celebrations in forms of reward breakfasts and lunches, award ceremonies, fun dress weeks, and again in school system character traits focii.

Forest View Elementary
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a teacher
Students participate in many community projects for charity, school beautification, cultural celebrations, and school system character building focii.


Forest View Elementary
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a teacher
while addressing the needs of all of our students (those who have been here since kindergarten to those who are very transient and temporarily with us) we have "new student" programs and a school wide behavior recognition system to promote good citizenship, attend to the whole child needs of physical and mental well being, and celebrate the high cultural and economic diversity of our population.

Forest View Elementary 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a teacher
A Science Focus school that practices its philosophy of "hands-on learning" with great teachers, great facilities, and great results.

Forest View Elementary 5

Posted October 05, 2014
- a parent
From our oldest son's first day of kindergarten, we have been extremely pleased with Forest View. The caring teachers and staff understand each child's ability and strive to meet them where they are and encourage them to excel. Our oldest son is now in 4th grade and our younger son is in 1st grade. We love the community feel of the school - lots of parents take time to help out with programs like the Fall Festival, Science Share, and Multicultural night. We really feel fortunate that Forest View is our neighborhood school.


Forest View Elementary 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
I have two children at Forest View and used to teach there. Forest View is an outstanding school with a wonderful group of dedicated teachers and administrators. The sense of community among students, teachers and parents is very strong, and my children have always felt connected and cared for. The student body is very diverse, representing many different nationalities and speaking a variety of different languages. The school is a science focus school and has a strong emphasis on outdoor learning, with several gardens that students help care for all around the school. Forest View as always and forever will feel like home to our family!

Forest View Elementary 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
The number one thing I love about Forest View is the sense of community. Strong teacher involvement, parent volunteers, caring staff, a "whole child" approach to education. Teachers and staff work hard not only to provide a strong education in the classroom, but they also spend time creating outside the classroom opportunities like a yearly Science Share, arts projects that celebrate International Peace Day, and a Multicultural festival that's standing room only it's so popular. My child (now in fifth grade) still talks with her kindergarten teacher about what she's reading, her extracurricular activities, and how school's going. Teachers, staff, families work together in the school garden, write grants, volunteer at the fall festival, and take a community approach to the school's success.

Nearby schools

Forest View Elementary
3007 Mount Sinai Road, Durham, NC  27705
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (919) 560-3932
Last modified Forest View Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top