Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


George Watts Elementary 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
We feel so lucky to have benefited from the public Montessori Preschool and Kindergarten so far at George Watts Montessori! The teachers in our daughter's class have helped her excel at learning to read and write, and have stimulated her creative interests in arts, math and science. She has also really enjoyed working in the edible garden. The use of the "grace and courtesy" philosophy throughout the school sets a wonderful tone for learning. We have enjoyed going to many activities at the school. We have also appreciated the diversity in the classroom, although this does mean some test scores are lagging and hurts the "great schools rating." Don't be fooled just by the numbers. This is a GREAT SCHOOL.

George Watts Elementary 5

Posted January 24, 2012
- a parent
This school is fantastic! My child has learned so much! He has the most amazing teacher!


George Watts Elementary 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The teachers and administration are just so caring about the children and do a great job of involving the parents and community as well.

George Watts Elementary 5

Posted May 20, 2009
- a parent
My son has received an excellent education at Watts. He has gotten a huge amount of one-on-one attention from tutors and teachers, and has made fantastic progress. The diversity is fantastic, and the atmosphere is very safe and positive. I highly recommend this school, despite the test scores. I almost put my son in private school, but am so glad we decided on Watts instead.

George Watts Elementary 5

Posted March 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


George Watts Elementary 5

Posted November 15, 2008
- a parent
I have 2 children enrolled at Watts and they love it. It is a Montessori so it has multi-age classrooms and many hands on activities to helps the children learn. The school has a very diverse population and great parent participation across all demographics.

George Watts Elementary 5

Posted August 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughter started in Pre-K at Watts and had a great time and a great teacher. The children love to learn in their Montessori classroom.

George Watts Elementary 5

Posted July 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


George Watts Elementary 0
no rating

Posted July 18, 2007
- a parent
This school has really helped my son a lot with his reading and math. Great school!

George Watts Elementary 5

Posted November 08, 2005
- a parent
Excellent school for children with special needs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Watts Elementary
700 Watts Street, Durham, NC  27701
(919) 560-3947
Last modified George Watts Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
George Watts Elementary Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.