Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Merrick-Moore Elementary 3

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Merrick-Moore Elementary 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
I love Merrick Moore because it is a daily reminder to the staff that works there that we have so much to do to help create a better world for the future of American kids. The staff at Merrick Moore never give up. There are so many dedicated people whose jobs are extremely difficult. We cater to a very needy population of children. I have worked in many schools from private to public, magnet and charter. Merrick Moore's staff are incredibly caring and could really use the money to initiate some good work.


Merrick-Moore Elementary 4

Posted August 25, 2009
- a parent
My son attends this school, so far he has done well, I wasn't that excited about him attending Merrick-moore, however, that has change due to the wonderful support from his teachers and staff. They are wonderful!!

Merrick-Moore Elementary 3

Posted June 28, 2005
- a staff
This review submitted without content.

Merrick-Moore Elementary 0
no rating

Posted April 10, 2005
- a parent
Merrick-Moore is a great school despite the many obstacles that make it such a diverse setting. The students behave well and the staff has a vested interest in the well being of all students.


Merrick-Moore Elementary 4

Posted March 03, 2005
- a parent
I have a fourth grader and a second grader at Merrick Moore. They have been there since Kindergarten. I have been extremely impressed with the school. The teachers are qualified and dedicated. The administration is visible and participative. I am so glad we sent our boys there instead of searching for a private school. They have learned and grown and get lots of great experiences with music, dance and art as well as the basic subjects. Thank you!

Merrick-Moore Elementary 4

Posted September 13, 2004
- a parent
Merrick-Moore is a school on the grow. It is a school that is constantly improving. We currently have approximately 80% of our at or above grade level. I consider this an excellent achievement for a school that houses classrooms for autistic children, hearing impaired children, and other exceptional children. It is also an excellent achievement for a school where 60% of the children qualify for free or reduced lunch. How many schools can boast such success. Yes, there is always room for improvement. I have no doubt that this school will continue to improve and grow. I have great faith in the teaching and leadership of Merrick-Moore. If you are a concerned parent and want more involvement, come out and join the PTA. Help the school to improve. Don't just sit home and complain.

Merrick-Moore Elementary 3

Posted July 27, 2004
- a parent
I have had a wonderful experience with my 2 children attending Merrick-Moore Elementary. I believe that the principal is genuinely concerned about the children's education and development and is a great morale builder for the teachers. As with any school, there is room for improvement. But, we cannot expect the principal and the teachers to do it alone. Parental involvement is key to a child's success in school. Learning begins at home and that is the parents' responsibility.


Merrick-Moore Elementary 2

Posted April 21, 2004
- a parent
This school really needs help. They are not racially equal and the kids are out of control! There are too many kids to one class and the learning is minimal because the some of the kids are not disiplined the way they should be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Merrick-Moore Elementary
2325 Cheek Road, Durham, NC  27704
(919) 560-3952
Last modified Merrick-Moore Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Merrick-Moore Elementary Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top