Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkwood Elementary

Public | K-5 | 629 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2014

I am surprisingly pleased with Parkwood. My son is in Kindergarten. He is struggling. My son has special needs and the genuine care and concern by his teachers and therapists is wonderful. They communicate VERY well with me and often point out issues and suggest strategies for improvement. They are open to my suggestions as well. They want him to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

i love that parkwood reviews things over for eogs and the websites help the kids and explain
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

We've been at Parkwood for four years now, and it just gets better and better each year. The new principal is young, kind, and enthusiastic, plus has wisdom and understanding beyond his years. The teachers are wonderful - they really work with students as individuals, keeping the best interest of each student at heart rather than doing what's convenient or easy. I've been amazed at teachers' flexibility across the board. I highly recommend Parkwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

I love Parkwood because they work hard to prepare our children for the 21st century!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I love this school, this is the first year my kids have been in public schooling. The teachers and staff are very pleasant and approachable. They truly care about the students education and well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Great teachers, administrators and students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 7, 2010

My daughter is a Kindergartener this year at Parkwood. She loves it! The new principal has done a great job & very involved. We love the teachers & staff there. Go Panthers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

Great Sense of Community. The Principal is very involved and accessible. My daughter has loved this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

There is excitement in this school for education, community, and family. It is exhibited from the principal, teachers, assistants, students, and parents. I am thrilled to have my child attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

i love parkwood because all my children have attended this school. all of them have stayed honor roll students because the education they received since the beginning, of their lives!! thanks parkwood for all of your ongoing support for our students and our community!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

I love Parkwood because of the connection to the community and the staff. It is so important to be able to connect with staff at the school. The school challenges the children at all levels. It is a school that stays connected with the community which I find very important. Our oldest son attended Parkwood for 6 years and our youngest is now on his 3rd year. I believe with the connection of the staff and the support of the parents it is what makes this school so successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Great teachers, staff and parent volunteers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

Parkwood Elementary keeps their campus clean and bright in appearance. The new principal is very enthusiastic! My child is in the first grade there and I have been very pleased with the teacher, who is receptive to my concerns and proactive in helping my child as she adjusts to first grade. I hope more parents and others in the community will support this school, it really is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

The new year has had a rocky start with the new administration in place. It is said to parents that their involvement is essential but it seems that there is every effort being made to barr parents from the school. I was told by my son's kindergarten teacher that she "really doesn't have parents in the classroom." There is more communication this year--telling parents what they can not do and asking for them to buy or sell things but I want to know how my children are doing in school. I hope the test scores are improved this year because nothing else has. I am considering taking my kids out of Parkwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2010

No Communication by Teachers to Parents. Some Teachers care, but too many teachers & Administration don't want Parents to ask Any Questions at all. AYP Reading and Math goals not reached 3 years in a row (look this up at www.ncreportcards.org). There are Parents, Teachers & Administration at this school that need to communicate & work harder at seeing that the students here meet adequate yearly progress in the areas of reading and math. Too many staff (Not All Staff) at this school don't like Parents to ask them Anything & treat the kids& Parents like a Paycheck. My child's 1st grade teacher & one of the Leading Administrators, Growled at me when I had an important concern about the Appropriate Care of my child & other students. Some teachers AVOID talking to Parents at all. The caring teachers are outnumbered by the Non-Caring Teachers & Staff @ this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2010

I was in the first 6th grade class the year the school opened. We were so glad to leave Lowe's Grove and have a lovely new facilitty. It was a great school when I attended. Perhaps you should look at what you have let the neighborhod become since then.


Posted April 26, 2010

There is a feeling of family in Parkwood. The teachers, staff and administration are caring and the children enjoy learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2010

Parkwood is on it's way. Teachers and administration are working hard with students and helping them achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

There are so many reasons to love Parkwood Elementary School. It not only has a lovely campus, and nice courtyards, but Parkwood has a motivated staff who care about the students and parents. Parkwood's focus is on moving students forward because we know that every child is a winner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I love Parkwood Elementary School because we have the best principal, teachers, and students. We all work together as a team and it shows! Last year, we were one of the schools with the highest growth in our school district. It would be great if we were to win this honor!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students33%
Female33%
Male32%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students36%
Limited English proficiency17%
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Academically gifted83%

Reading

All Students34%
Female40%
Male28%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students36%
Limited English proficiency25%
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Academically gifted79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students26%
Female32%
Male21%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant26%
Academically gifted67%

Reading

All Students26%
Female29%
Male23%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students30%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant26%
Academically gifted73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students38%
Female42%
Male35%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students43%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Academically gifted89%

Reading

All Students20%
Female31%
Male12%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students22%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English22%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%
Academically gifted72%

Science

All Students31%
Female36%
Male27%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students34%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Academically gifted67%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 26%
Hispanic 24% 14%
White 15% 52%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michelle Bell
Fax number
  • (919) 560-3768

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5207 Revere Road
Durham, NC 27713
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 560-3962

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Al-Huda Academy
Durham, NC







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT