Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southern School Of Energy And Sustainability

Public | 9-12 | 897 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2013

i loveeee southern durham high school...it is a great experince OF A GOOD HIGH SCHOOL..THE TEACHERS PUCH YOU INTIL U PASS...U WONT BE LEFT BEHIND IF U GO TO SOUTHERN DURHAM HIGH ..SPARTAN PRIDE
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2009

This school is unsafe and I am not sure why the kids go there, as they are not getting an education worth anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

Southern has put a heartache in me for the lack of self-esteem and demotivation that has taken place since my A and A/B Honor roll daugther who went there as a positive child with a bright outlook on her future. From the lack of concern and corrective discipline from the administrative staff at Southern, my daughter feels a lack of self-esteem for her future. If you do not have a extra ordinary child, I do not recommend Southern as it lacks the administrative support for our kids and the quality of teaching is quite low. There is only one teacher I know of at Southern who puts all efforts and concern in her students for achievement and she has yet to be recognized. The scores at Southern are still low in comparison to other schools and I know exacly why. Southern could use a better administrative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2007

I admite that I thought Southren High School was not a good school. My step son attends this school and is making great progress. He seems to enjoy it as much as any school.He is making good grades at this school with help from all the teachers there.I found out that the teachers do care, but it's up to the students and parents to make this a great school.The principal and teachers are trying to do just that. Please give Southren a chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2006

Southern is truly a great school! I didn't know what to expect going there as a young and new teacher, but I was stunned. Many fail to realize you can't judge a school by what you hear...come to Southern, volunteer, and get involved with our students. DO NOT underestimate Southern. We need to remember that our students need love, support and discipline! Which I firmly believe starts at home. Whether you are a parent or someone just talking, get involved with the education of these students. Anybody can talk, but it takes a mighty man or woman to show action! I believe in Southern, even if no one else does! And hats off to Mr. Teal, you are absolutely wonderful! Thank you for all that you do!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 21, 2004

I can hardly wait for my children to leave the Durham public Schools. The leadership of this school is subpar. The leadership is lacking in providing academic support for teachers. There is no support for extra-curricular activities, educational or otherwise. I do not recommend Southern High School. It's weak academically and leadershipwise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

this school ranks very high as far as I'm concerned, 2 of my children have attended school there and both have thoroughly enjoyed it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

9 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

9 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

9 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

232 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Femalen/a
Male33%
Black50%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities44%
Proficient in English44%

Reading

All Students44%
Femalen/a
Male33%
Black50%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities44%
Proficient in English44%

Science

All Students56%
Femalen/a
Male50%
Black50%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities56%
Proficient in English56%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

269 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
38%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
47%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

271 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
51%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

245 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

180 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
49%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

257 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students6%
Female-5%
Male7%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students6%
Limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English6%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant6%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students14%
Female14%
Male14%
Black10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students18%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English15%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant14%
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Students21%
Female20%
Male22%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students23%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English24%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant21%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 73% 26%
Hispanic 21% 14%
White 4% 52%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kenneth Barnes
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (919) 560-2445
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Clayton Road
Durham, NC 27703
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 560-3968

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT