Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rogers-Herr Middle

Public | 6-8 | 621 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

The teachers are concerned about the students growth academically and socially. I have been very impressed with this school. My son is in 7th grade I have had numerous letters and calls from the teachers telling me what a joy he is to teach and his excitement to learn. Which means they are not only paying attention to a grade in a book but the whole child. The principal impressed the heck out of me by learning the student's names and addressing them by name. I can only imagine how special that makes a child feel. His youth adds energy and excitement to the school that you can feel. I hope he sticks around long enough for my younger son to get through 8th grade. I would not consider another school to put him in. They are open to parent involvement. At the last PTA meeting I attended the lunchroom was full. Beyond the regular sports they offer clubs, an encore after school program with various activities. One concern I have is losing good teachers. Which is not just a problem with this school but through out NC. With Common Core now being forced, lesson plans having to be changed, more students, less time and money. It only a matter of time before they start to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

My daughter attended Rogers-Herr from 2006-2009. I heard the principal left after that and then there were a lot of staff reductions across the district and the state, so I can't speak to things now, but I loved this school for my daughter. My daughter loved most of her teachers, she loved the teams concept they used to promote solidarity...though I'm not sure the goal was achieved, and I thought the principal was truly caring and involved. This school definitely challenged my daughter and she grew as a person. Now that my daugher has gone through high school, I can appreciate how muc we miss RHMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

My son completed 6-8 at RHMS with AIG core classes. Each year, he had teachers that both he and I would consider "master" level across all subjects. Any poor core subject teachers my son had are no longer teaching at the school. The principal started when he was in 7th grade. I can say from personal experience, he is responsive to both parents and staff. We were there for 1st year transition to Common Core which was handled as well as possible. The math teachers got the worst of it, but the 6-8 Math Team is EXCELLENT. These teachers are committed, caring, responsive. With transition, figured out there was a problem, adjusted classes & content accordingly. My son stayed in Math I with a smaller group of students. Even though these kids skipped a lot of content, his grades got higher each quarter under excellent instruction. The 6-8 LA Teams are also excellent and provide great exposure to different genres and creative ways to do project and engage students. We highly recommend Ms. Andrews and her art classes. My son saw tremendous growth with 3 years of her instruction. We feel the strings program is weak. Band Program is great & Media Coordinator/Battle of Books excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

Teachers are average; there have not been any that have been impressive. Principal is an example of young leadership with the potential for growth over time,but currently exhibits some deficiencies in leadership and judgement and has not reached a point where he understands the need to fulfill a role to parents and staff equitably.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

This school is AwESOmE, the teachers are awesome espesically in math. I am currently a six grader going to 7th grade this year nd i have made a HUGE academic improvement and social improvement in my cores.I am making grades in math that i would never thought i could make and i actually understood the material that the teacher taught us. We had competitions like Pie Day to see who can remember the most digits of pie and later on we all got tto eat some other days in social studies we had Anicent Greek Olympics: SPARTA V.S. ATHENS it was amazing. If your a parent of an future 6th grader start looking into ROGERS-HERR because you wont be dissapointed. We might not be as artistic as DSA but academically we there. Last but not least there is no BULLYING of any kind.


Posted March 4, 2009

I love the school and the staff. My son completed 6th and 7th grade and is currently an 8th grader and he loves this school. He has participated in Band, Football Team, Basketball Team and Track Team as well as being an active member of the National Junior Honor Society. I highly recommend this school to parents eligible to attend this school (which is Lottery Based selections).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

This is my son's first year attending, so far i have enjoyed every minute of it, this is a great school, i love the way they have awards day for the students, just one slight problem...I don't think any kids should be left out, the teachers can find some type of award to give to every kid, even if its just a student that is willing to go out their way to help, It was just unfair for some kids not to be able to walk up on stage and get something, this brings down their self esteem, especially when they are trying very hard in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

My daughter has been at Rogers-Herr for two years and we love this school! The teachers are wonderful, and lots of fun, the principal and assistants and other staff members are great! The band program is AWESOME! The school is being rennovated and will soon have a state-of-the-art look to enhance the excellent educational program! And we LOVE the year round schedule!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students42%
Female45%
Male38%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiency12%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically gifted84%

Reading

All Students57%
Female63%
Male49%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiency12%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Academically gifted91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students29%
Female31%
Male27%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities12%
Non-disabled students31%
Limited English proficiency5%
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Academically gifted69%

Reading

All Students46%
Female48%
Male44%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled students49%
Limited English proficiency5%
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Academically gifted82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students39%
Female37%
Male42%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students44%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Academically gifted77%

Reading

All Students49%
Female51%
Male47%
Black41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students53%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically gifted77%

Science

All Students71%
Female65%
Male77%
Black64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities22%
Non-disabled students77%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students93%
Female91%
Male95%
Black85%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White-95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged-95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students93%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Academically gifted94%

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 26%
Hispanic 18% 14%
White 17% 52%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Fuga
Fax number
  • (919) 560-2439

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

911 West Cornwallis Road
Durham, NC 27707
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 560-3970

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Camelot Academy
Durham, NC


Camelot Academy
Durham, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT