Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


W G Pearson Elementary 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
I have two children in this school. They have two amazing teachers :) . My children are doing great here .. :)

W G Pearson Elementary 1

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
I am very displeased with this school. My PreK son was sent here for specific needs help. I see no improvement. Communication is poor. Little or no feedback is sent home with my son. Email and phone calls are not responded to at all or only after many attempts. They had no teacher in place for about a month into the school year. I was not informed of this until the day my son started. He had a substitute. Personal things go missing. His lunchbox is always a mess when he gets home, which suggests there is lacking supervision during meals. so does that mean supervision is laking the rest of the time too? He was sent there for help and I see no help at all. I did not have a choice for him to attend here. Stay away from this school. this is not a magnet school it claims to be.


W G Pearson Elementary 4

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent

W G Pearson Elementary 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is in First Grade and I couldn't be happier that I chose this school for her. She has really excelled and the structure of the class and electives are great. The teachers make themselves available and the I'm very pleased with the education that she is receiving.

W G Pearson Elementary
no rating

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
Of the teachers I know at WGP, they are there to make a difference in kids lives. One at a time. It's time more schools broke out of the mold of looking at children as numbers or minorities and look at them as individuals with dreams and hopes. This school believes in this. And that's why we've chosen to send our kids here.


W G Pearson Elementary
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a teacher
We have a fantastic, high energy staff, terrific students, and an incredible program. Our Enrichment Classes, full time arts teachers, and beautiful green building make W.G. a great place to be.

W G Pearson Elementary
no rating

Posted August 14, 2009
- a community member
My grandson who is in the 4th grade attends this school and we have been very satisfied with the instruction and guidance he has received. I give it 4 stars.

W G Pearson Elementary 5

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
I give it 5 stars! I love it. My kids love it. I have two boys enrolled right now and they love that they can pick electives and enrichment classes each semester. It's like given them a say on what they enjoy in school. Each elective provides reading and math and allows the children to learn and have fun plus engage in things like the piano, computer skill, chorus, band, dance, puppet making, animations, and it goes on and on. It's wonderful. The teachers are very enthused about getting all the children through and getting them to reach their goals by the end of each school year. I love it!


W G Pearson Elementary 5

Posted July 22, 2008
- a parent
The elective structure is amazing. The teachers are all very good and committed to each student. The facilities are first rate and Principal Chambers is Dynamic and engaging. AIG students are particularly well served.

W G Pearson Elementary 4

Posted January 10, 2008
- a parent
Just like in most schools there are enthusiastic parents and there are average parents. Over all parents play a big role in supporting PTA activities and coming to meetings.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

W G Pearson Elementary
3501 Fayettville St, Durham, NC  27707
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (919) 560-3988
Last modified W G Pearson Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top