Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Easley Elementary

Public | K-5 | 555 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2013

Parent involvement is wonderful, so I gave that 5 stars. Teacher quality and leadership -- 2 stars; however, our experience is only with one teacher. When we enrolled our child 2 years ago, we were overwhelmed by the class sizes and the rudeness of the kindergarten teacher, and underwhelmed by the support and response received when we attempted to contact the principal. We pulled our child out of kindergarten after 2 days and decided to homeschool that year. Fortunately, we moved to another state and realized that public elementary schools can operate in a supportive and respectful manner. I will never get over how that teacher made her hate school so quickly. I hope the other teachers are more respectful and refined, no child deserves to be humiliated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

My son attended Easley for three years. Each year our experience was worse and worse until we finally left. My son's day consisted of worksheet after worksheet after worksheet. No creative thought, no writing. At the end of the year I asked my son what he learned. After thinking about it, his reply was that he taught himself multiplication while riding the school,bus to/from school. After hearing that, I pulled him out of that horrible place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

No field trips all year in order to "spend time preparing" for testing. Each week testing, drilling, pre-testing, re-testing. A principal far more interested in rule-following and control than in promoting a love of learning. Our child had some kind teachers, but that's not enough. Completely and utterly about "in the box" thinking. Lackluster and uninspiring. No thanks..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

Teaching is hard work if done well. Many Easley teachers are caring educators, and for that we are grateful. Unfortunately, testing and practice and drill to prepare for testing overshadows everything else. The principal seems to care more about following the rules and scoring high among other schools than he does about provide a truly outstanding learning environment. We are quite disappointed. Perhaps a three out of five stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

You may notice that Easley has lower parent ratings than many of the other schools in Durham, schools that have lower test scores. If you're an educated parent with kids for whom you also have high hopes, you may feel that your interactions with staff ought to go your way. After all, you matter, and you're used to most things in life going your way. Easley parents are one of the best things about the school. The PTA is active, parents volunteer in various ways, fundraisers are well-patronized, and appeals to the parents for various supplies seem to also elicit positive responses. There may be some mediocre teachers at Easley, but Easley is known as a school where many teachers at DPS would like to work. You should also be aware that Easley is a year-round school. For some folks, this is great, particularly if you like to take vacations at off-peak times of year. It does not get much better than Easley, at least in Durham. If you really want your child to attend this school, don't take a chance with the lottery: buy a house in the Easley zone (which you can find on the DPS website), not one where it is simply they "year-round option."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

We have loved every teacher that our two boys have had at Easley. The principal is amazing and creates a great environment for teachers, students and parents. Parental involvement is encouraged and there is a real feeling of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Best year round school, best specials teachers, great kids, active parents. we love Easley!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

The staff is very friendly and professional. They Principal and Asst. Principal are both very hands on and active in the school activities from the start of the school day greetings to PTA involvement. I am glad I had my child transferred to Easley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

Easley is a wonderful school. My daughter was in ECU class w/ Ms. St John and team and they have done wonders w/ her. We will dearly miss them for this is Chelsea's last year. I will recommend Easley to all whom have kids. Thanks again ladies...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

The principal and vice principal are ruining this school. It was, at one time, an outstanding school. I even know teachers, there, who are frustrated with the administration and it's lack of support. Take notice the overturn they've had during the past few years. Unfortunately, some of the ones who need to go- aren't going.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

I am a retired teacher who has come back to support I get from the administration, the quality of teachers and the wonderful students. Whenever I have had a problem of any sort, the Principal and Assistant Principal the school system to substitute teach. Easley is my favorite school because of the have been there in an instant. The lesson plans I receive are always very detailed and everyone is always there volunteering to help. Of special notice to me is that the Principal and Assistant Principal always say 'Thank you for being here today'. That makes me feel very welcome and needed. I honestly feel that the students get a very high quality education in a cheerful and nuturing environment. I also feel that schools don't get much better than this one.


Posted August 20, 2008

Easley does have a great 'reputation'. But don't believe the hype. Not 'all' the teachers are great or caring or concerned about the student. The principal is the least concerned about what is or is not going on in the classroom. I believe that right now he is enjoying the ride on Easley's reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

I agree with the parents expressing concern about Easley's principal. Overall, Easley has a lot of good things happening and IF you get a good teacher and are able to 'coast along,' your experience will be great. However, if you encounter conflict or raise a question that challenges the bureaucracy, you are out of luck. The principal does not seem genuinely interested in resolving issues beyond the level of a general classroom teacher. Higher level academic issues are left to flounder without resolve... and hopefully, you and your concerns will just magically dissipate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

I also have had a positive experience at Easley up until this year. However, this was the first year that I needed the principals help on a situation. I agree with the parent below. The principal is not interested in doing anything meaningful to help. Easley is great as long as your child is coasting along. Otherwise, there is no help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

We've had a positive experience at Easley until this year. Our child has a teacher that is 'burnt out and grumpy' as the parent below states. We've had several meetings with the prinicpal, but find that he's not really interested in doing anything meaningful to help. We're looking at private schools and other choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

I find it interesting that out of all the reviews of Easley only one individual found things wrong with the school. That is always an 'eye-opener' for me. Something wrong with the person reviewing instead? It is a wonderful school and the teachers/staff/principal should be commended for doing an excellent job with the students. Good work Easley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

My grandson recently began kindergarten at Easley and we are hearing only wonderful things about his teachers, class, staff and overall environment and care. We could not be happier! Many thanks to everyone at Easley who surely understands that a child's elementary experiences mold the remainder of his school years and that a child's emotional growth is just as important as his academic achievement. We look forward to hearing more great news throughout the year!


Posted July 2, 2007

We have a child in the 2nd grade at Easley and we are very happy with the school. Teachers are wonderful and very caring about each child as an individual. The principle is always around and in the middle of what is happening. I have seen him deal firsthand with a child that was disrupting my daughter's class and I was amazed by how well he was able to calm the child down just by speaking to him reasonably.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

I have found Easley to not be as great as I heard it was. We have 3 kids there now. I have not found the parent involvement to be so spectacular. I would say 30% of parents are involved. The class numbers are high and the teachers are burnt out and grumpy. I have not had good experiences with the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2006

We have had 2 children attend Easley and we were very pleased with the staff and teachers. The principal really cares about the students and there is a lot of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female56%
Male50%
Black7%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students60%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Academically gifted90%

Reading

All Students58%
Female69%
Male50%
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students66%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Academically gifted87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female62%
Male56%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities29%
Non-disabled students64%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Academically gifted95%

Reading

All Students61%
Female69%
Male56%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities29%
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Academically gifted93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students48%
Female55%
Male42%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled students52%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Academically gifted79%

Reading

All Students56%
Female73%
Male44%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students60%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Academically gifted81%

Science

All Students48%
Female58%
Male41%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled students52%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Academically gifted76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 52%
Black 19% 26%
Hispanic 8% 14%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

302 Lebanon Circle
Durham, NC 27712
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 560-3913

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Holt Elementary
Durham, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT