Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Easley Elementary 1

Posted June 04, 2016
- a parent
Teacher and student diversity is extremely poor. This school is in need of a serious cultural diversity make-over in every way.There has only been one general education teacher of color at this school since my children have been here in 2012. The new principal lacks experience and has a know- it- all mentality. The classroom sizes are overcrowded and the school did a poor job implementing common core. They are quick to label children before examining poor teaching and poor educational setting. The curriculum is inconsistent and they pick and choose which standards to do each nine weeks. Parents do not get to see if their child improved in the standards that were taught the nine weeks before. They bombard students the last month of school with EOG preparation with content and concepts that were not covered during the school year. This school is highly overrated.

Easley Elementary 5

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
My son is a graduating fifth grader at Easley, I can say that this school has been instrumental in the young person he is today. The opportunities here are endless because the teachers and staff believe in every student. He has loved coming here for the past six years and being an Eagle! :)


Easley Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
Deanna St John is the special education teacher at Easley. She is amazing , and I can never thank her enough for the drive that she has to teach our children. Her caring and understanding of each child in her classroom surpasses that of just simple teaching. She sees the abilities in each child and focuses on those. She is a treasure

Easley Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
My child is in the MU classroom. He has been given every opportunity to learn at his fullest potential including being integrated with his typically developing peers when appropriate. This has not only helped him but has given them the opportunity to experience his learning style as well.

Easley Elementary 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a community member
As a student at Easley, I can say that it is a WONDERFUL school. I would not want to go anywhere else. I haven't had a single teacher that didn't impress both me and my parents. Everyone there is so kind. Teachers are committed to giving us all a great education. They will help you one-on-one with anything you have trouble with, take time to listen to your questions, and make learning fun and entertaining. We are provided with MANY extracurricular opportunities including chorus, jump-roping club, running club, and many other activities. We have several specials taught outside of the classroom: art, music, technology, media, and physical education. We are provided with so much at Easley. It is a fun, family-friendly environment. I love it there and highly recommend it!


Easley Elementary 3

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
Parent involvement is wonderful, so I gave that 5 stars. Teacher quality and leadership -- 2 stars; however, our experience is only with one teacher. When we enrolled our child 2 years ago, we were overwhelmed by the class sizes and the rudeness of the kindergarten teacher, and underwhelmed by the support and response received when we attempted to contact the principal. We pulled our child out of kindergarten after 2 days and decided to homeschool that year. Fortunately, we moved to another state and realized that public elementary schools can operate in a supportive and respectful manner. I will never get over how that teacher made her hate school so quickly. I hope the other teachers are more respectful and refined, no child deserves to be humiliated.

Easley Elementary 1

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
My son attended Easley for three years. Each year our experience was worse and worse until we finally left. My son's day consisted of worksheet after worksheet after worksheet. No creative thought, no writing. At the end of the year I asked my son what he learned. After thinking about it, his reply was that he taught himself multiplication while riding the school,bus to/from school. After hearing that, I pulled him out of that horrible place.

Easley Elementary 2

Posted September 24, 2012
- a parent
No field trips all year in order to "spend time preparing" for testing. Each week testing, drilling, pre-testing, re-testing. A principal far more interested in rule-following and control than in promoting a love of learning. Our child had some kind teachers, but that's not enough. Completely and utterly about "in the box" thinking. Lackluster and uninspiring. No thanks..


Easley Elementary 3

Posted May 27, 2012
- a parent
Teaching is hard work if done well. Many Easley teachers are caring educators, and for that we are grateful. Unfortunately, testing and practice and drill to prepare for testing overshadows everything else. The principal seems to care more about following the rules and scoring high among other schools than he does about provide a truly outstanding learning environment. We are quite disappointed. Perhaps a three out of five stars.

Easley Elementary 5

Posted November 16, 2010
- a parent
You may notice that Easley has lower parent ratings than many of the other schools in Durham, schools that have lower test scores. If you're an educated parent with kids for whom you also have high hopes, you may feel that your interactions with staff ought to go your way. After all, you matter, and you're used to most things in life going your way. Easley parents are one of the best things about the school. The PTA is active, parents volunteer in various ways, fundraisers are well-patronized, and appeals to the parents for various supplies seem to also elicit positive responses. There may be some mediocre teachers at Easley, but Easley is known as a school where many teachers at DPS would like to work. You should also be aware that Easley is a year-round school. For some folks, this is great, particularly if you like to take vacations at off-peak times of year. It does not get much better than Easley, at least in Durham. If you really want your child to attend this school, don't take a chance with the lottery: buy a house in the Easley zone (which you can find on the DPS website), not one where it is simply they "year-round option."

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Easley Elementary
302 Lebanon Circle, Durham, NC  27712
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (919) 560-3913
Last modified Easley Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top