Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Riverside High School 4

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
Riverside is a wonderful high school with many offerings that allow for the development of the whole child. From academic and service clubs, chorus, dance, band and athletics a student has many options for finding their identity. The school culture sets an expectation of excellence which the principal champions. It is a large school, but the majority of students feel connected to the school and are proud to be a RHS Pirate.

Riverside High School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
I think Riverside stands as a terrific school due to these key elements: 1) Amazing principal that expects amazing results and uses discipline effectively while allowing the students space to be themselves and interact with him and the teachers as young adults 2) Amazing parent participation: Riverside has parents who are excellent boosters for athletics, morale, decision-making, and appreciation of the teachers and the administrators 3) Of course, amazing students and teachers! -- the students go the extra mile to participate in higher-level academics/competitions, sports as players and fans, and artistic performances that win awards and the teachers support the students and provide extra tutoring/mentoring opportunities and take on extra responsibilities that they don't get paid any extra for doing. Since the student enrollment is one of the largest at 1980, the teachers are doing A LOT extra! ROLL PIRATES ROLL!


Riverside High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Jim Key is a wonderful principal. He and the rest of the staff do a great job of communicating with parents. The faculty is dedicated to helping all students succeed and they go beyond the call of duty to help make that possible. The expectations are high for all students. Parent involvement is also a key factor in Riverside's success. Riverside parents are a very involved and engaging group. There are ample opportunities to be involved in your students education. The students are also a great group. These kids want to learn and are fired up about learning and being a part of Riverside's success. There are many varieties of classes, lots of AP choices and unique offerings. Riverside is a great school!

Riverside High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
I went to Riverside High School and graduated in 2008. I love everything about Riverside. The students, faculty, staff, and administrators were all amazing, and wonderful at helping you succeed and honestly cared about your education. The Academics and Athletics were top notch! I am in college and I really miss this school.

Riverside High School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
My son came from a small private school and thus I was very concerned about his transitioning to a school this size. Also, when you hear about gangs and violence in schools today it makes you cringe to drop your child off at school. This said, I am extremely pleased with the commitment from the Principal, Mr. Kee, to keep our children safe! Additionally, his teachers have gone above and beyond to help my son and have kept in close contact with me concerning his progress. Academic programs are fantastic. There is a lot of community involvement in the school even from adults whose children have graduated and moved forward. Of course there are problems! With a school this size you always have some -- however they are well managed. I couldn't be more happy with Riverside.


Riverside High School 4

Posted April 11, 2009
- a student
Good school for good students. Teachers in upper level classes are genuinely interested in the students. Consistently has both extremes, a very strong top half and a much weaker bottom, academically. Athletic programs are great and the AP classes are excellent for skipping intro classes in college. I attended Riverside from 2003-2007 and overall would rate it an excellent experience. The only downside would be a lack of individual focus from teachers, esp. in the first two years when classes are less specific.

Riverside High School 5

Posted February 19, 2008
- a parent
I am so sorry that the previous parent has had a bad experience with Riverside. I on the other hand couldn't be more pleased. My daughter is loving the school and is doing very well in her honors courses. Coming from private school I was not sure how things would work out but I am very pleased!

Riverside High School 5

Posted October 30, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Riverside High School 2

Posted August 31, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Riverside High School 1

Posted July 24, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverside High School
3218 Rose of Sharon Road, Durham, NC  27712
(919) 560-3965
Last modified Riverside High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Riverside High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.