Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Spring Valley Elementary School 4

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
We are headed back to Spring Valley mid year from a charter school. My son attended SVE in Kindergarten and then we left because of the previous administration and friends leaving. We found that charter is not always the better option for children. We really clicked with the new principal when we met her. She has a great vision for the school. I encourage those thinking about attending Spring Valley to meet her. We're eager to be a part of the SVE community and to be a part of its success.

Spring Valley Elementary School 2

Posted December 22, 2015
- a community member
I literally have left meetings at this school trembling with frustration and anger. I am desperately moving to pull my child out of this school. Especially if your child has learning deficiencies (not behavior, but simply takes longer to grasp concepts), avoid this school. We spent a brief period in Wake county and our child was doing much better there. Some of the teachers really do care, but unfortunately the one I have to deal with seems to have a chip on her shoulder. Then the lack of parental involvement leads to children doing and saying things that are simply not acceptable and show lack of discipline. I may sound extreme, but I literally feel horrible as each day my child stays in this school it's like she's being academically and/or psychologically damaged. I am determined to rescue her from this place.


Spring Valley Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
My son has attended SVE 4 years. Overall, I am very pleased with the school. He is a bright student and he has been challenged with the curriculum and continues to flourish there. The school is very safe and the staff is positive. I am an active parent in the PTA and classroom and I think that if you are able to be involved in the school then your child will not have a problem. I highly recommend giving SVE a chance.

Spring Valley Elementary School 1

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
Sadly this school is so dissapointing. Two years in a row both my daughters teacher have told me how this school lacks so many resources and is planning on leaving to wake county, which they did! The principal seems cold and I feel is the main concern for the failure of the school. What good is it to have a new building but terrible education. Coming from wake county you really notice the difference. if you want to save yourself headaches, aND a undiverse environment and a principal that seems to just see your child as a score instead of their learning capabilities stay away from durham county. Worth spending more on a house and moving to wake county!!! I had a bad experience with my son who the unexperienced 23 year old teacher informed me he was doing good until end of year when he was on the retention list. Springs valley thinks that the soultion is retention if your child is not on grade level instead of getting them the help the need during the year! Sad we pay so much taxes and get terrible durham county schools that don't exceed our children's education!

Spring Valley Elementary School 1

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
We removed our child from this school due to a dysfunctional Administration. Our child was a very above-average student that s needs simply were not met and we received a lot of pushback from both the school and DPS when we did our role as parents to do something about it. Our child's teacher was not helpful at all compared to the previous which was disappointing. While a beautiful school due to it's newness there is a lot of work this school needs to do starting with actually implementing an accelerated AIG program for all grades and hiring staff that actually care.


Spring Valley Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been at SVE for two years and has done very well. The school has great resources overall. The only drawback I see is the timeliness of announcements to parents. Other than that, no complaints!

Spring Valley Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
Our oldest daughter is finishing up kindergarten here and we absolutely love this school! It is wonderful. I volunteer here regularly and have gotten to know the students, teachers, and faculty and have nothing but good things to say about it. Our daughter has thrived here and has learned so much just in this first year. She is reading above grade level, loves doing math problems, and has made new friends. We will be sending our younger child here in the Fall for kindergarten, and he can't wait!

Spring Valley Elementary School 2

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
Spring valley holds many activities that allow parents to be involved in their child's education. Teachers work very hard to meet the high standards set for them by administration. Students could achieve on a much higher level if their teachers had more support, higher morale and less pressure from administrators. Principal Parker micromanages every aspect of everything that teachers do and our children are suffering from it.


Spring Valley Elementary School 1

Posted June 17, 2013
- a community member
I am very upset about the attitude of the principal of my grandchild's school, Spring Valley. She is unresponsive to the parents, disconnected from the teachers, and completely disconnected from the students. This school has completely failed my grandchild and I intend to find out what the Superintendent and/or the School Board intends to do about it. I will be asking for a review of this principal. I would like some input as to the required duties and expectations of an elementary school principal.

Spring Valley Elementary School 2

Posted February 23, 2012
- a parent
This school is very unorganized. My daughter has been at this school since it opened and although she has had some good teachers she has had a few bad ones too. The assembles and field trips that they plan always seem unorganized. I have witnessed teachers yelling at students to stop yelling, it seems like the staff has no control of the children. While many of the schools problems could be solved with parent involvement, it's obvious to me that this just won't happen.

Nearby schools

Spring Valley Elementary School
2051 Northern Durham Prky, Durham, NC  27703
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (919) 560-2890
Last modified Spring Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top