Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
90 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

This 2015-16 school year has almost all new staff and many new students. Questionnaires sent to parents and students are extremely positive. New staff and leadership have created a very rigorous, nurturing, caring environment. The students are challenged with rigorous work and are some of the nicest students you will ever meet. This is a fantastic school with an overarching philosophy of continuous improvement and an emphasis on respect for everyone. Parents report loving the teachers and the small class sizes that allow for differentiated learning. This school is highly recommended!
November 08, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Albemarle School 5

Posted July 08, 2016
- a parent
My boys and I love Albemarle School since they have been coming their grades have improved to A's&B's. My boys needed that one on one with the teachers and smaller class sizes. My boys love coming to school now they jump out of bed and ready to go where at the other school they would fight me every morning. The teachers and headmaster had even made time to work with the student one on one before or after school. I will be sending my boys back to Albemarle School and would recommend the school to everyone.

Albemarle School 5

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
Great school with caring staff and faculty. Students are given a lot of individualized attention by super teachers! The staff are very familiar with all the students to due small class size. This is a great help to them as they progress from grade to grade.


Albemarle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
Thanks Dr. Glenn for help making our school great! Your leadership and guidance have brought Albemarle School through some tough times and now we are on track for a great school year!

Albemarle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
Students are taught by example. All the staff and faculty show respect, honesty and fairness to each other and the students. This gives the students a healthy model to follow to grow into responsible, caring individuals.

Albemarle School 5

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
The new headmaster, Dr. Holly Glenn, has done an amazing job turning this school around in such a short time. Starting this 2015-2016 school year, she has improved the quality of education by hiring only qualified staff (all teachers have a teaching degree or have majored in their subject area), requiring teachers to teach using the most recent state standards, and by providing interventions for struggling students. There have been so many improvements! I have multiple children that have attended this school for a few years now. They are being challenged and have shown so much growth in math and reading. The small classes are especially helpful for my youngest child. My children have attended public school and were successful there as well. We just love the close, welcoming atmosphere and personal attention that you just don't get in public school.


Albemarle School 4

Posted February 22, 2016
- a community member
The headmaster and preschool director are highly motivated individuals that show their dedication to the school. Both of them show an enthusiasm for learning and are directly involved with the students. They are energetic and successful motivaters resulting in a staff that gives their best. My preschooler is well taken care of, he is loved, and he is treated like an individual. Importantly he is more than prepared for kindergarten.

Albemarle School 5

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
My nephew began studies at this school last fall and its been a very positive and supportive environment. He loves going to school everyday now since he has been attending Albemarle School. He enjoys the afterschool sports games and weekend activities. This school really succeeds in connecting parent and childrens interest and activities. I volunteer at the school and have found the staff knowledgeable, caring and willing to go the extra mile to assist students needs.

Albemarle School 2

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
While we attended Albemarle (2014-15)there was a total of 3 interim headmasters as well as over 10 teacher turn overs from K-12th grade. There is no flow in curriculum from year to year & books are bought from public schools when the public schools update their curriculum. This means the books at Albemarle are out of date but new to the school. Put kids quickly realized how far behind they were when they changed schools. Between moldy classrooms, constant staff changes & the lack of stable curriculum, we decided to leave Albemarle.


Albemarle School 1

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Terrible location to send your children. They change staff so frequently that you are surprised weekly with new people watching your children. Whatever curriculum they have is a waste, after removing my daughter we quickly began to see educational growth in her new setting. I would highly recommend finding other options for your child.

Albemarle School 5

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
Super staff that genuinely care about the future of our children. I feel confident each day that my child is learning to his highest potential. The teachers have very open communication and encourage parent involvement. A+ in my book! My son will continue going to Albemarle School as long as things remain how they are now. Impressed mom!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Albemarle School
1210 US Highway 17 South, Elizabeth City, NC  27909
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. (252) 338-0883
Last modified Albemarle School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top