Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fairview Elementary 5

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
My son has just started here and so far I couldn't be more impressed. The teachers seem to really care about the education and welcome parent involvement. The extra curricular activities seems wide ranging and give all kids a chance to get involved. My son has come home everyday excited about his day!!!

Fairview Elementary 1

Posted October 11, 2011
- a parent
The principal is very "by the book" and seems unwilling to make decisions based on individual child/family needs. Perhaps the school is just too big for the principal to have an interest in individual children.


Fairview Elementary 5

Posted October 09, 2011
- a parent
I could not be more pleased with Fairview Elementary. We relocated this year and I did a great deal of research regarding schools in the area. My son started 1st grade and has been made to feel welcome by the teachers and students. It is a wonderful family enviroment where teachers encourage the students ... I have found the administration to be extremely receptive and the teachers to welcome class help. Thank you Fairview Elementary for welcoming us to the community!

Fairview Elementary 1

Posted September 05, 2011
- a parent
I couldn't agree more with the comment about this schools administrative staff. I have had the same experience, they are unfriendly and unwelcoming. They do not want parents coming into their school which makes me wonder, why? Fortunately my kids like their teachers so I'm hoping the environment changes as the year progresses.

Fairview Elementary
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Both of my sons attended Fairview in it's current location for K-5. We are quite pleased with the peaceful environment, dedication to each child's needs, and quality academics. Excellent special classes for high achieving 4th and 5th graders kept my oldest son interested and active. PTO is vibrant and supportive.


Fairview Elementary 5

Posted March 15, 2009
- a community member
I continue to feel god about what is going on at Fairview. I have been part of the community for years and have seen many good things here. I've found the principal to be caring and extremley visible and the staff dedicated to their work.

Fairview Elementary 5

Posted March 07, 2009
- a parent
My daughter and son are in the third and fifth grade at Fairview. We started my daughter in k and my son transfered from a charter school to Fairview in third. He was unbelievably far behind his peers at Fairview, but the head of the class at Evergreen. His third grade teacher was so dedicated. She worked with him and got him caught up by January. Both of my children love school and look forward to going every day. I am able to volunteer and I do, a lot. This is a warm loving atmosphere. Any child is lucky to attend this great school.

Fairview Elementary
no rating

Posted February 13, 2009
- a parent
My family is impressed with Fairview. My children came from private schools and transitioned into Fairview beautifully. The teachers have high expectations for the students. We are so pleased we chose Fairview.


Fairview Elementary
no rating

Posted October 23, 2008
- a parent
I have had three children in FES and it is kind of a creepy place. my child is kindergarten now and I am looking at other options. It is to crowded and the teachers are not all very nice to the students. They yell, teach the test and are very gossipy. The principle, Mr. Upton is a great improvement from the last principle but some of his staff need an overhaul. If you are looking for a warm, happy place that encourages creativity and individuality, don't look here.

Fairview Elementary
no rating

Posted September 16, 2008
- a parent
All of my four children attended Fairview Elementary School. I did not like the large size of the school and what seemed to be 'teaching to the test'. Math and English were the primary subjects taught - forget science altogether. We pulled our youngest one out after second grade and he is very happy in a science-based program at a local charter school. After our experience at Fairview, we found the charter school concept of educating the whole child very refreshing.

Nearby schools

Fairview Elementary
1355 Charlotte Hwy, Fairview, NC  28730
(828) 628-2732
Last modified Fairview Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top