Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Farmville Central High School

Public | 9-12 | 785 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2013

Offers plenty of honor classes and extracurricular actives. Great staff and overall good teachers. Just concerned about the safety of the environment, although there is an officer. Needs to enforce and establish a healthy community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2009

I went here for four years and loved it! The school is what you make of it! There are lots of sports, clubs, AP/Honors classes but you have to WANT to get involved! There are some students who do bad things- sell drugs, party too much, etc.. but every school has that! You just have to know who to stay away from and actually make a point to avoid them! At the end of the day 'the choice is yours'- my principal would always say! Make the most of it! It's Pitt county's best kept secret!! - Class of 2007 student
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2009

I really dont think that my school is safe. The teaschers act like they dont care and the principals are not doning there duties with the uniforms or anything else. The officer acts like hes scared of the students. I think that the students have taken over.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2008

I'm now a sophmore at this school, and although the classes are pretty easy, the teachers are very good at what they do. I will admit the administration is having trouble enforcing the new uniform policy, and that there spending to much time worrying about it, but the staff seem to be more motivated with our new principle, and everything seems to be flowing better than it was last year
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2007

I don't think fchs is a good school. I think some of the staff is racist.they aren't fair to some students because of mistakes made in their past. my child hates this school and I'm enrolling him in to JH rose .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

My daughter is a freshwoman at FCHS this year. At the beginning of the school year I had hard time getting her to attend FCHS although she attended FMS for 2 years. She wanted to go to JH Rose. However, she ended going to FCHS and loving it 100% academics are excellent but she needs more AP courses. Doing tons of extra-curriculum activities. Representing school in competitions. However there are some problems. Teachers have to have individual study plan for each student. Some less serious students are pulling the serious students down with their acting out behaviors and lack of motivation in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2006

The administration is not fair nor consistant with discipline. I have not witnessed any effort made by the administration working with or offering support to its faculty or staff. This school definitely is not a site managed by an administration that knows what it is doing. Most of the teachers seem open and respond to problems and concerns. I just wished they were working in a happier environment. It is no wonder why there is so much turn over in the teaching staff. My child liked his teachers. Most of the teachers seem to be really concerned that he is successful. I only wish the county would replace the administrators with a new staff that knows what they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2006

Farmville Central High School is the best kept secret in Pitt County. The school is small enough so the teachers know the students, but is growing in size to accomodate more advanced academic courses. The school also has a strong arts program. I don't think parents would know much about teacher morale, but teachers are regularly present at and support student events. Student test scores are typically above the county average. Accurate scores can be accessed through the NC DPI website. The school also has some of the top sports programs and has two state championship teams this year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2006

The students at Farmville Central are for the most part not reading at grade level and nothing is being done about it. The teachers that are trying to effect change at the school are/were worn-out several months ago and just seem to be doing time with the students now. The Principals are nice people but seem to at times not have a clue. The moral of the staff is the lowest I have ever seen at a small school as this. The Principals enforcement of attandance and discipline policy is a joke. As a teacher and parent I would not and do not plan on allowing my child to attend unless changes are made.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 19, 2005

Overall, I think Farmville Central is a good school for students to advance in. The Staff are alert and responsive. The Teachers are well educated and care for their students. In the past when my daughter attended, all of her teachers were always ready to work with us as parents to better my daughters educational needs. Mrs. Hardy who works in the main office is always ready to assist anyone and does so with a great attitude. The one problem that I have found with the school is when one needs to sign out their child, they have to go into the Choice room where the troubled students go. Personally, I feel that the sign out book should be placed in the front office. I don't think that parents should be subjected to snickers and rude comments from the students in that room as I have experienced in the past.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

I am in FCHS and I do not think there is no problem with it. I think it is a wonderful school we have 3 great principals and they are doin a great job. how ever we do have some problem with trouble makers in class and sometime make it harder for other people to learn but it is a good school over all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2004

One child graduated from FCHS and now in college, a average student, but graduate with no help from faculity or staff--soley by parent stepping up--inquiring and being involved . another child attended for one year but I pulled her out and her away--a straight A student-other students started fights with her-when she defended herself over and over again she was suspended and treated like a trouble maker by most staff. She is now a senior and offered full scholarship by three universities. My last child at Farmville Central a Senior as well--gets good grades, never in any trouble-but comes home and tells me about the bad treatment of other students, the double standards for certain students- she also is attending college next year-my last child who is 12 will not be attending FCHS- we are moving out of the area, so that he does not have to attend-I am researching schools now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

I think Farmville Central was a really good school for kids these days. It has a better principal and now that he is inforcing the rules, I myself think it will be a better places to learn and hang out with friends.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 14, 2004

My daughter attended Farmville Central through the years of 2002-2004. Farmville Central is a really small school in a really small community. Everyone in the town in of Farmville know each other and are most likley related. So if you like the country you will enjoy this school. Thank you !
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 11, 2004

Not a parent, but a former student. I attended FCHS in the late 70's and still vividly remember even to this day the people from this school that shaped my life today. I remember Mrs. Cobb from my Algebra2 and Advanced Math classes as being a caring and honest teacher.I know 25 years have passed but I know that FCHS was and still is the best school in Pitt County.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2003

My daughter just experienced her junior year at Farmville Central after having two terrible years at another high school in the area. The teachers and staff are wonderful and care that the students have a good education and if they have problems, they are more than willing to help them. Even though we're driving two hours per day to get her back and forth to school---it's well worth it. She has been so happy there!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

185 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
-5%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
62%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

149 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

200 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

194 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

65 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

154 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students-5%
Female6%
Male-5%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White8%
Economically disadvantaged-5%
Not economically disadvantaged-5%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students-5%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English-5%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant-5%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students40%
Female37%
Male43%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students42%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant40%
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Students56%
Female64%
Male48%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 26%
White 35% 52%
Hispanic 5% 14%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Brad Johnston
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (252) 753-7873

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3308 East Wilson Street
Farmville, NC 27828
Website: Click here
Phone: (252) 753-5138

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Edwin L. Gay Academy
Farmville, NC


The Oakwood School
Greenville, NC


Oakwood School
Greenville, NC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT