Advertisement

St. Patrick School

Private | PK-8 | 292 students

We are best known for excellence in academics.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fayetteville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $99,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

We just had the school tour. We were very impressed by everyone we met. I have to say that I have witnessed other schools where the children seem to be all over the place, and these children at Saint Patrick were actually working without making so much noise. We were there for almost two hours. I am very happy for the fact that the Spanish teacher is actually a native speaker of Spanish and she is from Spain. I have observed other Spanish teachers and there is no comparison of what you get with a Native speaker who is trained in her language. There is also a specialized teacher of math who teaches just that subject. So you know you are getting your child prepared by someone who masters that area. It is sad to say many elementary school teachers do no master math themselves :( Everyone we met was very engaging and welcoming even before they knew what my husband did for a living. So this idea that they are only nice and welcoming of those who bring in the money is NOT TRUE. I felt very comfortable there and I know my daughter will do fine there. She previously attended Saint Patrick School in another State and we could no be happier with her academic progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

I attend this school 5th - 8th grade. By the time I graduated, I had already passed the state Algebra exam and found myself ahead of my peers in all other subjects in high school. I recently received a PhD. I am very thankful for the education I received here and when my son started school, did not hesitate to enroll him at St. Pat's. His continued enthusiasm for school is yet another testament to this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

This is my children's first year at this school. It has not been a very good experience. The principle and staff always have attitudes. They are only nice to the parents that bring in all the money in the school. I wanted my children to have a better education than me with religious teaching but realized that it's all about money and rich people. There is no respect at this school and the parking is horrible !! My kids will not be going to this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2013

St. Patrick School has made some great additions to the computer and science labs and is re-flooring the gym. They have some great programs and caring teachers who maintain high standards. I recommend this school.


Posted July 24, 2013

We had an absolutely terrible experience at this school. The administration, teachers, and staff lacked compassion and competence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

If your child had any kind of special needs issue this is not the school for you. There is zero compassion past the second grade. Every child is treated as if they are all the same. We've had submitted special recommendations for our child via a costly report compiled by a licenced MD and still our educational requests are being ignored. I have to repeatedly go behind the teacher to ensure my child gets what she needs. Because of all this she is singled out and bullied on a near daily basis because of her needs by the teacher. I drop off a child who's afraid to go to school because she feels the teacher doesn't like her. Worse yet we involve the principle and he sides with the teacher every time. I don't feel like st pats is there for my children or me. They are raising the tuition but NEVER try to update anything around the school. If you have an issue they will not try and research any options or answers for you. Hmmm isn't that why most schools have a guidance counselor? We pay more money every year for the same sorry stuff we always get and that's really nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

It saddens me to see the direction that the school is headed in. Long gone are the days of the family friendly atmosphere and caring administration. It was replaced with a administrator who appears to have a lack of respect for teachers, parents and students alike. He does not curb the direpectful actions of newer staff members and does not asssit in helping parents resolve any issues that arise. Over the last few years the school has made a steady decline in quality of education, lack of facilities for the children to use for sports and they do not follow thier mission statement. I hate that the good of the school is being over shadowed by the a few bad seeds. I truly believe that once a few people are gone and with the right person in place this school could return to its once former status of an elite school in Fayetteville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

Is not a great school. Don't waste your money. Do some research first. They ignore the parents concerns year after year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

We have had a great experience with St. Patricks and think that it is among the best schools in Fayetteville. Our children (one in Kindergarten, one in preschool) are challenged appropriately, and given the support they need. Our son has started reading already and is progressing. Kids are taught computers, spanish, PE, reading and mathematics even at this young grade level. While to cost is somewhat higher than average, the education received so far by my kids is much better than average. We will continue to keep our kids at St. Pats and think highly of it so for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

I am surprised at these negative reviews. They were written by people who have no idea what is going on in this school. There is new administration and he is making changes, and any change is not easily accepted by everyone, we have to keep in mind it is being done for the overall good of the school. The Spanish program was suspended for a year, so changes could be made and it is back, and is a better program. The Music teacher left only because of a military based move and a replacement has been hired. The computer teacher needed to retire and there is a replacement for her as well. The gym situation is unfortunate, but with the construction of the new church it has been anticipated, and it is only temporary! The PE classes will be conducted as they were before the gym was built, and the extracurricular school sports ARE being played at an off-site gym. Not every school is perfect for every family, but having looked at many other private Christian schools in the city, this was by far the best one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Wow, some people on this post are sadly mistaken. I just came from Orientation and there is a Spanish program, there are electives for middle school age children, the musics teacher's departure was known about for an entire year, due to a move. The academics here are rigorous, therefore my children a far above their peers at the "best" public school in Cumberland County. However, the aspect I like the most about St. Patrick's is the family feeling. Everyone is truly caring. I am not sure where some people are getting their information, but it is incorrect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

I think some of the reviews below were written without having complete information, which is an unfair portrayal. As an involved parent whose child attends the school, I am overall happy with the school, the small family envirornment, the Catholic learning aspect, and the rigorous academics. My child is very advanced compared to her friends in public school, which I think speaks for itself. Yes, the church construction and surrounding issues with the gym floor will impact the school year, but Overall I wouldn't have my child in any other place. Yes, we will have Spanish and music this year. We are excited to see the progress our student makes this year. Overall I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

I went to St Patrick School and so did many of my friends and relatives. The school has been here for 75 years. Many who attended school at St. Pats have gone on to become accomplished, productive citizens. To all parents considering this school, I would recommend visiting there and meeting the principal, staff and teachers. I feel very strongly that you will want to send your children there.


Posted July 26, 2012

Totally agree with reviews below, the school is going down hill fast. This is your child's future. Put them in a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2012

I had three children attend the school from 3 yr old prek to 7th grade. At one time I would go without lunch to make tuition. However in the past couple of years with some new individuals. The level of respect for children, parents and other staff has decreased. There are dicussions about sexuality differences that should not be discussed in the classroom and are not in the tune with Roman Catholic beliefs. If i had to rate this school 5 years ago I would say come on down. Not any more. The school no longer has a spanish program. Maybe good for your family but not for mine.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 14, 2012

Please do all of your research before going to St Pats. I am so disappointed in this school and the administration. The school use to offer lots of diversity in the curriculum. However, they cut spanish class last year, the computer instructor and music instructor put in resignation at the end of this year, with no replacement secured. The school no longer has the use of the gym (family life center) for next year. PE will be held in a small classroom or outside. This will also not allow the school to have sports teams that normally would use the gym, i.e. basketball, volleyball, tumbling club, etc. There is a lot of bullying going on by students and staff and the adm. has taken a hands off approach, not their problem. Tuition increased over $500 dollars for this school year and another $400 for next year. My child will not be returning because of increased tuition, loss of potential classes (we were notified 1 week before school started this year about spanish cancellation), loss of gym, loss of sports, and the bullying by other students and some of the staff that administration refuses to address. This is not a caring, nurturing Catholic environment. Don't throw your money away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2011

This school is just OK. The new principal is not organized and has made several significant changes this school year but did not notify parents of the changes until the first day of school. The tuition rate and fees keep climbing but programs are being dropped. We are getting less for our money. Some of the teachers need to be more compassionate with the students. The education is top-notch for this area when you compare it to public schools but lacking when you compare it to other private schools. There are no "elective courses" for middle school students, there is no band, there are limited sports and there is no foreign language. I would recommend doing research on other private schools before choosing St. Pats.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

My children have attended St. Patrick School since kindergarten and will be in the 4th and 5th grade this year. The academics are challenging, and the school is committed to each student's success. It has become like a family to us, and we look forward to the next several years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

We have been at St. Patrick's for two years and are very happy. My child is learning at an amazing rate and doing so with a smile on his face. I think that anyone wishing a parochial education for their child should consider this school. The staff is open and friendly. It is a great place and we look forward to many more years at St. Pat's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

We love this school! My husband is in the military and having had some bad experiences in the last several schools my children attended, we researched both public and private schools in Fayetteville. We had children going into 2nd, 5th, and 8th grade, and unfortunately our choice of public schools did not pan out. St. Pat's was recommended to us by a new neighbor, and after our tour we felt so at home that we didn't look anywhere else! Yes, my children have complained of "mean" teachers, but after lots of discussion I'm confident in saying the better interpretation is "strict" teachers who don't tolerate bad behavior and don't accept excuses. It s not perfect, and my kids have stories of minor bullying, and there are some teachers I don't love, but overall, we couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 53%
Two or more races 19% N/A
Hispanic 13% 11%
Asian 5% N/A
Black 4% 32%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • North Carolina Science Fair Awards (2008)
  • National Historical Society History Projects Award (2009)
  • Zaner-Bloser National Handwriting Award winners (2009)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Thomas Manion
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (910) 484-1573

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Raleigh
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • We are a catholic school community of dedicated parents, enthusiastic teachers, caring staff members and best of all -a diverse and motivated student body. we would like to invite you to get to know us through our website and contact us directly if you have any questions. we have been blessed with an academically challenging and spiritually enriching environment. come join us!
More from this school
  • Our Beliefs Every student is an individual who possesses unique needs and God-given gifts. Students are lifelong learners. Students possess a variety of learning styles. Teachers have the responsibility, as good role models, to teach children about Christ's life and to be good stewards of our faith. Teachers can best prepare students for future vocations by teaching critical thinking skills and using technology. All staff, parents, students, and other members of the faith community will provide a safe, comfortable, and caring learning environment.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Cumberland County Schools
Military families moving from other places
Other private schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Terry Sanford High School
Massey Hill Classical High School
Jack Britt High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1620 Marlborough Rd
Fayetteville, NC 28304
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 323-1865

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Glendale Acres Elementary
Fayetteville, NC


Elite Academy
Fayetteville, NC



Cumberland Academy
Fayetteville, NC


Montessori School
Fayetteville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT