Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John R Griffin Middle

Public | 6-8 | 948 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 17, 2013

We recently moved to the area after hearing how wonderful the schools are and how they are the best in the county. If you are looking at test scores, yes they are higher than some other schools, but that comes with a price. This school runs an extremely tight ship and literally spent about the first week of school going over all the rules/ punishments. My kids were scared to death, to the point where they were afraid to turn in club applications or AG testing papers in the morning because they may get in trouble for not going straight to their class. It has been very difficult for them to make friends due to all the rules and lack of any type of social time. They even spend lunch at assigned seating with teachers. There is no PTA or PTSA at this school which is a red flag. I don't feel they are very open to parent involvement and honestly don't care about the emotional well being of the kids, only the test scores. I'm not impressed by the administration and feel that only a handful of teachers are actually teaching the children. NC by far doesn't have the best education system. I wish we had looked elsewhere and will be pulling our kids out. Way too overcrowded!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Great academics....but some of the teachers disregard anything a student may say (even the good students), some teachers forget to collect/grade/record work assignments and are very quick to give a "zero grades" on progress reports. Some teachers even act worse than the student for example..getting and putting hands in students faces. I regards to the 8th grade class this school only validates the student that earned straight "A' ALL year...so if you earned a B at any point you do NOT receive an End-of-the-Year Award Ceremony. As a parent that is very disappointing that this school only values the academic aspect of a student and not the student moral. Glad she is of to HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

This is an excellent school with great teacher quality. One of our sons attended a few years ago, and we have one attending now. The academic program seems to have improved, and parent involvement is encouraged. The environment is positive, and students are provided with good direction. This school tops the test standards in many areas, and is above the state and county averages which speaks for itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

This school needs improvement in all areas especially when it come to bullying,instead of charging students under cumberland county policies and given them Iss or suspending them they need to retrain all staff how to deal with bullies and address the issue before it get's out of hand.as far as academic I can't say much because while there has been improvement in some areas my child still continue to fail.the principal seems to care however his staff are the problem.so my stars are for the principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

I go to JGMS now. This school is crowded but for the most part everybody gets along and learning takes place. The best part about this school is my computer teacher, Ms.Mercer is the coolest teacher ever! She is like a mom to most of us and she really cares about our education and safety.


Posted August 20, 2011

I recently finished school at John Griffin. I went there from 6-8 grade and now heading into 9th grade. It's a great school to attend for academics and sports and everything else. Just about every year JGMS beats the county on EOG scores and even my 8th grade year we beat the county on EOG scores with the highest science scores. So I'd say that's pretty good. But when it comes to bullying and fights they kind of just trow it under the carpet. Also, you have to walk in straight lines going down the hallways but it's some what of a good thing to keep it organized. There are many rules,but thats what keeps schools in line and clean.


Posted July 22, 2010

Honestly, the academics of this school are great, the school is fairly clean, teachers are nice, and no gangs or violence. But, being a student, I found the atmosphere to be cold. You are not allowed to talk when you enter the school, or enter the hallway, or in the classroom, and sometimes even at lunch. So many cliques were formed, and if you weren't there in the sixth grade, it would be hard to make some friends. But, you come to school to learn and if that's what you need to do, this is the perfect school for that.


Posted March 27, 2010

This is a very good school, so it may seem strange that I transferred my daughter out of this school after her sixth grade year. The school is great in academics, athletics, and most certainly extracurricular activities, but when it comes down to it, the school is much too crowded and overly competitive. Plus, after trying since it's been open, the school is good, but just cannot beat Seventy-First Classical Middle School, which is right down the road, which is why I transferred my daughter there. They have had many failed attempts to take the lead, and as the old saying goes, 'If you can't beat them, join them.' That's exactly what we did here. So overall, the school is very good, but there's a better one, in fact the best in the county, right down the road, if you know what I mean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

I was @ jgms in 7th grade on the navigators an it was awesome the teachers were great an they made sure you knew what you were doing i loved it
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

two of my boys went to John Griffin Middle and the teachers were sooo awesome! They had a great experience, and my boys loved the experience! It's a great school. We bought our house so my boys would go to John Griffin and Jack Britt..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

My son had a great experience at John Griffin. Many great teachers and wonderful opportunities with extra-curricular activities (not just sports!!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

My child's reading grades have suffered since attending this school. His testing score has gone from 75 percentile to around 17. If things don't improve radically this year, next year will be a home-school year. Overcrowded, several poor teachers, it's really a shame for the few great teachers who are overshadowed by the negative aspects of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

This is the best school ever! the teachers are awsome, and so helpfull, also they wer verry interesting so it wasnt likely to fall asleep. They acted like actual humans and not stiff cranky teachers =) i love this school and miss it verry much. Wish i could go back!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2008

this school is a wonderful school, but there are so many fights and when something goes wrong with the teachers they tack it out on there students, also the food can use some upgrading! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2007

This is a wonderful school. The staff is very supportive of the parents and is willing to help the student. Class A act at John Griffin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

I am disappointed with this school and will most likely be pulling our child from this school for the remainder of her middle school years. It is overcrowded and the administration seems more concerned with test scores than what the kids are actually learning. The teachers can be quite rude to the kids, including telling them to 'shut up' and that their parents are 'stupid'. My child went from loving school to begging me to pick her up early due to the negative atmosphere and bullying by other students. She has managed to maintain her 'A' average but is not excited about learning. We are actively looking at other options for the remaining middle school years. Very few extracurricular options for 6th grade and the students are degraded by the bullies for being part of anything outside of the regular school day. Not a positive environment for such a sensitive age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2005

although one of the best in the district, the amount of bullying allowed in the school and the lack of response from the administrators really hurts the quality of the school. as a parent you'll have to fight your way for the administrators to solve any conflicts. some of the teachers are just plain rude, and tell children to 'shut up' on a regular bases. as a parent,confidentiality is something you would expect when talking to administrators or teachers. however, in this school, whatever you tell them will get around, no matter how much you ask the administrators to keep it confidential. my son will be going to private school next year, as i don't intend to deal with the school for 2 more years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

Being from a state where there are almost 30 students per teacher, we were quite happy with the student/teacher ratio. The level of parent involvement is up to each individual, this varies from school to school. My family is happy with John Griffin, we especially are impressed with the facility. The only thing we would, perhaps, change is that they add a nurse station for the children to rest when they are sick.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

quality of academic programs depends onthe teacher's ability, some good, some outstanding, some poor. Availabilaity of music, art, sports andother extracurricular activities is very good. Level of parent involvement-is up to you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

My son attended John Griffin for a year before moving up to HS. He had the best teachers in all the areas. The administration is great, always visible and the school is a organized, clean and appealling facility. My daughter will attend John Griffin this year and I'm sure it will continue to be the superior school I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female64%
Male54%
Black41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracial62%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students57%
Female64%
Male51%
Black39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial57%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students47%
Female49%
Male44%
Black29%
Asian94%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial49%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students59%
Female62%
Male56%
Black40%
Asian88%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial55%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students48%
Female44%
Male52%
Black23%
Asian79%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial40%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities22%
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Academically gifted88%

Reading

All Students51%
Female57%
Male44%
Black28%
Asian50%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial60%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students54%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted93%

Science

All Students83%
Female80%
Male87%
Black76%
Asian86%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial93%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities67%
Non-disabled students85%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students83%
Female79%
Male87%
Black72%
Asian-95%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial60%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students83%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Academically gifted91%

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 52%
Black 25% 26%
Hispanic 13% 14%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian 2% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Michael Mangum
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (910) 424-7602

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5551 Fisher Road
Fayetteville, NC 28304
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 424-7678

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rivers Christian Academy
Fayetteville, NC


Liberty Christian Academy
Fayetteville, NC


Liberty Christian Academy
Fayetteville, NC




Douglas Byrd Middle
Fayetteville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT