Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Massey Hill Classical High School

Public | 9-12 | 353 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 29, 2014

When we were here we were a bit disappointed that it wasn't truly a "Classical Education". There seemed to be some problems with curriculum and some of the educators were horrible. Thank goodness my kids survived. We moved to a much better state and they are getting a much better education to finish up their high school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

I attended this school near the tail end of the 2000s. I found my experiences from this school to have prepared me tremendously for college. I was even able to keep up with private high school graduates easily in undergrad and I was not even near the top of my class at Massey Hill. That's how academically rigorous our graduating class was. Its not perfect, no school is unless you're willing to shell out a ton of cash but this school was more than enough to prepare me for college as a STEM graduate. The best part was that it was all FREE as a classical public school. Majority of the teachers go above and beyond the call, the student atmosphere is relatively laid back and I am glad to have had such a focused education. I would strongly recommend this school for any parent who would like their child to obtain a high quality education for free that will prepare them for university level work. This school is essentially a public school with private school quality.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2009

I have two daughters attending this school. They both had came from private schools prior to MHCHS. The administration and teachers at the school are caring and interested in the success of their students. If tutoring is needed, it is provided for the children without any additional cost (very different than private school). The student/teacher ratio is great and this school is for children who are going to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

This is my sons first year @ Massey Hill, and I must say I am very pleased. Teacher/parent meetings have been well organized and informative, although my son does not enjoy wearing uniforms in HS he is enjoying Massey Hill a great deal more than he ever imagined.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

This is a wonderful small school. All, but one teacher we have had contact with (with the exception of one) have been fabulous. They have added Spanish in the last 2 years and have a new pricipal and vice principal this year. I am very impressed with the pricipal,within 8 weeks he knew all the students names. It is a classical school so their are no sports, but students may play for their zoned school (mine do and fit in very well, most kids don't even realize they don't attend the school they play for). My sophomore loves it and her sister can't wait to go next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

Well, this school does have a decent academic program but it has absolutly no sports and i think that this is effecting me child greatly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

I think Massey hill is a great school for students. The teacher cares about the student.The only problem, is the transportation. I have attended Massey Hilll for two years. Eventhough i have struggled with carpooling, the school needs buses.Perhaps with more buses,more students would come.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2006

I attended Massey Hill from 2000-2004 and after a recent visit and some conversations I've had with parents and students still attending the school, I have to say it's not the stellar school I started out in. 7 years of Latin did me good- who cares if it's not practical in the same sense as Spanish. The clubs and organizations were the only things that kept me at that school until graduation. There are so many opportunities for students to become leaders, develop their talents and abilities, and grow as people in a school the size of Massey Hill. It appears its size is its only redeaming quality at this point- which begs the question: Is dealing with administration worth it, in the end?
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 25, 2005

Massey Hill is a great place for students to be. Its small class sizes allow students and teachers to form bonds which increases learning. Sure, Spanish isn't 'classical', but it is the mark of a great school to adapt to the needs of the educational climate--and North Carolina has the highest growth of Spanish speakers in the country--many jobs offer bonuses for employees who can speak this language. The administration is caring and concerened with teaching students to be responsible individuals, attention to detail is always appreciated! Students have many opportunities to be involved in the community and their school with a variety of high quality extra-curricular and co-curricular activities. No matter the school, someone can always find problems if that is what is focused on. As a whole, Massey Hill is an excellent place for students to learn about themselves and to prepare for their futures.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 19, 2004

Two years ago I recommended this school to other parents. Now I can't do that. The new administration team of 2003 leaves much to be desired. The focus has shifted from student performance and school cohesion to an atmosphere that's less productive. Scores have fallen as well as the morale of the students. The small size is the only remaining benefit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

First, Spanish is not a classical language, therefor it does not fit the classical education mold. Overall the school is a good place with strong teachers. The new admin team leaves a bit to be desired. They do not reflect the caring and nuturing attitude of past teams and it shows in the way the students conduct themselves. They have become way too nit-picky about minor issues while not keeping their eye on the ball...grades have slipped.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2004

Need to add Spanish as a language class
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
72%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

120 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>95%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

22 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>95%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students43%
Female42%
Male44%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant43%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students64%
Female62%
Male65%
Black70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial58%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled students69%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Academically gifted>95%

English II

All Students68%
Female74%
Male62%
Black76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial80%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled students71%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%
Academically gifted92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 52%
Black 27% 26%
Hispanic 18% 14%
Two or more races 8% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Pamela Adams
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (910) 485-7950
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1062 Southern Avenue
Fayetteville, NC 28306
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 485-8761

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Terry Sanford High
Fayetteville, NC


Freedom Christian Academy
Fayetteville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT