Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benjamin J Martin Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 520 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2013

As a person who attended Ben Martin from K-5, I can say that, without a doubt, Ben Martin is one of the best schools ever. The term "Ben Martin Family" is very accurate. The teachers, the substitutes, the bus drivers, and even the custodians were all very kind. Attending Ben Martin was a great experience. I recommend this school to everyone, no other elementary school can compare!!!


Posted June 10, 2013

Just finished at this school about 6 hours ago.This school is actually one of the worst school I have ever attended.There is no such thing as fun at this school.The teachers are very nice but the kinder teachers are better than the 1-5 teachers.The principal leadership is very poor,and most of the time she's not even there.The teacher quality is a little bit OK,but all i see is subs everywhere.The parent involvement is poor.I think this school should be SHUT DOWN.


Posted June 18, 2012

My daughter just completed kindergarten there and I am very impressed with this school. Her teacher sent home daily progress notes with info on behavior, homework, and upcoming school events. My daughter is above average on reading and math, knows all of her 2nd grade sight words, and had an excellent report card. I like the fact that it is accelerated learning meaning the work is individualized to how the student tests so different students in the same room will be doing slightly different work according to their abilities. The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars is there were quite a few issues with the busses being late in the morning and constantly having different drivers which I think made the discipline on the bus a problem. Other than that, I am very very pleased with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

This is a wonderful school to have your children go to. When i went here, They treated everyone with respect and care. If you didn't understand somethin, they will help you until you do. 5 stars!


Posted August 1, 2011

I have two children who have attended Ben Martin for 2 years. Their teachers have been very caring and wonderful! The parents who seem to not know if their kids are having problems need to communicate with the teachers from day one! You can't just ship your kid to school and expect the teacher to contact the parent of every one of their kids. They have SO much they are required to do, but I have found that just poking my head in the classroom a few times a month is all it takes to keep in touch of what's going on. The teachers love parent involvement and the kids of parents who are involved seem to thrive. It needs to be a team effort. Both my kids' teachers put a LOT of emphasis on reading, but, again, parents need to help out too. I am responsible to make sure my kids are getting a good education. If a parent feels a teacher is not a good fit for your child, you need to address that with the teacher and/or the principal - get involved on more than just a shallow level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

I was so disappointed with this school, that I put my kids in private school the next year, fearing that they would not get a good education if I left them there. My 2nd grader had a teacher that just did not care. I never knew that she was having any problems until I started to investigate a little. The teacher never told me anything that was going on with my child. My child had to tell me that she was unable to follow the curriculum and that is when I started my own investigation. I talked with the teacher and got absolutely nowhere. It seemed that she was more interested in getting on with her day than my concerns at all. WeI am not impressed at all. I would not recommend this school to anyone. I am not from NC, but because of this experience, I am terrified that all schools in Fayetteville are like this. Never again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

Not a great school. Problems on the buses all the time. My child went there this year only and we are getting out of Cumberland County in general ASAP. I have a child in 3rd grade and I have only heard from the teacher once all year. The county is very behind times and reading is a huge problem here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2010

As a teacher at Ben Martin, I can say with confidence that every staff member has each child's best interest at heart. We strive for excellence each day and will not accept anything less. We are an accelerated school where children's individual needs are met. Older building... yes. Love in the building... absolutely! As for the traffic- we are located half a mile from the Reilly Road gate to Fort Bragg. However, this year we have introduced bus routes to ensure that children living across the street in walking distance are safe as they travel to and from school. Additionally, there are four crossing guards with increased sherrif's department presence. We welcome you to tour our school anytime you'll fall in love and want to be a tiger!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2009

older building, too much speeding traffic on the road in front of it, not enough focus on reading
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

My son has attended this school for the past 3 years and we LOVE this school. All of the staff and teachers are very easy to work with and receptive to parent ideas and suggestions. We have had a very positive experience at this school. The principle, Ms. Brown is very nice and is always interacting with the children and making sure that she does everything she can for them! I rave about my son's school to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

I love this school! This is my kids 5th year going to this school! My oldest has since moved on to middle school, but I have a 4th grader that started in kindergarten here. This school is fantastic! The office staff is wonderful they are always professional and courteous! Mrs. Smith is a wonderful principal and we are going to miss her tremendously! The teachers are all wonderful and the kids love going to school! Wonderful, wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

My son was there for 3 years, he came as a German kid, not knowing any word of English. The teacher and principal support to him was outstanding. He is now a real North Carolinian. The teachers are the best and the former principal was very good,too. It was a honour for us being a part of the Ben Martin Tiger family. Thanks a lot for your support!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2005

I have been here for 4 years and I now that a school is good by my kids.The teachers love there job over all things and enjoy teaching. I've seen the principal and vice Principal in alot of good actiones in school and it's nice to see that the most importante thing is giving each kid the quality of teaching. Thank You All for your work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students20%
Female22%
Male18%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White16%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students22%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English20%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students34%
Female41%
Male30%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students39%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students24%
Female24%
Male24%
Black17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students27%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English23%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students24%
Female27%
Male22%
Black17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities5%
Non-disabled students31%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English25%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students27%
Female28%
Male26%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students31%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English26%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students26%
Female28%
Male23%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students30%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English25%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant26%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students40%
Female35%
Male45%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant40%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 26%
White 20% 52%
Hispanic 18% 14%
Two or more races 11% 4%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Crystal Brown
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (910) 867-3777

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

430 North Reilly Road
Fayetteville, NC 28303
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 864-4843

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ponderosa Elementary
Fayetteville, NC


Morganton Road Elementary
Fayetteville, NC


Cliffdale Elementary
Fayetteville, NC




Bill Hefner Elementary
Fayetteville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT