Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William H Owen Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
As much as our teacher is able, with often no support from administrators, she gets these kids to push themselves. I don't see it in every classroom though, sadly.

William H Owen Elementary
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
These kids have to make it on their own to succeed. Parents aren't involved enough.


William H Owen Elementary
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Neutral because I don't blame the students when parents and some staffers can be very disrespectful. Not sure what can be done at a public school about it though.

William H Owen Elementary
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I wish there were more activities that helped students see beyond what they have now. Community relations can use some help.

William H Owen Elementary
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I think the school can do more to develop personal responsibility and integrity, especially by example by administrators. It takes more than just a catchy saying to get kids behind a movement. I feel like the school works more with consequences and punishments as opposed to motivations and equity.


William H Owen Elementary 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to our favorite teacher, Señorita Escobar, for your constant dedication, tireless efforts, and loving care of our daughter for the past 2 years. She excels because of your energy, organization, and consistency in the classroom. Your smile means the world to her, and your genuine care for each of the kids in your class means the world to me! We love you!

William H Owen Elementary 3

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
It always can be better. I hope the principal realizes that communication and respect for parents is a "must have"

William H Owen Elementary 1

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in the 5th grade and has been in the Spanish program since Kindergarten. They brought in a new Principal this year as well as a new jail like military system. My daughter comes home every day saying she feels like she is in prison and that is not good. I understand protecting our kids but at least make them understand what the system and doors are there for. Then when doing this do not put a military Principal in the school that shows no concern or care for the students. Mrs. Carter was the best every day I brought my child to school I felt comfortable in knowing she had my daughters best interest in mind and heart. She cared for her students and made them feel comfortable. She was also very professional and spoke eloquently. This new Principal cannot even get through the announcements in the morning without sound ignorance when reading off of a paper over the loud speaker. I have not heard such a horrible thing in my life from a school staff member with an education. She is not setting a good example for to the students. I hope she is only temporary and they can do better than this even though my daughter will not be here another year.


William H Owen Elementary 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter has been attending to the Spanish Immersion for four years now at Owen Elementary. I am I native Spanish speaking parent and Spanish teacher , as well( not at W.H Owen). So, as a professional I know that at her 4th grade level she is speaking and writing Spanish to the equivalent of a College level Spanish. She has attended since first grade and has been so successful. She can not only speak , write and read in Spanish, but also in English using the phonetics learned for the Spanish language. Every school district should offer this wonderful program! Especially when we all know that business will soon be requiring it's employees to be bilingual in order to receive a much higher salary. Parents do not be afraid....your child will be successful throughout school and triumphant in the future. The principal Mrs. Carter and her professional staff has surely taking this school to a great level of excellency!. Thanks to all great teachers there!...keep the good work @ W.H Owen Elementary! we surely value it...

William H Owen Elementary 4

Posted April 19, 2012
- a parent
The cafeteria staff are very wonderful in making sure our children gets a great nutritionist meal. When a child does not have money or a child is at the ending blance they will still make sure that child is feed. I want to exspecially give a great thanks to Mrs.Monica and Mrs.Asha they are very friendly and always talk and have a smile on there faces when they see the kids come in the morning and when they see them at the end of the day. Thank you again Owen's Cafeteria Staff Great Job in taking care of our kids meals..

Nearby schools

William H Owen Elementary
4533 Raeford Rd, Fayetteville, NC  28304
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (910) 425-6163
Last modified William H Owen Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top